We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definitely worth the visit”

Chester Beatty Library
Book In Advance
More Info
US$53.21*
and up
Dublin Pass with Hop-On Hop-Off Tour and Entry to Over 30 Attractions
Ranked #9 of 503 things to do in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: With free admission and described by the Lonely Planet as 'not just the best museum in Ireland, but one of the best in Europe', the Chester Beatty Library is a must-see on any Dublin visitor's itinerary. As the only museum in Ireland to win 'European Museum of the Year' and rated consistently in the top 6 of TripAdvisor's list of 'Top things to do in Dublin', the library's rich collections from countries across Asia, the Middle East, North Africa and Europe open a window on the artistic treasures of the great cultures and religions of the world.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Definitely worth the visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

Located in the centre of Dublin, the Chester Beatty Library is easily accessible for the short or longer term tourist. The library is well presented and the write-up for each items is interested and keeps the wanderer captivated. I found it to be a very impressive library of important manuscripts, both visually as well as from a historical significance perspective. The grounds and garden attached to the garden is also well worth a visit and if i had more time, i would definitely have been able to spend a good 3 hours here just wandering around. All of the staff at the library and the shop were very friendly and kind not to rush me even though it was past closing time. I am grateful i was at least able to walk away with a book on the permanent collection as well as a biography on Chester Beatty's life. I would definitely come back to the library when i am back in Dublin.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joey_SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,966 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,153
    665
    124
    21
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Grove, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
299 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
“World class museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

As others have said, this is one of the most important places to visit in all of Dublin, in fact, in all of Europe. My wife and I came to Dublin specifically to see the ancient New Testament papyrus documents here, and we were not disappointed. Fine samples are well displayed with good explanations. There were a couple of typographical errors in the displays ( "lead to" instead of "led to" in one) but, on the whole, very discerning and articulate about the importance of these second century artifacts. We have seen the Bodmer museum near Geneva and have been to see the fragment at the John Rylands Library in Manchester (as well as the Sinaiticus and Alexandrinus mss at the British Museum, and the exhibit in the Chester Beatty is as good or better than the others.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Awarely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

Tucked away behind buildings, this is a cute find. The museum is cool to stroll around and it's free !!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank unidentified12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

The library holds the most beautiful books, prints and objects associated with printing that were collected by Chester Beatty. The collection on display is comprehensive and vast. The prints are exquisite and are supported by informative notes. You could spend all day in this one place. There are special exhibitions aswell but the collection is wonderful. Staff are also very well informed and love the place.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank jeanrobertsforgetmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
110 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“I can't believe that Tripadvisor rate the Chester Beatty the 8th attraction in Dublin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

Simply this is the BEST atraction in Dublin.
One of the things to do before you die.
Miss it and you will regret it.
ENJOY.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank SeanIrish22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary D, Public Relations Manager at Chester Beatty Library, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Chester Beatty Library and we look forward to seeing you again in 2014 :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chester Beatty Library also viewed

 

Been to Chester Beatty Library? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing