We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning room, good food - based on dinner for 1”
Review of The Dawson

The Dawson
Ranked #1,187 of 2,592 Restaurants in Dublin
Cuisines: French, Irish, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Dawson Brasserie is Dublin's most beautiful dining room, situated in the heart of Dublin City Centre beside the famous Grafton St, sandwiched between Dublin's cultural hub and Stephen's green park. Paying homage to the great Brasserie's of London, Paris and New York, The Dawson Brasserie delivers value and style. We are the perfect location for a casual or formal dining experience, event, wedding, business/ corporate entertaining or a big group celebration. We can accommodate groups from 10 to 150 in our dining room. We are within walking distance of all Dublin's Events and Conference facilities and directly across from The Mansion House. We have our newly refurbished patisserie and coffee shop which caters for up to 25 people, for Breakfast and lunch dining, with bar service in the evening. Brasserie staples are served with great theatre and washed down with the best of old and new wines. We can accommodate unique requests, and insist on going over and above to ensure an experience every time. We are also apart of The Dawson Group consisting of The Dawson Hotel and Spa Patisserie- 25 people seated Dining room- 150 seated Dining Room can accommodate non seated functions for between 200-250 people Private Dining 35-40 people seated
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
694 reviews
455 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
“Stunning room, good food - based on dinner for 1”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Sometimes it's just hard to rate based only on dinner for 1. It was so close to Excellent, but not quite there, and here's why:

- dressing on the vert salad not quite enough and not especially special. Although.....what a huge size starter green salad, loved the green beans in it. If you're having it - just ask for more dressing on the side!
- I am just not a fries (chips) fan with a nice steak - I know that's common here, but I think you can do something a bit more interesting; yes the chips were good, but not fabulous - maybe they could have put the truffle oil on them instead of in the honey that came with the cheese
- the steak, a rib-eye - as is relatively common here and in Europe, the steak is not nearly as thick as in the US - that's fine. But 1/2 of it was cooked perfectly - just amazing - melt in your mouth, lovely medium rare. The other 1/2 was cooked medium and slightly dry (to me). Such a disappointment after that first piece. Now that I think about it, I probably should have sent it back, or given them a comment at the time, but I'd already gobbled down that first fabulous half!
- cheese plate - I love my cheese plates. Thought it sounded interesting with truffle oil in the honey, but it was just way too overpowering for the cheese - even a tiny tiny bit on the bleu cheese was too much for that. One of the crackers (the thin slice with seeds) seemed somewhat stale and was too think to have with any cheese on it. Cheeses were good, though. Would have been nice to have a jam or chutney, or just plain honey.
By the way, love the pre concert/theater menu - it so often seems to be a better value and lets me, as a single diner, feel like I can try a few more things because of the price break. Service was absolutely excellent. I would go back again next trip; bet it's great for groups!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank a-travelin-foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siofra M, Manager at The Dawson, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Hi Foodie

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of The Dawson Brasserie. We're delighted you enjoyed your dining experience. Noted your suggestions, always more than happy to accommodate any specific requirements for each and every one of our diners. you certainly must join us on your next visit!

We look forward to welcoming you again, soon,

Kind Regards
Siofra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    22
    8
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Florissant, Missouri, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dawson does not disappoint”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Dublin rocks, and the French inspired Dawson Brasserie is a major contributor. Belle Époque decor and a replica of Winged Victory sets the stage, but the real jewels of this restaurant are the food and the service. Roberto was quite accurate In his recommendations, but we got the feeling that the menu was a "can't miss" regardless of the order. The wine list though "short" had great choices, you will not have a problem finding the perfect compliment to what will be the perfect meal. Thanks Roberto and the Chef......you made our night!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Samuel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siofra M, Manager at The Dawson, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Hi Samuel,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review of The Dawson Brasserie. We couldn't agree more about the dining room, it really is a major contributor! Our food and service are simply the best and we're delighted they made your night!

We look forward to seeing you again at The Dawson Brasserie.

Kind Regards
Siofra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal & Service”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Really enjoyed my recent visit to the Dawson, beautiful spacious room. The menu offered a great selection and although we didnt opt for the Set Menu it offered great value and variety.
We were served by Davide who was most knowledgeable about the menu offerings and provided excellent service to us during our visit.
Food was top class, I opted for the duck which was cooked to perfection! Dont know where to start on the chocolate parfait -AMAZING!

Will be back for a return visit very soon!
Jacqui

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank JacquiM21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siofra M, Manager at The Dawson, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Hi Jacqui

Thanks for talking the time to write a review of The Dawson Brasserie.

We're delighted you enjoyed your meal and couldn't agree more regarding the Chocolate Parfait, Great Choice!!!!

We look forward to seeing you again soon,
Siofra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“An excellent meal”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Great food and amazing value. We had the pre theatre menu and it offered enough choice, the food was beautifully presented and tasted as good as it looked. The decor is art deco and impressive. It was very quiet though which is a pity, no one seems to know about it

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank noelrosek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siofra M, Manager at The Dawson, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Hi Noelrosek,

We're delighted to hear you had a great time and were impressed with the food and the decor. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards
Siofra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal in Dawson Brasserie”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We went to the Dawson Brasserie for our anniversary and was hugely impressed. The food was so tasty, my Girlfriends starter of crab and avocado was one of the nicest things she ever ate and I had probably the best steak I have ever had. All the courses were perfect. The staff were really helpful and friendly and the dining room was the nicest in Dublin. They also kindly recognised the occasion with writing on our plates and a free cocktail when they overheard it was our anniversary. I'm really looking forward to going back!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SeanMcG039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siofra M, Manager at The Dawson, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Hi SeanMcG039,

We're delighted you choose to celebrate your anniversary with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards
Siofra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Dawson also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to The Dawson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing