We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Christ Church Cathedral

Christ Church Cathedral
Book In Advance
More Info
US$52.76*
and up
Dublin Pass with Hop-On Hop-Off Tour and Entry to Over 30 Attractions
Ranked #28 of 498 things to do in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Christ Church Cathedral is one of Dublin's oldest buildings, a leading visitor attraction and a place of pilgrimage for almost 1,000 years. Famous for its breathtaking beauty, magnificent architectural features and wonderful floor tiles, Christ Church is also popular as a venue and is host to many high profile concerts throughout the year. It is home to the tomb of Strongbow, leader of the Normans, who captured Dublin in 1170. The Medieval Crypt, one of the largest in Britain and Ireland, extends under the entire Cathedral and contains The Mummified cat and rat, trapped in the organ in the 1860s. Guided tours, including the belfry, available up to five times a day Monday to Saturday.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Southampton
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

I really enjoyed visiting the cathedral and learnt a lot about Dublin in process. I didn't know Handel's messiah was first performed in Dublin for example. The crypt was awesome (not a massive fan of "Tom and Jerry" the mummified cat and mouse though)! The history exhibition and video down there was very good. Plus they had some costumes from "The Tudors" TV show which I love, and I didn't know it was filmed in Dublin.

Also, it is just a really beautiful building.

Pay for the cathedral and the next door Dublinia museum together and you get to walk over the enclosed bridge. It is a bit like Oxford's Bridge of Sighs.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Akkarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley-Anne C, Education Officer at Christ Church Cathedral, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
Hi there, thanks for your review. Glad you enjoyed your visit. Our mummified cat and rat are really quite something, but probably not to everyone's taste! For any future visits you might like to know that all our visitors are welcome to visit the enclosed bridge - not just those coming from Dublinia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,680 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,365
    948
    299
    50
    18
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Easter concert”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

Great visit over the Easter break in combination with a beautiful concert in the evening! otherwise we are not big fans of church entrance fees...

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank 494AnnaK494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
81 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Go to the Dublina Exhibit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

Christ Church is such a beautiful Mid-Evil looking Church, but the Dublina Exhibit was GREAT! It was one of my favorite tours I did. Learning about the history of Dublin - AMAZING!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank frosteez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley-Anne C, Education Officer at Christ Church Cathedral, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Thanks for your review. Glad you enjoyed your visit - and our friends at Dublinia will be delighted you had such a great experience there. I hope you picked up your discounted combined cathedral/Dublinia ticket!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Strongbow”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

This is a really imposing cathedral, with an impressive history. You need to bank on 45 mins to an hour to visit and take in all the features. Allow longer if you decide to have tea in the lovely crypt cafe- the loos were spotless.
The nave is 80 feet high and has great gothic arches. The Strongbow monument is a 14th century replica of the tomb of the infamous Norman conqueror, his remains are buried in the Cathedral. Swot up on his importance in Irish history before visiting!
Interestingly the Citysightseeing red bus tour brought this whole area to life for me- the cathedral didn't stand alone as it does now. There were houses built against its walls, hustle and bustle all around with markets, shops and carts pulled by ponies and donkeys. Life was acted out in the cathedrals shadow, and protection and spiritual guidance offered inside it's walls.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beal Feirste
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“interesting diversion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

Hadn't intended visiting as we'd been before though quite a few years ago. So, on whim, we went in and were really glad we did so. It gives you a great insight into Dublin's history and is a beautiful building. I didn't begrudge the entrance fee which is to help with the upkeep of the building. The displays in the crypt are very interesting though suited to an older audience. They have also added a lovely cafe (good value) and a gift shop with some lovely gifts - different from the usual. All in all well worth a visit to see something different from Dublin's past.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank M_R_BealFeirste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley-Anne C, Education Officer at Christ Church Cathedral, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Thanks for your review. Glad you enjoyed your visit. The cathedral has been at the centre of the city for almost 1000 years so you're quite correct - it's a great place to get an overview of some of the most important events in Dublin's foundation and history.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Christ Church Cathedral also viewed

 

Been to Christ Church Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing