We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Alright, i guess.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Generator Hostel Dublin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Generator Hostel Dublin
Ranked #4 of 105 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Alright, i guess.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

This hostel was a bit too modern for my taste. When i walked in i felt like i was in some sort of cheap club with all the colorful light and awful music playing. The staff was ok but nothing fancy about them. The room itself was alright. I was in a 6 bed dorm with very unfriendly peoples so it didn't make it better. The beds were great. With each a little light and plug socket, its was well made. The bathroom was not the greatest. It was smelly not very clean.
The location is good tho, close to the tram and a short 5 min walk to the airport bus stop.
I would recommend it if you want to meet young peoples but for sure ill never go there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Guillaume084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Generator_Dublin, General Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review, 9 January 2012
Dear Guest

Thanks for taking time to complete a review on your recent stay at Generator Hostel Dublin, I am sorry the Hostel was not to your liking, I would however not agree that we are like a “Cheap Club” the Hostel has been very well received by our guests.

I will off course pass on your comments to the Housekeeping team and will ensure we pay more attention to the cleaning of our rooms.

Thanks again for your feedback!

Kind Regards

Tom Devaney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,941 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    834
    714
    236
    112
    45
See reviews for
127
239
491
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, Wales
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

Generator is a brand new addition to the Dublin hostel scene, so new that it still smells freshly painted. The hostel is a huge complex spanning several floors with a wide range of accommodation options, with each bed coming equipped with a light, a mains socket and a locker. The showers are clean, the bedding is clean and generous and the beds are comfortable. There is also a massive cafe/hangout area - which is secured by the use of a key card system only allowing guests in to the premises - and free Wi-Fi with good coverage across the building.

Clearly Generator, by starting out large, have been able to achieve some significant economies of scale and have, so doing, created a decent hostel. The only slight downside is the not-so-central location - it is built in an area that, according to old Lonely Planets, was heading for some major redevelopment but was clearly hit by the credit crunch with some developments unfinished and units unfilled - but Dublin is so small that everything is a 20 minute walk, or 5 minute tram ride.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saesneg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Generator_Dublin, General Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review, 9 January 2012
Dear Guest

Thanks for taking the time to complete a review on your stay at Generator Hostel Dublin I am really glad you enjoyed your stay.

Thanks again and hopefully we can welcome you back in the very near future.

Kind Regards

Tom Devaney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire UK
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

We arrived at the Generator and the staff were so friendly. My friend and i booked a twin room which had an ensuite bathroom. We were provided wtih towels and there was shower and haid gel in the shower. The room was very basic, with two beds, a mirror, a table, a light above each bed and sockets in the room, the window had blinds and black out curtains. Everything was clean, breakfast, if you wanted it was cheap, the entrance was secure and safe. What more could you want? Temple bar was a 10 - 15 minute walk walking alongside the River Liffy. I would go again, loved it!

Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Medcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Generator_Dublin, General Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review, 31 December 2011
Dear Guest

Thanks for taking the time to complete a review on your stay at Generator Hostel Dublin I am really glad you enjoyed your stay.

Thanks again and hopefully we can welcome you back in the very near future.

Kind Regards

Tom Devaney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2011

THIS PLACE IS LIKE A HOTEL !! The only 'hostel' thing about this place is that I had to share a room with a couple of strangers and there is no TV. So amazing!

When I first walked into the lobby, I thought I walked into a club/posh hotel. It is so nicely decorated. There is a bar, hang out area where people were playing pool, X-Factor was on the big TV screen so a few people were watching that, and then there is a reading area - not exactly quiet because it was an open space - but computers were there, and they had a book shelf filled with books you could pick up and read for a bit if you wanted some down time.

My bed was hotel-quality: mattress was plush, pillow was plush, duvet was plush, best sleep I've had in a hostel ever (and this is my fourth). There is a head light near your bed so you can use that instead of turning on the big light and disturb other sleepers (love these!) There are bins under the beds where you can lock your stuff in (love!). You only share a bathroom with those in your room. In my case, there was 5 of us.

Breakfast had to be bought - 3 euros. Was hoping for a free breakfast but it was all you can eat, and it was a decent variety. I had stayed at a different hostel the night before and their breakfast kind of sucked (toast and corn flakes) so this was an upgrade (cereal, crossaints, toast, rolls, meat, cheese, fruits) I just made a sandwhich for later.

They had a luggage room that you got to access by getting a key card from reception. At first I was a bit concerned about leaving my stuff, but it was still there when I got back so it turned out well in the end.

Downside - you have to pay for internet on the computers. I think you got limited free wifi though. I wish they had maybe one or two 'free' computers. But oh well!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abroadinUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Generator_Dublin, General Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review, 21 December 2011
Dear Guest

Thanks for taking the time to complete a review on your stay at Generator Hostel Dublin I am really glad you enjoyed your stay.

Thanks again and hopefully we can welcome you back in the very near future.

Kind Regards

Tom Devaney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2011

We have just returned from a weekend in Dublin staying at the Generator Hostel. If you are on a budget this is a fab place to stay as its really good value (this is the only thing in Dublin I can say that about!). It's a hostel so as you would expect the rooms are basic. You get a comfortable bed, crisp clean bedding, a clean bathroom and a mirror - oh yes and a table and stool - that's it but if you’re not planning on spending too much time in your room it's more than adequate.

The lounge areas are well thought out and a really nice "space" to be in. A bar + pool table on one level and more seating on a lower level. Also this is where you will have your continental breakfast which is open until 11.00am.

The thing that makes this place is the staff who are great and really helpful. You get provided with a map on arrival and use it - Dublin is soooo easy to walk around and navigate.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pleasecanigonow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Generator_Dublin, General Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review, 21 December 2011
Dear Guest

Thanks for taking the time to complete a review on your stay at Generator Hostel Dublin I am really glad you enjoyed your stay.

Thanks again and hopefully we can welcome you back in the very near future.

Kind Regards

Tom Devaney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, MA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

I think I am getting too spoiled to stay at hostels, especially since I am a very light sleeper. That said, if I was going to stay in a hostel in Dublin, I would stay here.

The whole hostel is supper new and cool. I especially like liquor bottles made into chandeliers in the bar. It is a bit maze like, and it took me a while to figure out where the bathrooms were. Every thing was very clean, and the beds were fairly comfy. I could barely believe that it was just over 10 euros a night. I paid more for places which were much grungier. I think there was a party going on downstairs when I went to bed, but the other occupants of the dorm style room were snoring/breathing more loudly than the music that filtered up to our floor. That's a comment on the music being pretty quiet not the snoring. They also had luggage storage, wifi downstairs in the lobby/lounge, and computers. The staff were very helpful.

As far as location goes, it is right next to a Luas light rail stop and the Jameson Distillery. It was about a 20 minute walk from the Temple Bar/Trinity area for a Boston walker. Safety wise: I am not sure I would have been entirely comfortable walking around the immediate area at night, by myself, as a young woman. However, it felt much safer than other areas further east and north of the River, and I tend to be very cautious in all cities I don't know well. I was traveling with my boyfriend, and felt perfectly safe walking around with him.

Room Tip: Higher floors might be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Niall M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Generator_Dublin, General Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review, 3 December 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your recent stay at Generator Hostel Dublin I am really glad you enjoyed your stay.

Thanks again for taking the time and hopefully we can welcome you back in the very near future.

Kind Regards

Tom Devaney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

I must admit I panicked a bit before we got to the hotel - the trip was a surprise for my sisters 40th birthday. I bought the stay through Groupon and, if I'd paid more attention to the fact it was a hostel, I probably wouldn't have gone ahead. So, I fessed up to my sister on the plane and we had a good laugh about it being a very ironic thing to do on a 40th birthday - stay at a youth hostel. Anyway, I shouldn't have been worried, the place was more like a hotel, the staff amazingly helpful, the bar and facilities were great and the room was lovely. We stayed in a twin ensuite room - it was stylish looking with laminate flooring, white bedding and wooden blinds. The only thing missing from a 'normal' hotel was tea & coffee making facilities and a TV in the room. However, as we were there to sightsee and enjoy the local Irish pubs this wasn't a problem. The location of the hostel was superb as far as we were concerned - it's a nice stroll away from Temple Bar (took us about 20 mins), it has a Luas line very close by, St James' Distillery right next door and a few other restaurants & a brilliant supermarket close by. We asked for a taxi one evening and met Brian who drove us to our restaurant - Brian was an excellent guide, giving us huge hugs when we met, and provided plenty of hints & tips on what to do during the stay (Brian - if you're reading this, we were the 'Welsh girls'!). The only down side that I can possibly think of is that the bar looks an amazing party place on the website but was very quiet - this is probably due to the time of year but it was a little disappointing. However, that was a small thing considering all the positives. As two 40 something mums, I would definitely stay again!!

Room Tip: We stayed on the third floor in a corner room with no one either side which was great - no noise at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Generator_Dublin, General Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review, 3 December 2011
Dear Guest

Thanks for taking the time to complete a review on your stay at Generator Hostel Dublin I am really glad you enjoyed your stay.

Thanks again and hopefully we can welcome you back in the very near future.

Kind Regards

Tom Devaney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#33 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,749 reviews
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#65 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jacobs Inn Hostel
#2 of 105 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,819 reviews
Isaacs Hostel
#6 of 105 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,813 reviews
Temple Bar
Abigails Hostel
Abigails Hostel
#8 of 105 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Generator Hostel Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Generator Hostel Dublin

Property: Generator Hostel Dublin
Address: 28 Smithfield Street, Dublin 7, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 105 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Generator Hostel Dublin 2*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You’ll find Generator Dublin in the heart of Smithfield Square in central Dublin. This newly fashionable area located between the developing museum district and the Four Courts District has plenty to do and see. Next door you’ll find the Jameson Distillery, one of the most popular attractions in the city. Dublin is a compact city and the best way to explore is on foot, so you don’t miss a thing. You’re a short walk from the infamous Guinness Storehouse with its un-missable 360 degree gravity bar, Temple Bar and the Spire. But while you are here make sure you soak up the atmosphere of the hostel. It’s a destination in its own right. Head to the bar and chill out areas and get yourself a well deserved drink or two and soak up the most eclectic and authentic entertainment for miles around. We have recently added a wide range of specialist craft beers both from local and afar. We’ve also great beds for sleepy heads and of course you’ll be enjoying Dublin life in the most stylish and authentic surroundings. Choose from a great selection of rooms, from Dorms, to Quads, to Private en-suites with innovative mod cons. Fast and free Wi-Fi is all yours too. To get the most out of your stay speak with any member of our team, their city expertise will help you devise an itinerary that will take you to all the hidden treasures this dynamic city has to offer. We’ll see you there soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Generator Hostel Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Generator Hostel Dublin Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing