We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent soup”
Review of Carr & O'Connell

Carr & O'Connell
Ranked #1,170 of 2,617 Restaurants in Dublin
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Campbellford, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Excellent soup”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This pub is just down the street from my hotel so I paid a few visits here on my last few trips to Dublin. I always get the vegetable soup with brown bread - just outstanding. They don't make vegetable soup like that around here. I like to sit at one of the tables on the sidewalk with my meal & my pint - just be aware that because you are in the heart of downtown (right by the O'Connell Bridge crosswalk) there is a lot of foot traffic. Once while I was eating I was approached by a woman with a baby asking for money. She was pretty persistent. But that's only happened the one time and certainly is not the fault of the pub - it won't keep me from going back. Looking forward to my next trip in October!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MissTara73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    26
    9
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Dissapointing”
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Chose this place to have dinner cause it looked alright and it wasn't as pricey as most of places around. Although now I think we should have added a few euros to have nicer dinner. The food was very average, definitely not worth the price. All in all this place has too many minuses to come back again.

Helpful?
Thank kristinap795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great staff and great food!”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Needed take-out first night in Dublin - husband needed to stay in bed with legs up. Staff was great-- food was great. We went back last night in Dublin for dinner! Would definitely recommend!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LKS1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naantali, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
1,193 reviews
492 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 411 helpful votes
“Nice place for a pint or two”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Most of tourists spend their time on south side of Liffey, so this place isn't so popular than those (more expensive ones) in Temple Bar. Few tables outside, but right next to busy road, so not that comfy. Traditional interior when you walk in, but especially their downstairs was nice. Service was real friendly and clientele nice mix of locals and tourists all over the world. Good place to watch football too :)

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Halkidis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilburn, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A True Iris Pub”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

O'Connells is just on the north side of the Liffe river...on the south side is where you will find the Temple Bar area. The Temple Bar area can have the atmosphere of Bourbon Street in New Orleans...it gets crazy and wild, and it is noisy and filled with tourist. Of course I went to a few pubs in the Temple Bar area, but that gets old and I was so glad to find OConnells just on the other side of the river, but a world apart. The atmosphere is great, the food was very nice, and of course they have a great selection of beers. There is an upstairs and a downstairs and while it was busy, and TVs were broadcast sporting events, I could still have conversations with my colleagues. I enjoyed it so much that I went there for dinner 2x in the 5 nights I was there. Try the Beef Pie...and sorry, but I prefer Smithwicks to Guinness any day. The staff and owner are both wonderful and accommodating, and it would be a shame if you did not stop here to sample some local food.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Carr & O'Connell also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Carr & O'Connell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing