We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Tour”

Glasnevin Cemetery Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$15.41*
and up
Glasnevin Cemetery Tour in Dublin
More Info
US$56.91*
and up
Dublin Pass with Hop-On Hop-Off Tour and Entry to Over 30 Attractions
More Info
US$22.53*
and up
City Sightseeing Dublin Hop-on Hop-off Tour
Ranked #3 of 532 things to do in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Glasnevin Cemetery and Museum are both the guardians and storytellers for over 1.5 million people. From the ordinary to the truly extraordinary, these people helped shape the Ireland of today. We want to share their stories and times with you through tours of the cemetery, a visit to the museum or through a genealogy search for your family history. We are a not-for-profit organisation and all proceeds are used to sustain and improve our cemeteries to ensure they are places of beauty, interest and intrigue.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Stairs / lift, Wheelchair access
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Loved the Tour”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Really enjoyed doing the tour last year that we have booked it again! As a Dubliner there was still lots of things that I learned and our guide (a young woman) was very knowledgeable and witty. Look out for the deals on groupon where you can get a much cheaper price. The museum was disappointing but there is a nice cafe in it for a rest and a bite to eat.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kari_E2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,074
    922
    210
    28
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level 6 Contributor
57 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent tour, highly recommended!”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Loved this tour so much I'm going to keep an eye on future tours such as the Women of Glasnevin Tour/Republicanism tour etc as the general tour was so enjoyable. We were lucky enough to have a beautiful day which made it a pleasure to follow and the Tour guide (Bridget I think she was called) was extremely knowledgeable and informative and quite witty at times. We visited both the cemetery and the museum and for those who are thinking of doing this, I would suggest you do the museum prior to the tour as it helps you familiarise with the history and historical events that are discussed on the tour. I would also suggest that anyone unfamiliar with Irish history reads up on it prior to your visit as I imagine you would get lost in the tour if you have no prior knowledge. Just a point for anyone to consider prior to visiting. Will definitely do another tour on different subject in the future.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mimi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A GREAT FIND”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Spent a few hours here yesterday. Wonderful witty Guide (Neil). So much history @ your fingertips. Everyone with even a smattering of Irish in them should visit. If the names Dev, Collins, Larkin, Mac Bride, Childers, Luke Kelly mean something to you / then go & take advantage of the guide's knowledge. Really interesting. Highly recommend it. And there's a museum & delightful coffee shop.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank BKRIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modena, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Memorable!”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I had the chance to visit Glasnevin Cemetery Museum on 4 July 2014 while on a leisure trip to the Republic of Ireland. I joined a guided tour in the morning and was immediately pleased to see how incredibly kind and helpful the guys at the front desk were, as I asked questions about the visit to the museum and the cemetery alike. My tour guide's name was Niall. A highly competent young man with an extremely solid background in Irish history, he guided us in the exciting discovery of the graves of Ireland's great men. From Daniel O'Connell's crypt to Michael Collins's grave, Niall's expertise and sense of humour made the visit a very enjoyable experience. Indeed, by wlaking through the graveyard and visiting the museum, one immediately has the impression that Glasnevin is so much more than a tourist attraction. It is a place where visitors may share vivid recollections of Ireland's history.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank AnTeastalai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaipur, India
Level 6 Contributor
597 reviews
227 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Interesting graveyard”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Beautifully kept graveyard with some magnificent engravings.
It is worth a visit but you must go with a guide that will tell you
a bit about the deceased and their families. It was very interesting.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank syan0vich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Glasnevin Cemetery Museum also viewed

 

Been to Glasnevin Cemetery Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing