We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fun when everything is closed....”
Review of The George

The George
Ranked #38 of 286 Nightlife in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The George is not just any bar or any gay bar. It is the first port of call for young gay people in Ireland, it is the venue where gay and straight people mix together and where international visitors stop to check out the gay scene in Ireland. The George has been the lynchpin that holds Dublin's gay scene together. Having been around for 30 years it has been a home to the development of the social evolution of gay Ireland. "A mix of styles with a sprinkling of fairy dust thrown in", The George features two bar areas; the front bar affectionately known as ‘Bridies' after one of the bar's longest serving staff members; with its low lighting and leather clad barstools is the perfect spot for a quiet drink and a chat. The main club venue has been graced by the presence of some of the hottest international acts including Alexandra Burke, Daniel Johnson, The Saturdays and Bananarama. It is also where you can see some of the best weekly performances in the city Space'N'Veda, Davina's House-Party and featuring International Cabaret Artiste Extraordinaire TM and former child-star Shirley Temple Bar at Sunday night Bingo!
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
136 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“fun when everything is closed....”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

If you are straight and you dont care about it, it is nice. but if you are straight and you care if someone of the same gender touches you then is up to you go there.Unfortunately I didnt see the drag queen performance which ive heard it was nice.Staff is friendly althought the security guards pass the hand on my friends but.average prices.big area.big dance floor.considering a monday evening it was crowded and fun when all the rest of the pubs and clubs in dublin were closed! So we had fun....

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emilymweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    50
    16
    4
    21
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Discriminatory Door Policy”
Reviewed 5 May 2013

When in Dublin, I have visited the George on a number of occasions with friends and as the below reviews suggest, it is not the most glamorous location; but for a night out when looking for pop music it can be a lot of fun.
Unfortunately it appears that the security have become much more discriminatory in their door policy, turning away someone in the queue directly ahead of us for no apparent reason, whilst letting a much drunker man stumble on in. The security man's attitude was brash and downright rude, flatly refusing to justify his refusal- despite the fact that this guy was perfectly coherent and his friends appeared to have been let in without a problem. We were left waiting while this man argued very unprofessionally and irrationally (not even letting the guy go in to inform his friends).
This is certainly not the approach I remember from the George and it is sad to see that the standards have slipped so dramatically over the past year. For somewhere that markets itself as a wholly inclusive environment, this smacked of exclusion, and it is a pity that security was able to let down the establishment. Unwilling to further this man's ego trip, we left and took our business elsewhere- and suggest that others do the same.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Soton1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not the best..... but not the worst either.”
Reviewed 29 April 2013

The oldest gay bar in Dublin, weekend nights are pretty pumping in there, Drag show on a Sunday night is a must if you haven't seen it 3/4 times before or in the previous year. The bar staff are fast.... I mean extremely fast and usually very good which is what you need. Venue is badly needing an overhaul looks wise. Door staff are usually pretty good also, I've heard the horror stories, but have frequented there dozens of times with no bad reports to give.
It definitely caters for the younger, male crowd on Friday and Saturday. Sunday night is a very mixed, laid back crowd.
If your a visitor, well worth a look, if your a local, you probably already have your own opinions.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MairtinOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The Experience is Up to You!”
Reviewed 9 March 2013

The George was our first Dublin bar. We walked in to their small pub area around 5pm and had a few drinks. The bar staff and patrons were friendly and helpful. Everyone was willing to offer advice on places to go and things to do and everyone had that wonderful Irish charm (and gift of gab).

At night it opens into a larger club area which was also a lot of fun. But at the end of the day, it is all what you make it. We went very open minded and open to talk and bee social. We met some really nice guys and staff while there. We talked, danced and overall, had a great time.

There is security at the entrance so there is a level of safety both outside and inside the bar and club.

On the weekends the entrance between the bar and club gets shut. Unfortunately i found myself in the club while my partner was trapped in the bar. Luckily all was worked out and we had a blast at a great venue.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT!”
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Had a great time here on our recent visit and just wanted to say a big thanks!

Meet a great chap from Dublin who showed us around and now we have made a new friend for life,

Great!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank JBrown87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The George also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to The George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing