We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special”
Review of Carr & O'Connell

Carr & O'Connell
Ranked #1,071 of 2,559 Restaurants in Dublin
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Pub, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We had dinner there on August 14, 2013.
We ordered fish & chips, beer, and water for two people (31 EUR).
Food was nothing special, and air conditioning was really too cold.

All in all it is a convenient place for the occasional meal (centrally located, and not excessively expensive), but has nothing special that would make you choose to go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank akhal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    26
    9
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Level Contributor
92 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“O'Connell By Name, O'Connell By Nature”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Being an O'Connell myself this was a must visit on my trip, my wife and I were warmly welcomed, even more enjoyable was the Dublin v Kerry game on so the atmosphere was great, we went a walk around and returned for some food, we sat downstairs this time and both ordered steak which was bootiful, my wife is a fussy steak eater due to us both being cooks and she loved every bite even the home made garlic butter was brilliant, the staff was amazing on both services and we even tipped € 5. It was the cheapest pint we had within the area we visited and on our travels we will certainly be returning.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly service and great food”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Found this great pub on our last day in Dublin. Pius, our server,
was just wonderful!
The food was great and reasonably priced. Highly recommend Carr & O'Connell
for anyone visiting Dublin!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 788virginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“great place for drinks and party”
Reviewed 3 July 2013

I had a birthday party there.., the location was brilliant and layout of the bar.. we were downstairs from the outside you dont expect how big and lovely it is.. the finger food was devine loads of it and really hot.
My friends loved the place.. think you might get a few more bookings in the future.

i would like to thank the staff so much all so nice and go out of their way for you.

I had a billiant night and the venue made it. music food and band and staff :)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nicolap1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“€2.40 for a 125 ml soda water is not just dishonest, it's theft!!”
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Just popped into this place after a long day of sightseeing. The Irish lamb stew was okay, but nothing amazing. It was the price of the soda water I had that absolutely shocked me though.

€2.40 for a 125 ml soda water is unjustifiable. To put it in perspective, that is about $3.15 US for 4.25 ounces, which would make a 12 oz can of soda about $8.50!! Total banditry.

Everyone knows restaurants make money on sodas etc., but his is crazy! Not to mention- 125 ml is hardly enough for a person to have as a drink with a meal. Truly a joke.

I questioned the waitress about the price as I thought it was a mistake, but she assured me it wasn't. Dublin is expensive, but I would avoid this place on principle.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Carr & O'Connell also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Carr & O'Connell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing