We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern hostel, reasonable price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Generator Hostel Dublin
Ranked #5 of 112 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Modern hostel, reasonable price”
Reviewed 30 January 2013

I'd give this 3 and a half if I could, only because we'd specially requested an all female dorm (3 women in our 20s) but got there late at night to discover we'd been placed in a mixed dorm (with 5 strange men...). We weren't happy, but needed to sleep, and luckily the hostel managed to find us a female dorm for the rest of the stay. And wow was the female dorm a LOT cleaner than the mixed one (the mixed one's bathroom was disgusting). The female dorms are nicely decorated with a vanity mirror too. The hostel is right next to the Old Jamieson's Distillery, but a bit of a walk from most of Dublin's other main attractions (20mins?). The bar was pretty cool though, and I'd probably go back again.

Room Tip: If you're a woman definitely go for a female dorm, so much nicer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spivvycarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Generator_Dublin, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review, 7 February 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Generator Dublin. We appreciate all your feedback and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Maureen Meegan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,028 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    867
    743
    255
    118
    45
See reviews for
130
247
527
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheekiero
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013 via mobile

Stunning hostel - never experienced anything like it in Ireland. The building is stunning and the staff very friendly and approachable. Little bit outside city but worth it for the extras and space u get.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheekiero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Generator_Dublin, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review, 23 January 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Maureen Meegan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

Came to visit a friend who lived on the outskirts of Dublin, the hostel cost us very little and we enjoyed the freedom to come and go when we please, rather than 35 euro cabs.

Really tidy really nice decor.One of the most outstanding features is the large sink downstairs which one of my friends used to great effect when he was struggling with roger.

Anyone who gives this place a negative review is an idiot. It's an outstanding hostel and one of the best i've stayed in. You can't slate a hostel for not being a hotel, because quite frankly you should have stayed in a hotel.

They did confiscate alcohol from us but were more than will to return it to us on the same night provided we drank it outside the hostel.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Generator_Dublin, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review, 7 February 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review the Generator Dublin. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your honest feedback.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Maureen Meegan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

This was my first ever hostel experience and so I was definitely a little nervous. My friends and I (4 of us all together) were booked into an 8 sleeper dorm and were told it would be private with no one else sharing with us. It was great! We had reading lights at our bed, individual plugs, comfortable new bunk beds and plenty of space! If all hosteling is like this I would do it all the time I travel. The hostel over all in the upper floors was clean and quiet, the breakfast was great and even the floor was cushy and new. I loved this hostel and would highly recommend it!

Room Tip: I stayed on an upper floor and found this very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melliebee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Generator_Dublin, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review, 23 January 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Maureen Meegan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

This hostel completed changed my view on hostels. The beds were really comfortable and there were plenty of electric points for iPods etc. The bathrooms were always impeccably clean and more than enough to cope with the full capacity. The only issue we had was that our room was ather hot for our stay, the staff gave us their own fan to use in the room. The bar area had a lovely ambience, the chandelier is certainly impressive! It's located right next to the Jameson factory and very close to the bus and tram stops to the city. The breakfast was your typical continental nothing spectacular but more then satisfactory considering the price. Would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goggins22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Generator_Dublin, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review, 23 January 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate all your positive comments.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Maureen Meegan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013

My husband and I stayed here in a private double room after looking for a hotel in Dublin over the weekend and not finding anything that was less the 100 Euros per night. By contrast, the Generator Hostel was much less, and had everything we needed - a clean, warm room in a convenient area.

The hostel staff are a bit... well, it's not a hotel is it? On attempting to do a load of laundry, my husband carried our dirty clothes to the reception desk and asked where the laundry room was. He got the answer, but then had to come back to reception 2 minutes later to ask for the pin code to the door. Another trip to the laundry room and back to then ask to buy some laundry powder. Surely the young lad at reception could have presented all this information upfront. Same with buying a token for breakfast - money and token were exchanged without a word from the girl at the desk. We just followed everyone else's lead - which led to an uncomfortable moment when I handed my breakfast token over to one member of staff only to be questioned by a second staff member as to whether I had one.

Trivial things however - if you're not expecting to be looked after (we weren't) you'll have no issues, only the occasional minor irritation.

As stated, rooms were clean. Our private room had two single beds, each with a single duvet (incredibly warm) and a single pillow (more like a flattened rectangle of material imitating a pillow). No toiletries are provided, but this is expected for hostel stays. Walls weren't too thin- we never heard our neighbours, but the door was and the drunk revellers in the hallway coming home in the AM were well and truly heard. Won't bother you if you're one of them!

Location-wise, we didn't find much in the immediate area by way of night-time meals, but it is not a far walk to the Temple Bar area. Attraction wise, it is practically next door to the Jameson Distillery which is an interesting way to pass some time.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmeliaMx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Generator_Dublin, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review, 23 January 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. We appreciate all your comments and they have been shared locally with the team.

We hope to see you back on your next trip to Dublin.

Kind regards

Maureen Meegan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moate, Westmeath, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Needed budget accom for an important trip to Dublin and based on the reviews thought this would do the job. We were a group of 6 with a private room and we were delighted when we checked in and checked out our room as we thought it was excellent value for money given the clean, modern room and facilities. It dosen't have a feel of a hostel in my opinion much rather like a budget hotel. I had specifically requested a quiet room so I was not worried about noise until we tried to go to bed. There was extreamly loud unusual house type music playing in the bar which we could hear in our room very clearly. Around 1.30pm We enquired with staff about when it would stop and explained that we were upset with the situation and they were extreamly casual about our complaint and told us it would end soon. It did not end untill 3.20am! I was later told there music plays till 3am on weekends. (therefore when we enquired about the time of music ending they were aware it would not end for a while but chose to keep that from us) After the music there was people runnning up and down corridors screaming and banging around and again that could be heard as if they were in our room. The next morning we explained we needed to be moved, and again the staff were very casual about the whole thing, didnt offer an apology and were not too obliging about moving us to a quieter room. There explanation was that it was a hostel so music to be expected? Personally I have never encountered a hostel with music till 3.20am in my life.
The next night after much negotiations we were moved to a much quieter room on the third floor which we were very relieved with - there was alot less noise.
Perfect place to stay on a budget if you are party goers and will not be heading to bed till 5am yourself but if you need sleep or have to be up early in the morn avoid at all costs! There is no way to get around the noise as I had specifically requested a quiet room prior to our arrival and we were still placed on the first floor above the bar and the staff were not at all bothered about this.

Room Tip: Avoid if you need sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ciara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Generator_Dublin, Manager at Generator Hostel Dublin, responded to this review, 13 January 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Dublin. Firstly, I would like to thank you for your positive comments about the hostel itself.

However I do apologise that you were kept awake, we do provide entertainment in our bar every weekend night which does finish quite late.

If you wish to return to Dublin please contact me directly at dublin@generatorhostels.com

Kind regards

Maureen Meegan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#67 of 151 in Dublin
1,331 reviews
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#35 of 151 in Dublin
1,864 reviews
Jacobs Inn Hostel
#2 of 112 in Dublin
1,971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Isaacs Hostel
#6 of 112 in Dublin
1,980 reviews
Abbey Court
#8 of 112 in Dublin
1,010 reviews
Sky Backpackers
#11 of 112 in Dublin
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Generator Hostel Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Generator Hostel Dublin

Property: Generator Hostel Dublin
Address: 28 Smithfield Street, Dublin 7, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 112 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Generator Hostel Dublin 2*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You’ll find Generator Dublin in the heart of Smithfield Square in central Dublin. This newly fashionable area located between the developing museum district and the Four Courts District has plenty to do and see. Next door you’ll find the Jameson Distillery, one of the most popular attractions in the city. Dublin is a compact city and the best way to explore is on foot, so you don’t miss a thing. You’re a short walk from the infamous Guinness Storehouse with its un-missable 360 degree gravity bar, Temple Bar and the Spire. But while you are here make sure you soak up the atmosphere of the hostel. It’s a destination in its own right. Head to the bar and chill out areas and get yourself a well deserved drink or two and soak up the most eclectic and authentic entertainment for miles around. We have recently added a wide range of specialist craft beers both from local and afar. We’ve also great beds for sleepy heads and of course you’ll be enjoying Dublin life in the most stylish and authentic surroundings. Choose from a great selection of rooms, from Dorms, to Quads, to Private en-suites with innovative mod cons. Fast and free Wi-Fi is all yours too. To get the most out of your stay speak with any member of our team, their city expertise will help you devise an itinerary that will take you to all the hidden treasures this dynamic city has to offer. We’ll see you there soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Lastminute, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Generator Hostel Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Generator Hostel Dublin Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing