We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bank of Ireland”
Review of Bank of Ireland

Bank of Ireland
Ranked #112 of 531 things to do in Dublin
Attraction details
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Bank of Ireland”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

The people who worked there were very friendly and helpful. We were able to exchange money. They were helpful and entertaining to watch. The bank was very busy with locals as well as out of town people. They offered places to visit and eat while we were in Dublin

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank jingles1506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    58
    31
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What a bank!”
Reviewed 5 May 2013

This beautiful building in the heart of Dublin was where Parliament was held at one time during british rule. The interior is fantastic and if you ask the porter for directions you may be able to explore further into the building.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank lucanlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
1,010 reviews
783 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 759 helpful votes
“Wonderful space with history”
Reviewed 25 April 2013

This is a gorgeous room full of decorative features. There is much Italian influence arising from the designers being some of the Grand Tourists to European centres of art and culture, primarily in Italy. There is a lovely Italianate chandelier in a central position.

The wooden carvings around the grand fireplace are exquisite with identical figures on both sides. The walls and ceiling have the same flower motifs providing a decorative unity throughout. The clock, which is wound every Friday morning, has an interesting little bit of history. When first in place an explicit time difference to that in London was apparently incorporated.

A number of large tapestries on the walls commemorate important Irish historical events. There is a fascinating display of the first currency notes issued by the Irish Free State, including the Ploughman series. Also on display is the fine ceremonial mace.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank permia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
Reviewed 23 April 2013

This was a totally unexpected little tour that we encountered whilst getting some Euro out of the ATM in the front of the bank. The children really enjoyed the tour and Sean; the tour guide made it very interesting to learn about some of Ireland's history of Independence from Britain.

There are some beautiful artifacts housed here. Most noteworthy are the enormous tapestries which grace two of the walls and face each other.

I would recommend this tour as it is in a beautiful locale and can be done rather quickly before or after visiting the Book of Kells exhibit at Trinity College.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A nice surprise”
Reviewed 7 March 2013

We had a bit of time to fill in on our last day in Dublin so decided to visit the Bank of Ireland, College Green. The building is beautiful and when we went into the old Houses of Parliament room we were delighted to be given an entertaining tour of it by John. The room is beautiful as are the tapestries and great-grandfather clock which chimes one hour behind! John said people were still debating as to whether it should be set right or not.
A lovely way to end our time in Dublin.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank funtimes0652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bank of Ireland also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Bank of Ireland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing