We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A city-centre treasure”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Marsh's Library

Marsh's Library
Ranked #34 of 504 things to do in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of Dublin's most beautiful tourist attractions. An unspoiled gem right in the heart of the city. Established in 1707, Marsh's Library is a wonderfully preserved library of the early Enlightenment complete with its original oak bookcases. Visitors often comment on the wonderful smell of the old bookcases and books.The library contains over 25,000 rare and interesting books relating to the 16th, 17th and 18th centuries, covering medicine, law, science, travel, navigation, mathematics, music, and classical literature. There is also some material of a very scurrilous nature. Every year an exhibition of rare and curious items is presented from the holdings of the Library. The current exhibition is '1916: Tales from the Other Side', exploring minority experiences of 1916 and the years that followed.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A city-centre treasure”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

Marsh's Library is often over-looked but it really shouldn't be. It's an absolute treasure, and a must-see for any book lovers. Everything about it is charming, the furnishings, the books, even the smells. It's like taking a step back in time; a real historical gem.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank BostonCollegeIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    108
    20
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“An excuse of an attraction”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

I just cant believe they call this an attraction i mean seriously. WOW come see our library. i could just walk down the street and visit the library. Two words to describe this place. A Joke. Tata for now. V

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Veronica m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason_McE_Keeper, Manager at Marsh's Library, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
We are sorry that you didn't enjoy our unique Grade 1 listed building, or marvel at the 30,000 books from the beginning of the invention of print. You are perhaps the only one of our visitors not to have been impressed with our current exhibition of gold-decorated books from the 18th century, or to have been intrigued by the cages into which readers were locked in the olden days.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“If you like books see this”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

The library was recommended to us by our drive from Paddy Wagon Tours. It was a great place to visit if you love books-only a few steps down from St. Patrick's. The only downside is that you had to climb two sets of stairs. (My elderly mother couldn't do it.)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank CathCaseZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A real Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Walking from our hotel to visit St Patricks Cathedral, we came upon Marsh's Library, but as it was a Tuesday it was closed, so returned the next day at opening time 9.30am, and were so glad we did. This wonderful little building was the first public library in Dublin and was completed in 1701. It is if time has stood still
within its walls, with the beautiful oak bookshelves still storing the tomes rom these times. I almost had to make the visit a very short one, as the heat was stifling, however a few of the very courteous staff/volunteers opened windows, and we were able to take plenty of time to pour over the open pages of selected manuscripts housed in glass cases. These covered an amazing range of subjects including biology;mathmatics and physics. A superb and very cheap place to visit

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank scarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Marsh's Library”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

Found this little library on our hop-on bus tour. What a treasure!! So many old books , check it our.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank marilyn w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marsh's Library also viewed

 

Been to Marsh's Library? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing