We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More of a Hostel than a Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
My Place Dublin Hotel
Ranked #124 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Kampala
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“More of a Hostel than a Hotel”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We booked a Hotel room but felt like we were staying in a Hostel, he room was small with no window, it was very noisy as the walls were thin. Very expensive for what it was and I wouldn't recommend it. On the plus side it was central and the staff were helpful.

Room Tip: I can't recommend a room as ours was dark and noisy. The bathroom was clean and the shower worke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    113
    147
    80
    128
See reviews for
56
147
64
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chaumont, France
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

This hostel is certainly the worst in dublin . The room is absolutely a mess, really dirty , the noise is all the time horrible. The kitchen is dirty, steals is constant both in the rooms and the rest of the hotel.
board, absolutely avoid this hostel

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCharles60000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

My Place is half hostel, half hotel. We stayed in the hotel section but as there was 5 of us we where placed in a converted dorm. The room was huge, perfect for a group of 5 girls! It was very basic, but did the job. Our room was right next to the reception area thus managed to pick up the free wifi, great bonus! Staff were very friendly and always wiling to help. The best thing about the hotel is the location, a 5 minute walk to O'Connell street and 10 minutes to Temple bar. We had a few issues with the shower and hot water but this was rectified quickly and another room was provided to use the bathroom whilst out of use. I would stay at this hotel again and would recommend for groups having a weekend away in Dublin.

Room Tip: Room 203 is very large and picks up the wifi, simple room but great for groups!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

We booked a twin apartment room for 3 nights not really knowing what to expect. The location was great. My Place is opposite a bus stop from the airport and I think was the 5th or 6th stop which was only 6 € one way or 10 return. The return stop was about 3 doors down. It is about a 2 min walk to customs house and 5 from the Spire in one direction and the bus station in the other. The hotel is basic, a mix of hostel and apartment rooms. However it was thriving and the staff were very friendly and the atmosphere was great. They have tea and coffee with a pool table and music with loads of seating etc. For the hostel part a massive kitchen and lounge area. Our room was very well appointed with nice decor and good bathroom facilities. Really good value and made a weekend away really enjoyable. Great stay and would return.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 00Shawn00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed in a three bed, en suite room for two nights. Very clean, very cosy... Slept well.
The communal areas of the hotel/hostel weren't anything special and the staff were very polite... There wasn't really much of an atmosphere.
The location is very central.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank applekoko19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Stayed there for a few nights while visiting the area. Dormitories are nice and clean with comfortable beds. Very friendly staff directed us to the best brew pub in the city, where we enjoyed the best cask bitter ever!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wil_Mackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XX
Level Contributor
145 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I have booked this hotel for a fast week end in Dublin for the rugby match.

The position is excellent just in front of the bus stop from the airport.

The people at the desk are very kind and prepared.

Unfortunately the rooms are very small and the wall too thin for a good sleep in the night.

Too noise from the other room, too young people as guests.

Honestly for the room rates, I think it could be better.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luca2982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
North City Centre
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
#87 of 151 in Dublin
612 reviews
North City Centre
Dublin Central Inn
Dublin Central Inn
#79 of 151 in Dublin
1,116 reviews
Beresford Hotel
#102 of 151 in Dublin
1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tara Towers Hotel
#122 of 151 in Dublin
731 reviews
Temple Bar
Eliza Lodge
Eliza Lodge
#83 of 151 in Dublin
554 reviews
Hotel St. George
#82 of 151 in Dublin
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to My Place Dublin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about My Place Dublin Hotel

Property: My Place Dublin Hotel
Address: 89-90 Lower Gardiner Street, Dublin Dublin 1, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #124 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — My Place Dublin Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your My Place Dublin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing