We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
My Place Dublin Hotel
Ranked #125 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed 21 August 2013

My husband and I booked a room in the "hotel" section of this establishment. There was nothing "hotel" about it. First and foremost, we were booked into a room on the 5th floor that meant lugging our luggage up 5 flights of narrow staircases. The room was musty and damp but linen was clean. The bathroom was teeny tiny and the shower door was broken. There was no hot water, so we had to endure cold showers. When we asked about hot water, we were told that we were high up and the pumps struggled to get hot water to the top floor - begs the question, why put rooms up there.

You would be better off booking into a hostel.

The service and assistance from the staff must be commended, all staff were very helpful in addressing issues brought to their attention.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerryn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (642)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 642 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

Simple and clean. Almost a bed and breakfast, with a bus stop to the airport literally in front of the hotel. Not that close to city centre but at the same time just 15 minutes walking from it...
Small bathroom, big room, cannot complain about the cleanness neither noisy. We had a simple and limited continental breakfast there (not many places for breakfast around the hotel) and paid only 5 per person for 2 toasts, cheese and ham, coffe, milk and cereal (with is a far price for Dublin). Good value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

To be fair we had a very clean room and bedding in the hotel part of this establishment. The staff was helpfull and friendly. Our complaint is that we had a room under the hostel with a army of backpakkers stomping in steadily between 3 and 4:30. We had to be up at 5 for our flight, so we on purpose got a hotel and paid more money. The establishment has some wear and tear, but cleaner than the pictures suggests. The photos on booking.com were misleading however in what it suggests.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tascha2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

well, it was a nice hotel with a hostel look. yes, on the webpage I booked, it looked like a hotel, but it turned out that this was actually a hostel that was partly a hotel. I didn't have any issues with cleaning as the room and the bathroom were clean. the room was also a nicely decorated one.They changed the towels daily, but somehow didn't vacuum clean the room. There were coffee and tea with a water boiler and glasses in the room. They also left an ironing board and iron in the room, which is an unusual thing in many hotels since they expect you to use the common ones. One thing that really disturbed me was the terrible noises when people were walking or running along the corridors or stairs. It felt like there was some kind of earthquake. Also, you could hear any tiny whispers from other rooms. that they ask us to leave the keys to the reception every time we left the ho(s)tel was another unusual thing for me. They also have cheaper breakfast at the hostel compared to many other surprisingly expensive places. One downside of the breakfast was that they did not make it clear whether I could get a veggie option of the continental breakfast which included cereals, yoghurt, meats and cheese. the other available options were egg breakfast, which was composed of only scrambled or fried eggs with toasted bread and bread and butter breakfast. So when I asked whether I could switch scrambled eggs with meats of the continental breakfast, the guy told me No. Then I learnt that there was already eggs in continental breakfast. Well,the way they put each breakfast on the board was confusing. Also, it was a bit hard to get words from the mouths of the receptionists. They were nice and kind, but when we tried to learn about something, their answers sounded as if they were assuming that we were locals who would know everything about Dublin. So we had a lot of difficulties to understand what they were talking about many times. Another thing -don't know if this is a good or bad thing-was that the house of the ho(s)tel was like a labyrinth. The way the receptionist explained the way for our room was already complicated, and the ho(s)tel itself was more complicated. One last thing was that they had a pretty clean, well-lighted and large common area with tables and nice sofas.
P.S: When you are trying to find the hotel once you arrive to Dublin, walk towards the river once you are on the Lower Gardiner Street area. Just needed to write that since because I didn't have any Gps, I followed the house numbers on the street and went far far away while trying to find the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daff0dile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Stayed here in July 2013 and found that the hotel was brilliant value for money. Located very close to Busaras which was very convenient! Very helpful staff and the rooms in the hotel are very nice and not poky or outdated in style. The breakfast was a bit on the basic side but still good for what we paid. As the hotel is also a hostel there is a great buzz about with plenty of other travellers around. Definitely would stay here again for location and value alone! :)

Room Tip: Make sure when you are booking to check you are staying in the hotel part as there is hostel option...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Myself and a few friends booked this hotel for an overnight stay. What we booked was a Family room because there was four of us. Well the pictures we seen had us excited, but what we saw in the pictures was not what we got. We ended up in a room which seemed to be a hostel instead of a Hotel. We were very disappointed. The bathroom was small, the floor was bumpy and had nails sticking out which a few of us stood on on more than one occasion. The shower was disgusting, we ended up having to waste a full bottle of shower gel to clean it. When we entered the room there was double doors which were at the end of the room, they were not closed and we couldnt get them locked again, what we seen behind those doors was awful, empty gas cylinders, ladders and debrie. One of the beds was broke on one side and this made it uncomfortable for us to sleep on. Finally we did not feel safe leaving our stuff in the room as we were made to leave our key at reception before going out into the town. We found this strange and its made us uncomfortable. The only good thing about the place was the staff, they were friendly and one of the women at reception even ordered us food as we were starving! Overall very disappointing, wouldnt stay again and was a waste of money.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Newtotravel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

i stayed here with my friend and his family , we were 4 people and the room didnt look small even for four of us, though it wasnt typical hotel room more like a converted big reception with high ceiling, but it didn't matter as all the things were in working order and the room was warm enough
as we skipped our breakfast i don't know how was it . the staff at the reception was informative and thats all we needed from him anyways.
the baths had good shower and the beds were comfortable
so if you want a budget accommodation near city center then this is your place far better than hostels at the price of the hostels.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrTrip100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#71 of 150 in Dublin
1,436 reviews
Tara Towers Hotel
#113 of 150 in Dublin
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North City Centre
Charleville Lodge
Charleville Lodge
#109 of 150 in Dublin
683 reviews
Maple Hotel
#134 of 150 in Dublin
534 reviews
Camden Deluxe Hotel
#130 of 150 in Dublin
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to My Place Dublin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about My Place Dublin Hotel

Address: 89-90 Lower Gardiner Street, Dublin Dublin 1, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: £18 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — My Place Dublin Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your My Place Dublin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing