We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rick Steve's was Right”

The Book of Kells and the Old Library Exhibition
Book In Advance
More Info
US$50.11*
and up
Early Access: Book of Kells Including Exterior Tour of Dublin Castle
Ranked #16 of 530 things to do in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The Book of Kells is a world famous illuminated manuscript written in Latin of the Gospels from the Bible. It was painstakingly hand-written and illustrated by monks around 800 A.D.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
698 reviews
144 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
“Rick Steve's was Right”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

If you want to get the full effect of this attraction, read Rick Steve's book and then go. Time your visit so you don't wait in line a long time.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13,272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7,483
    3,787
    1,567
    325
    110
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Redruth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“I'd like one at home please”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

The Long Room is the most amazing space with so many beautifully bound books to see lining the walls. The ladders and stairways are also attractive features and the smell of all those real books indescribable (so I won't try). Add the Book of Kells for good measure and this is a five star visit.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenEdwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
163 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Best for book lovers?”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Trinity is one of those places to tick off the list of "essential" visits when in Dublin. We did the short guided tour which cost 12 euros, compared to only 10 euros to go in the library to see the book of Kells which, personally, I think was worth the little extra it cost as it opened up the history of the place itself as a working university. The queue to go in the library was really long and a bit daunting when we joined but it moved very quickly and we were in within about 15 mins.The library was fully of fusty old books which look like they have been there for ever but the main attraction is the Book of Kells. There was always a bit of a rugby scrum around the display cabinet but we managed a peek eventually. It was interesting but it was one of those things that when you've seen it, you've seen it. If I was on a really tight budget and had to limit myself to certain sights the library would be one that I would miss of my list as you can walk around the grounds without paying

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank PAULENEHighPeakUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Long line for some great history”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The line to visit was very long because there was a cruise ship in port, but it was well worth the wait. The Book of Kells is beautiful and you can get quite close, though it is by no means the only book worth viewing. Great displays with a good flow.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Grad Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Charming but too expensive”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Charming but too expensive. It feels like I overpaid. It was too one-sided, too DIY and overwhelming. But I'm glad I've seen it.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dora C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Book of Kells and the Old Library Exhibition also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to The Book of Kells and the Old Library Exhibition? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing