We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pretty good location, excellent rooms, no cooking facilities though!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Generator Hostel Dublin
Ranked #3 of 126 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 January 2012

The Generator Dublin is not in the town centre but is easily accessible by tram, Smithfield stop, or a 10-15 min walk. We stayed here for 4 nights and it was excellent value, much more so than the generator in london! We stayed in an 8 person dorm and it was clean, modern and comfortable. Best parts were having our own bedside light, a shelf on each bed head, and two power points on each bed, something that most backpackers SEVERELY lack! Bathrooms were clean and modern, and the showers actually had pressure!!
Staff were excellent, especially the night staff who supplied me with earplugs when a person in my room was snoring so loud the beds were vibrating!!

Only complaint is there is no cooking facilities, which is a pain when you want to cook some toast or bagels for breakfast.

Overall, excellent backpackers and would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kirstimmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Generator_Dublin, Front Office Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2012

Dear Guest

Thanks for taking the time to complete a review on your stay at Generator Hostel Dublin I am really glad you enjoyed your stay.

Sorry about not providing a self catering kitchen this is something we are looking into.

Thanks again and hopefully we can welcome you back in the very near future.

Kind Regards

Tom Devaney
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,434 - 1,440 of 2,159 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2012

I stayed at Generator Dublin for a week last December and had a great time. The hostel has a great location, it's very easy to get there from the airport and to the city centre. It's also clean, quiet and organized and the staff is super friendly and helpful. The beds are comfortable, there are reading lights and storage space in the room. The only thing that I would suggest they do is put some shelves in the bathroom, that way you would have somewhere to put your toiletries, and clean it more often, or at leat take out the garbage. I think they do that just when someone checks out. Breakfast is not included in the price but it's very cheap and you can have a good selection of food. Although you cannot cook there, Dublin is a pretty affordable city when it comes to food. The atmosphere is also great, there's a bar on the main floor, and an area where you can hang out. I'd definitely recommend this hostel and if I ever go back to Dublin that's where I'm staying!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank luluca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Generator_Dublin, General Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2012

Dear Guest

Thanks for taking the time to complete a review on your stay at Generator Hostel Dublin I am really glad you enjoyed your stay.

Many thanks for your feedback and we will ensure we look into improvering our offering.

Thanks again and hopefully we can welcome you back in the very near future.

Kind Regards

Tom Devaney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Everything you expect a hostel to have, this place has it! Great backpacker atmosphere! Have only stayed in one other hostel as good as this! Great staff and really comfy beds!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Generator_Dublin, General Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2012

Dear Guest

Thanks for taking the time to complete a review on your stay at Generator Hostel Dublin I am really glad you enjoyed your stay.

Thanks again and hopefully we can welcome you back in the very near future.

Kind Regards

Tom Devaney
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Stayed here recently with my sister in a twin room. Great location on the tram line. Easy access for the bus to the airport. So cheap to have breakfast, all you can eat for €4! Will stay again later in the year!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Generator_Dublin, General Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2012

Dear Guest

Thanks for taking the time to complete a review on your stay at Generator Hostel Dublin I am really glad you enjoyed your stay.

Thanks again and hopefully we can welcome you back in the very near future.

Kind Regards

Tom Devaney
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Hostel is very modern and clean. We stayed in a spacious twin room. Common areas are comfortable. Staff are friendly, knowledgable and happy to help. If you are hestiant about staying in a hostel - don't hesitate to stay here... It was the best hostel we stayed at.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank onetreehill8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Generator_Dublin, General Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2012

Dear Guest

Thanks for taking the time to complete a review on your stay at Generator Hostel Dublin I am really glad you enjoyed your stay.

Thanks again and hopefully we can welcome you back in the very near future.

Kind Regards

Tom Devaney
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights and the place is so clean it still seems like it has just been open. Booked to stay in a trip room but was given an 8 bed dorm all to ourselfs which was nice as this gave us plenty of space to put our things. The hostel was secure , having to use your room key to get in and out and was about a 15 - 20 minute walk to temple bar. The rooms were very clean and the bar had some good drinks offerd. would stay here again if visiting dublin

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jayda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Generator_Dublin, General Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2012

Dear Guest

Thanks for taking the time to complete a review on your stay at Generator Hostel Dublin I am really glad you enjoyed your stay.

Thanks again and hopefully we can welcome you back in the very near future.

Kind Regards

Tom Devaney
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

This hostel was a bit too modern for my taste. When i walked in i felt like i was in some sort of cheap club with all the colorful light and awful music playing. The staff was ok but nothing fancy about them. The room itself was alright. I was in a 6 bed dorm with very unfriendly peoples so it didn't make it better. The beds were great. With each a little light and plug socket, its was well made. The bathroom was not the greatest. It was smelly not very clean.
The location is good tho, close to the tram and a short 5 min walk to the airport bus stop.
I would recommend it if you want to meet young peoples but for sure ill never go there again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Will_IX84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Generator_Dublin, General Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2012

Dear Guest

Thanks for taking time to complete a review on your recent stay at Generator Hostel Dublin, I am sorry the Hostel was not to your liking, I would however not agree that we are like a “Cheap Club” the Hostel has been very well received by our guests.

I will off course pass on your comments to the Housekeeping team and will ensure we pay more attention to the cleaning of our rooms.

Thanks again for your feedback!

Kind Regards

Tom Devaney
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#71 of 150 in Dublin
1,436 reviews
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#35 of 150 in Dublin
2,044 reviews
Jacobs Inn Hostel
#2 of 126 in Dublin
2,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Abbey Court
#7 of 126 in Dublin
1,115 reviews
Isaacs Hostel
#6 of 126 in Dublin
2,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Generator Hostel Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Generator Hostel Dublin

Address: 28 Smithfield Street, Dublin 7, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 126 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Price Range: £21 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Generator Hostel Dublin 2*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You’ll find Generator Dublin in the heart of Smithfield Square in central Dublin. This newly fashionable area located between the developing museum district and the Four Courts District has plenty to do and see. Next door you’ll find the Jameson Distillery, one of the most popular attractions in the city. Dublin is a compact city and the best way to explore is on foot, so you don’t miss a thing. You’re a short walk from the infamous Guinness Storehouse with its un-missable 360 degree gravity bar, Temple Bar and the Spire. But while you are here make sure you soak up the atmosphere of the hostel. It’s a destination in its own right. Head to the bar and chill out areas and get yourself a well deserved drink or two and soak up the most eclectic and authentic entertainment for miles around. We have recently added a wide range of specialist craft beers both from local and afar. We’ve also great beds for sleepy heads and of course you’ll be enjoying Dublin life in the most stylish and authentic surroundings. Choose from a great selection of rooms, from Dorms, to Quads, to Private en-suites with innovative mod cons. Fast and free Wi-Fi is all yours too. To get the most out of your stay speak with any member of our team, their city expertise will help you devise an itinerary that will take you to all the hidden treasures this dynamic city has to offer. We’ll see you there soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Generator Hostel Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Generator Hostel Dublin Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing