We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much fun”

Jameson Distillery Bow St
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
US$20.41*
and up
Jameson Distillery Bow St. Experience
Ranked #22 of 531 things to do in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Welcome, back! Since John Jameson's brave first steps into this building in 1780, we've been focused on his ambition to create unforgettable experiences (along with great whiskey, of course). The new look Jameson Distillery Bow St. carries on this ambition through three fully guided experiences: Bow St. Experience, The Whiskey Makers, and The Whiskey Shakers - all of which have a firm focus on immersive storytelling. You'll be invited to touch, smell, and most importantly, taste Jameson in the original Bow St. Distillery buildings. An exciting part of our Whiskey Makers & Whiskey Shakers experiences is a visit to our live Maturation Warehouse, where you'll get to taste Jameson straight from the barrel. The only way to get closer to the source would be to have John Jameson guide you through the distillery himself.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Cork, Ireland, Europe
Level Contributor
78 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“So much fun”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

The tour of the old distillery was so much fun. Our guide was really nice and explained the process of whiskey making in such a way that it engaged everyone on the tour. The best part comes at the end when there is a taste testing. When they ask for volunteers raise your hands and get in on the sampling. They also give out a complementary sample of Jameson which definitely tipped the scales in their favor. Definitly a must stop while in Dublin!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank spacy87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,012 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,198
    1,860
    642
    197
    115
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
118 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“One of our favourites in Dublin”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

A lot more enjoyable than the Guinness Tour, we found it more personal as there is a tour guide that explains the whiskey distillation process. You will not see the Jamesons' factory in Dublin (it moved to the South of Ireland) but you will definitely enjoy the tour and the whiskey tasting!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CaroAidan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Interesting but small and dark”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

It was interesting to learn about the history and how whiskey was made. There were too many people on the tour and it was very crowded and it was also dark so it was difficult to see anything. It was nice having a glass of whiskey at the end and was interesting seeing the whiskey tasting. The shop was good but would have liked more whiskey themed gifts.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kerry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altoona, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
92 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“I was not a Whiskey drinker...But then I visted here ; )”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Ok... So I was'nt really into visiting here but a few in our group wanted to, so we did. It is on the Green tourist Bus route. the wait was'nt too bad, we were there recently on a summer sunday afternoon. We killed time shopping in the gift store... & then our tour began. It was interesting... & was informative to a Whiskey novice such as a am. At the end of the 30 min tour, we did get to taste about four different brands of whiskey versus Jameson. & I can attest that the Jameson was my favorite. Along w/the tasting, you are offered one Whisky cocktail before your tour is over. I enjoyed the Jameson & Ginger, very delicious.
so if whiskey is your thing... check it out...
If you want to skip all the history of Jameson and the tour & giftshop... just go to an interesting Pub and knock back a few there...
Overall , I'm glad I went...

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
“Well Organised”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Better than the visit to the Guinness Brewery because at least the guided tour tells you how Irish Whiskey is made. This tour is all about whiskey and not all about the marketing of the product which is the slant used by Guinness.
You get to sample and taste Jameson Whiskey. A few select members of our tour party also got the chance of taste comparing Jameson Irish Whiskey with Scottish whisky and American Jack Daniels.
Well worth a visit. There is a good restaurant on the first floor selling everything from snack to a full meal. Prices at the Restaurant were very reasonable and the food was good

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jameson Distillery Bow St also viewed

 

Been to Jameson Distillery Bow St? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing