We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful zoo, so good we walked round three times!”
Review of Dublin Zoo

Dublin Zoo
Book In Advance
More Info
US$54.42*
and up
Dublin Pass with Hop-On Hop-Off Tour and Entry to Over 30 Attractions
Ranked #17 of 531 things to do in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: One of the world's oldest zoos, Dublin Zoo is also modern in design and houses more than 600 animals. It has been redesigned in recent years to be a safe environment for people and the animals with gardens, lakes and natural habitats.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Wallsend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“wonderful zoo, so good we walked round three times!”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This is the best zoo we have ever visited. The range of animals is vast and they all seemed settled and well looked after. The zoo is large and well laid out, it has gift shops, restaurant & cafe, outdoor activities, picnic areas and plenty loos. the animal enclosures are mostly very spacious with lots to keep animals occupied, there is none of the pacing seen in other zoos. Out of all the zoo's I have visited I consider this to be the most beautiful, the flora is almost as impressive as the fauna, it's like a lovely botanical garden filled with all the animals you could wish to see.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank pamsteve091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,752 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,370
    1,681
    484
    137
    80
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Outstanding Zoo - Most Disappointing Species? ... Homo Sapiens ...”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

2nd visit to Dublin Zoo in the last year with our 8 year old girls as they are very interested in Giraffes and Lemurs. The Zoo location in Phoenix park is absolutely lovely and the landscaping of the Zoo around several lakes is outstanding. The variety of animals to see is again really outstanding and probably per other reviewers the highlight for us was the African plains with really superb view of Giraffes, Ostrich, Zebra, Antelope - could have stayed for hours watching these magnificent creatures. Obviously - to fund all of this there is a lot of retail 'opportunities' around the Zoo which is understandable ..... but ... and its not the Zoos fault .... the worst species on view in terms of behaviour was Homo Sapiens .......

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ironpoker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“best zoo in Ireland”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Im from BELFAST but Dublin zoo is the best ive ever been too wasnt too keen on going at start but am so glad i did plenty of foreign animals and stop of points for toilets and to get refreshments and no uphill struggle like BELFAST zoo thank god a must have visit for all who visit Dublin in future top marks from me

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank babesrere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
128 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Ok”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

African plains were grt. Highlight.
The landscaping was beautiful. Njoyd. The following are suggestions to improve the experience:

Some enclosures which were glassed were v difficult to see in because of reflection...could a canopy be put over the glass to see more easily.

Staff were nice. Might be nice to have more to answer Q's on the way around.

I think it is v expensive esp if going as a family. The queue was huge and the cashiers were too few..needs to be more during summer!

More benches on the circuit are needed.

The carpark- not sure if it belongs to zoo-was too small. Cars were parked on inclines as there were no spaces...they made the roadways very narrow....extend.

Helpful?
Thank Stenoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
369 reviews
102 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 581 helpful votes
“A marvellous day out in a beautiful location”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We had a wonderful morning recently at Dublin Zoo. What I really like about Dublin Zoo is how old and mature it is. It's not huge but it can still take a few hours to get around and enjoy seeing the animals at very close range. There is a lot of controversy about zoos in general these days, and I would not be a great fan of the concept, but I expect that Dublin Zoo is one of the better ones and the animals all look extremely well cared for.

We spent about 2 and a half hours there but we could easily have added another hour or two to that. It's an expensive day out (I've linked a photo of the prices) For 5 of us the entrance was nearly €80 and food (at the Meerkat café) added another €30 to the bill, however this is a very unique place in Ireland and yes, while we do have the WONDERFUL Fota Wildlife Park in Cork, Dublin Zoo cannot be equalled in terms of the numbers of species it has on show and the layout of the zoo itself. It's a really nice treat and yes, worth the cost when you think of what must be involved in the running of a professional zoological gardens.

I noticed a large number of people brining picnics with them in cool boxes. The only down side to doing this is that you must carry the cool boxes with you around the park, which is very inconvenient. So my tip really would be to bring a small picnic in a backpack (or maybe just bring the drinks) and then purchase food on site. The Meerkat restaurant is modern and spacious, but the food offering is a bit 'all over the place' with three or four different food counters to choose from but no easy way to collect different food items from these counters. Inconvenient if your group all want different choices. Food quality was fine, nothing to write home about but our expectations weren't very high anyway. There was another (smaller) restaurant half way around the park which was doing a brisk trade too. There are also a large number of ice cream vendors around the site if you do feel peckish.

The day we went (a Wednesday during school holidays) was very busy, so I recommend that you go early on those days, however we still managed to see everything, with just a little bit of pushing and shoving.

Pack light rain jackets and/or a few of those small compact umbrellas and you will be all set for a great day out.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Bryno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dublin Zoo also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Dublin Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing