We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Save your money”

The National Wax Museum Plus
Book In Advance
More Info
US$13.70*
and up
The National Wax Museum - Admission Ticket
Ranked #101 of 506 things to do in Dublin
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The National Wax Museum Plus is an interactive tourist attraction based on 22-25 Westmoreland Street. It's fun for all the family!
Liverpool
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Save your money”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Abysmal. We bought it as part of a hotel deal and to be honest, I wish we'd gone on the Guinness tour or the Kilmainham gaol visit, both of which are far superior. At best, it's an eclectic mix of museum artefacts about famous Irish scientists - great, but not really relevant in a wax works. At worst, it's a collection of sparsely populated rooms, of peoplewho may have once visited Ireland, hence their inclusion.

Seriously, don't even think about going. Best part of £30 for 2 adults and a child - be warned

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank elizaandrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    282
    300
    187
    117
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Worst wax ever.”
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Extremely disappointed with this exhibit. The only thing that stopped it being a one star was the fact you got a bit of the Irish history thrown it at the same time. Avoid unless its a rainy day.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wozstein88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Much better than I expected”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I've lived in Dublin for a few years and always wanted to go to this museum, just for fun. I finally did and it was really good, much better than I expected. I've never been to any other wax museums (although I want to go!) but, from what I've heard of them, this one is different from the rest as it isn't simply famous people copied but exhibits which move through Irish history - while you may not recognise some of them (particularly if you aren't Irish), I thought it was really smart, making it particular to Ireland. Some of the figures aren't the best while some a fairly good. They're all interesting and fun though! Lots of different sections to the museum (history, science etc) which makes it really good and interesting! Would recommend it, definitely!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Day Trippers”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Good venue for a very wet afternoon. Didn't know what to expect, but was well pleased with the variety of exhibits. Lots of different historical figures and the audio button really helped.

Visited May 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Eleanor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barryton, Michigan
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“It's okay...”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

To be honest it was just okay. A few of the exhibits were spot on but others were a miss. It is not something that I would make a point to return to in the future.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank sldavids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The National Wax Museum Plus also viewed

 

Been to The National Wax Museum Plus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing