We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent !! Great location and very quiet location.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel
Ranked #60 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Celbridge, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent !! Great location and very quiet location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Very happy with my stay !! Would recommend for the standard and location. Staff were extremely helpful and professional in their dealings. Very cheerful. I definity will stay again when visiting Dublin.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mjebrowne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken L, Manager at O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us.
I am so pleased that you felt you were well taken care of throughout your time with us
Please be assured that I will be sharing your words of appreciation with the team

I look forward to welcoming you back very soon for another memorable stay.

Kind Regards

Ken Leahy
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    423
    478
    172
    76
    33
See reviews for
143
454
45
240
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

Excellent location and facilities. If you have a meeting and do not want to run across a very busy city, then I highly recommend this hotel. the rooms were quiet and the staff were very helpful.

My only advice would be to check the parking, as the hotel does supply but it can be difficult if your new to Dublin to find it. however this should not be a downside of your stay as it is now our company preferred choice of stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank QuellTraining
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken L, Manager at O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete your review regarding your recent stay the O’Callaghan Alexander Hotel.
I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and I will be sure to pass on your words of appreciation to our team.Your constructive feedback allows us the opportunity to review and improve upon the hotels facilities and services and I have shared your comments our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travel plans see you return to Dublin.


Warm Regards

Ken Leahy
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laytown
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Stayed here for one night. Conveniently located hotel in Dublin City Centre. Pleasant and efficient staff. Clean spacious room with a real Queen size bed. Quiet also especially in the morning which is important to me. Perfect for what i required.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken L, Manager at O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete your review regarding your recent stay the O’Callaghan Alexander Hotel.
I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and I will be sure to pass on your words of appreciation to our team.Your constructive feedback allows us the opportunity to review and improve upon the hotels facilities and services and I have shared your comments our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travel plans see you return to Dublin.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Good location behind Trinity College and Near Merrion Square, St Stephens Green and Grafton Street. Comfy hotel, bathroom clean and beds good. However the room lacked a bit of personality and was a bit dated. However assuming you are not spending all your time in the hotel, a good base.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlotte_e_nolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken L, Manager at O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at the O’Callaghan Alexander Hotel .

I can assure you that we continue to strive for perfection in everything we do and training of our teams is very much part of this You will be happy to hear we are planning a full refurbishment later this year.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future for another enjoyable stay with us.

Warm regards,

Ken Leahy
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbles, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

What a nice Hotel great welcome and comfy rooms reasonable price for a 4* Hotel and in a good location…Breakfast a bit expensive but thats Dublin for you :)

We all had a great time in Dublin highlights for me was the Guinness Store House (A Must) and going to the Aviva stadium to watch Wales lose to Ireland :(

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hef82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken L, Manager at O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete your review regarding your recent stay the O’Callaghan Alexander Hotel.
I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and I will be sure to pass on your words of appreciation to our team.Your constructive feedback allows us the opportunity to review and improve upon the hotels facilities and services and I have shared your comments our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travel plans see you return to Dublin

Warm Regards

Ken Leahy
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

The best part of this hotel was definitely it's location! Within walking distance go Grafton street! The room was fine standard enough and maybe a little drab! The hotel is very corporate focused and lacks little touches. Saying that the staff were friendly and they have good rates on booking.com secret deals.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lemon1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken L, Manager at O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Thank you sincerely for taking a moment of your time to share some observations of the hotel and your experience here. I take your compliments of the team with pride but equally am disappointed to hear of the interactions you had that failed to meet expectation

We have planned a full refuirbishment for later this & I do hope that we'll have the opportunity to welcome you back to Dublin

Kind Regards

Ken Leahy
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donegal
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

Staying here for the night of the Ireland V Wales Rugby match. Really liked the hotel - very central, staff very professional and friendly, got to check in early, at 12:00 noon. The most comfortable bed I've ever slept in.

Downside was a lack of atmosphere - nobody in the place that night when I thought there would be a few people milling about. But maybe that was a positive...

Bar food was good - good portions and reasonably priced.

It's probably more geared towards business travelers, but overall I think it's a fine hotel to stay in and would be happy to recommend it.

Room Tip: Think they're all pretty similar - stayed in 6426, facing the rear and it was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 0lordy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken L, Manager at O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback following your recent stay with us in O’Callaghan Alexander Hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your room and our food and beverage offerings.
Thank you for your comments; I will share them with the team.
We look forward to welcoming you a back to O’Callaghan Alexander Hotel Dublin in the near future.

Kind Reagrds

Ken Leahy
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel
0.1 mi away
O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel
0.7 mi away
O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Trinity City Hotel
Trinity City Hotel
#51 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,219 reviews
0.3 mi away
Buswells Hotel
Buswells Hotel
#23 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
0.6 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#11 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel

Property: O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel
Address: 41/47 Fenian Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#38 Family Hotel in Dublin
#51 Business Hotel in Dublin
#56 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dublin City centre O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel was the third hotel in the O'Callaghan Hotels group on the corner of Merrion Square. This luxury 4 star hotel in Dublin welcomes you into its spacious lobby where you will be greeted with a warm welcome. Located off one of the corners of Merrion Square, O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel is close to the Georgian Squares where business and culture are intertwined and is only a few minutes walk from Trinity College and shopping street, Grafton Street. Our 4 star hotel offers luxury facilities, contemporary design and personalised service in these quiet surroundings in one of the most beautiful areas of city centre Dublin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, Ebookers and Superbreak UK so you can book your O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel Dublin
Dublin Hotel Alexander

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing