We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean no frills accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
My Place Dublin Hotel
Ranked #124 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Good location, staff friendly and helpful.

The room was compact but nice, had to navigate a maze to get there though.

The downside was breakfast service started 0800, and even though I booked to include breakfast I got nothing as had to catch a ferry early.

They were installing a new fire alarm and kept testing it, which annoyed me, as was very loud and piercing.

Shower was good.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (645)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

213 - 219 of 645 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2013

Hotel is close to the bus station, and with a few nice pubs just around the corner. O´Connel street and Temple Bar is within walking distance - 10 minutes away. The streeet (Lower Gardiner street) is quite busy and if your room is facing the street, you are bound to hear some noise from the traffic. I had a room facing the street and in the basement. The room was spacious and quite ok, but the stairs and the corridor was very humid and smelt stongly of fungus. For a night or two it is OK. Staff was very helpful and the hotel also provided cheap transport to the airport. Did not try the breakfast (continental)

Room Tip: Try to avoid a room facing the main street - and stay away from the rooms in the basement
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Masol1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Low budget,average level.Wifi only in the lobby.
Perfect position in the City Centre. Good for backpackers because there are not so many comforts...
Old furniture but clean bathrooms. Creepy stairs to the the upper floors.
Luggage deposit for free.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlobetTrotterTerrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Booked a double bedroom with nice pictures shown on website (nice pillows), which I thought would do for my partner, but on arrival the room had an unpleasant smell. Insisted on a change of room, and was given a room at the top of the hotel (well hostel really). This was only slightly better, but nothing like the website pictures. Certainly no nice pillows! The shower pressure was poor/weak, so bad that the washbasin taps were not working, even for the cold water. Had to use a kettle to generate hot water for a shave! WiFi was poor even when situated under the connected box. Made an official complaint by letter/email, but the response was poor - best bunch of staff worked with! The room we were reallocated to had had a recent renovation. Well, that makes it is even worse. The curtain didn't fit the window properly. A poor standard conned by the pictures on the website. Still not had a full response from the hotel with my complaint. They clearly ignoring me. A 'Don't bother' place.

Room Tip: Don't bother!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Only positives about this hotel were clean sheets and 15 minutes walk from Grafton street. No lifts steep stairs, brown water from hot taps that didn't clear, filthy shower and awful smell of damp in whole hotel. We had 3 rooms, which were all awful. Thankfully only booked one night. Certainly. Didn't look anything like the photos . Expensive too.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FTCchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

I booked this hotel then read the reviews and was a bit concerned. I was very happy with the room and service. We stayed two nights and found it a very good location for visiting the sights of Dublin. Yes the shower pressure wasn't the greatest but who's complaining when it was so cheap.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shapaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

I don't think it should be called hotel/it's more like hostel. We stayed in two bedroom ensuing room. It was clean, daily changed towels. It is a nice place to stay if you're visiting Dublin. The airport bus stops directly across the hotel and it a short walking distance to O'connell street.
The wifi reception was poor/was going on and off all the time. And it is a bit weird leaving the keys at the reception every time you go out and then just asking for them back, without any proof of id or name..

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank uti10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#70 of 150 in Dublin
1,436 reviews
Tara Towers Hotel
#112 of 150 in Dublin
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North City Centre
Charleville Lodge
Charleville Lodge
#110 of 150 in Dublin
684 reviews
Maple Hotel
#134 of 150 in Dublin
535 reviews
Camden Deluxe Hotel
#130 of 150 in Dublin
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to My Place Dublin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about My Place Dublin Hotel

Address: 89-90 Lower Gardiner Street, Dublin Dublin 1, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #124 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: £18 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — My Place Dublin Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your My Place Dublin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing