We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful Neo-Gothic church” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of John's Lane Church

John's Lane Church
Ranked #150 of 498 things to do in Dublin
Attraction details
Ireland
Level Contributor
804 reviews
620 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 655 helpful votes
“Delightful Neo-Gothic church”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

This is a gorgeous church. Built in the French Neo-Gothic style during the latter half of the 19th century, it underwent some renovations in recent years.

I visited on a sunny winter’s morning and the early light through the multitude of stained glass windows, illuminating the whole church, was wonderful.

The ribbed ceiling has an attractive pale green background. The stained glass windows on all sides are marvellous and they were resplendent in the sunlight. Along both sides are Gothic style wooden confessionals. The stations of the cross, comprising paintings in Gothic frames, adorn the walls. There are a number of decorative side altars, beside the very impressive main one.

It is a very tranquil church. Engaging church music was playing at low volume, adding to the atmosphere.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank permia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    10
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fullerton, California
Level Contributor
97 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Beautiful Church”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2012

When ever I am in Dublin I attend mass at John's Lane parish, Fr. K is a friend of mine and such a wonderful priest, I suggest visiting John's Lane and attending mass at least once during your stay in Dublin

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Andre2411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leesburg, IN
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Beautiful!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2012

Attended Mass here twice. Breathtaking beautiful church. I read about this on tripadvisor before I left for Dublin, but actually stumbled across the church by accident. Dublin is somewhat confusing since roads change names about every block. Not in the best part of town, but if you go during the day, it should be okay. We actually stayed in the area so we could walk there in the morning for Mass.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Eleanor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“John's Lane”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

Go and see it for yourselves, its magic, its well worth a visit a lot of history and very old and nice coffee shops close by

Helpful?
3 Thank Claire787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Time out to reflect.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

I love this church because even though it is situated in the epicentre of Dublin city, once I go through the doors, immediately I am surrounded by the quiet and there is a feeling of reverence and awe in this beautiful old church.
It reminds me so much of the cathedral beside me grandparents home in Sligo town and therefore I step back in time and feel close to home when I pray here.

Mass is at 11 and 1pm daily, not sure if there is an earlier mass, am sure there is and not sure of the Sunday listings. Christmas Eve mass is very special here and the Nativity crib is something so peaceful and special.
The sacristy is accessible from the altar for purchasing religious items and mass cards for sale that cover EVERY occasion.
Good for my soul to visit this special church.

Helpful?
5 Thank Ailinbranagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed John's Lane Church also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to John's Lane Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing