We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel in a Great Neighborhood”
Review of Ariel House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ariel House
Ranked #4 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel in a Great Neighborhood”
Reviewed 22 February 2007

We stayed at the Ariel house in November and got a great rate. The hotel is in a beautiful tree-lined neighborhood within a block or two of the DART. It was perfect for us- we had two rooms, one for me and my boyfriend and one for my boyfriend's parents.

Do ask for a room in the front- his parents' room was SUBSTANTIALLY larger than ours which was downstairs in the back. Their room had a spectacular view of the street, ours had a view of the parking area. Regardless, if I hadn't seen their room, ours would have felt perfectly nice anyway.

Breakfast is small but nice. The staff was pleasant and I particularly enjoyed their sunroom in the front, complete with chess which we played as we waited for his parents to come downstairs each morning.

I would absolutely recommend a stay here- the location is great and absolultely convenient to city-center Dublin by DART.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The disparity in the rooms.
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelerkris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,564 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,117
    354
    58
    19
    16
See reviews for
338
753
57
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2007

Stayed in a twin room in Aerial House for two nights - a very spacious and comfortable room, with delightful period furniture. Staff were very friendly and helpful and provided a very large range of breakfast items - you will not go away hungry! The hotel is ideally located for the DART station, bus routes and even walking into the city centre (about 30 minutes). I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to friends and family visiting Dublin.

  • Liked — range of breakfast options
  • Disliked — too many light switches!
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank FGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowral, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
193 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2007

Stayed at this hotel with my wife and daughter for our last couple of nights in Ireland. The hotel is in a very nice area in Ballsbridge, and the area has a nice safe feel and is a leafy suburb of Dublin. Our room was large, albeit a fair distance from the reception desk, and down a couple of flights of stairs. The bathroom was a bit ancient, but functioned well. Very welcoming reception staff, and a very nice breakfast rounded off a comfortable stay. Very close to bus and train transport, and not far from Dublin centre.
A hint. If you are driving from the hotel to Dublin Airport get good directions and a very good map. Don't rely on the road signs to get you to the airport, or you will end up doing an extended and unexpected, and frustrating, street tour of Dublin (as we did).

  • Liked — Central location, comfortable suburb
  • Disliked — Room perhaps a bit dated.
  • Tips/Secrets — A good place to stay when exploring Dublin, or if you are attending matches at Lansdowne Road.
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TripMember073020151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2006

This was our second trip to Ireland - first time we stayed in Bray. We found the Ariel House to be in a lovely neighborhood on a quiet and elegant street. The DART was a very short walk away which gets you right to the City Center in minutes. The staff at the Ariel House was very friendly and very accomodating. We had several early departures and they made sure to have a little bit of breakfast out and a taxi waiting for us each morning - you can't ask for more. They have a very nice front sitting room which a chess board we used every morning. They have a nice selection for breakfast - much more than the average hotel which might only offer the traditional "Irish Fry." Try the Pancakes! The rooms vary in size - they gave us one room at the front of the House on the second floor which had a great view and was VERY big. The second room was on the first floor and not as big, but was still comfortable and clean. The room had sufficient amenities and we only had problems with hallway noise on one brief occasion. As far as European Hotels go, this one rates high - the shower was large and nice, the bedroom clean, the beds comfortable. They know how to host and we would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Otterpma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2006

Request the Jr. Suite - it was elegant. Poster bed and antique furnishing, large windows (most likely was the parlor in great georgian residence). Beautiful armoir.....Bathtub was large enough for two, though the shower was typical to a small room in Paris but great water pressure. Jennie was most helpful with arranging travel to Cliffs of Moher and transportation and accommadation in Galway (she arranged while we packed-on such short notice). Deidre was so kind and arranged for breakfast delivered to our suite when we over slept from our first Saturday night in Temple Bar and surroundings and also on arrival from the airport in the early AM the day before. The breakfast room is so pleasant but the Irish Breakfast was amazing.

  • Liked — The poster bed and Irish Breakfast
  • Disliked — The shower (phone booth)
  • Tips/Secrets — Its a good walk to town, but the Dart is half a block away and operates until 11PM.
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MTanzella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2006

The owners of the Ariel House should be ashamed of the conditions of this establishment and should truely portray it on its website the way it really looks like. Otherwise what they are really doing is false advertising (which is illegal in other countries!). The room we got was dowstairs, number 240 and it looked like they had taken the furniture out of some attic or thrift store to use as decoration. Aside of that the bathroom was a nightmare with broken tiles surrounded by mold, uncovered toilet pipes and spiders and silverfishes (those sluggy, tiny animals) were claiming it its territory. We turned on the heater, and we found tons of dust from the 18th century hanging from the radiator. When we requested a change of room, we were told that the hotel was booked out, so we didn't have any choice, but to stay there. My husband and I didn't feel comfortable there. We were disgusted by it and we felt like we had been scammed and ripped off, having paid 100 Euros for a supposedly 4 star hotel, that looked in actuality more like my grandmother's basement. The only positive thing that I have to say about this place was the breakfast. It was very good and great in variety, but it was not enough to convince us to ever come back. The owners should and must definitely invest in the improvement of the conditions of this hotel or if not then at least take off a couple of its claimed stars, as well as lower the price on their rooms.

Carmen R.
Cork, Ireland

  • Liked — the neighborhood
  • Disliked — the room
  • Tips/Secrets — check out the reviews about this place and don't trust the nice pictures of its website
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank miDinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2006

We stayed at Ariel House for just one night. We were in Dublin for the Ireland v South Africa match (c'mon Ireland!!). Location was fantastic. Literally a 1 minute walk to Lansdowne Stadium. We also went to Toys 4 Big Boyz. Again location was perfect - a 10 minute walk. We were in room 238 which was downstairs. A slightly musty smell on the way down the corridor but the room was grand. Bigger than your average hotel room. Shower was lovely and hot but the pressure wasn't great. The TV was only a portable but we weren't there to watch tv. Breakfast was lovely with good choices. Would stay there again if going to anywhere in Ballsbridge especially the RDS & matches at Lansdowne. Forgot to take pictures of the room but it was very old style.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RyanRachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.3 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
3,808 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4,448 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
3,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,030 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 151 in Dublin
3,835 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#16 of 151 in Dublin
4,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ariel House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ariel House

Property: Ariel House
Address: 50-54 Lansdowne Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#5 Family Hotel in Dublin
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#7 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#14 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ariel House 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ariel House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ariel House Hotel Dublin
Ariel Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing