We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value”
Review of Downstairs Restaurant and Bar - CLOSED

Downstairs Restaurant and Bar
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great Value”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We ate here recently - two courses for two people, plus a bottle of wine for €59. The service was excellent, the food was really lovely and the ambiance was really relaxed. Really good value for money - I would definitely recommend and will return.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank morck_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    24
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Courgettes are something else ...”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Amazing place, great hospitality and knowledgeable service, innovative food, fresh and tasty. Courgettes are something else and the best Brandy Alexander in town, please keep it up!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Oliver v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great service, good food, poor value”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

What gave this place a bad review was the poor value. We went here as part of an online deal from menupages.ie and it turned out to be not much of a deal compared to walk in prices, where it was possible to get effectively the same thing as a walk-in. As the food goes, it was delicious but very small servings and the taste did not do enough to compensate for the price. What slightly saved this review was the excellent staff and service, along with a pleasant decor and atmosphere.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oisin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
75 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“bar food”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We recently called into the bar in this venue and decided to have some food. The menu was varied and offered lots of choice for a bar venue. One of us availed of the €10 special - a beautiful dish of Italian Sausage and mash - it was delicious and great value at only €10.00. We will definitely return. The ambience was good and the staff were really helpful and friendly.
It was a tiny bit too dark for our taste but this is a very minor point - we will be back

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marypartridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tirol, Austria
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A very pleasant lunch”
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

We had a family meal here recently (party of 9). It was a Saturday afternoon but the restaurant was very quiet. There were two members of staff on the floor but only one of them served us. He wasn't overly friendly but he did his job well enough. The menu was limited but the food was delicious. I really liked the interior design - very bright and trendy looking. I would recommend if you are in the area.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank SulliBanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Downstairs Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing