We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful little place!”

The Little Museum of Dublin
Book In Advance
More Info
US$22.57*
and up
Dublin Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour
More Info
US$57.01*
and up
Dublin Pass with Hop-On Hop-Off Tour and Entry to Over 30 Attractions
Ranked #4 of 531 things to do in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Little Museum of Dublin is open 7 days a week from 9.30 to 5pm and on Thursdays we stay open until 8pm. Entrance to this quirky museum is by guided tour only. Our famous tours start on the hour, every hour. Housed in a landmark Georgian building on St Stephen's Green in the very centre of Dublin, the museum is open every day. If you want to discover the story of Dublin, visit the Little Museum today.
Billings, Montana
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful little place!”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

I was there this weekend and was let in free due to it closing! It has great things to offer. My favorite was a poster from that Irish film John Wayne starred in!! Can remember the name.

Helpful?
Thank Cassie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca Q, Guest Relations Manager at The Little Museum of Dublin, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit, but sorry that you didn't have much time! We have free admission every Wednesday 12-5pm and every Thursday 6-8pm. You are always welcome back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,415 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,985
    1,065
    271
    71
    23
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Just average”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We went to the little museum of Dublin because we got a free ticket with our bus ticket and I have to admit it wasn't that great. Although we did get it for free so can't really complain!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank jordan_b92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark O, Assistant Curator at The Little Museum of Dublin, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Hi Jordan,

Thanks for taking the time to review the Little Museum. I'm sorry to hear that you weren't impressed. We are always striving to improve the experience, so I would be very keen to hear any suggestions you might have for how to make the museum better. If you ever come back to Dublin, you are welcome to join us as our guest and I will personally give you a private tour of the collection, perhaps we can change your mind!

Kind regards,

Mark O'Neill
Assistant Curator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Amazing little museum”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

I was very impressed by the little museum of Dublin. Not only was it exceptionally well maintained but the sheer joy of the volunteers who work there was amazing.

Helpful?
Thank Pierre D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rebecca Q, Guest Relations Manager at The Little Museum of Dublin, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Excellent reviews like yours are the reason we volunteers enjoy our work! Thank you for visiting us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ireland
1 review
“Great little museum”
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Spent a lovely hour in this museum. Lots of great memories of Dublin old and new. Make sure you get a tour guide they are there on the hour every hour our tour guide was very knowledgeable and very funny. The kids loved the Mrs. Brown's Exhibition. Definitely worth a visit - book online for cheapest tickets

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank loveholidaysIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca Q, Guest Relations Manager at The Little Museum of Dublin, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
We're excited to hear that the kids loved our Mrs. Brown's exhibition! It's wonderful when our collection brings back personal memories for our Dublin visitors. Come back to see us again when we put up new exhibitions!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun tour; fantastic experience”
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

I went with friends to a tour led by Adam. It was utterly fantastic - he was very enthusiastic and got everyone engrossed and excited in the history of Dublin from the mid 1800s - present. He was knowledgable about the many pieces, most of which are posters, photographs, letters, books, and small trinkets from dublins history. They also have a cool U2 room chronicling the band's history. The staff overall were very attentive and friendly - they seemed to love their work and that can make all the difference. A true hidden gem not to be missed.

Helpful?
Thank Brennan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca Q, Guest Relations Manager at The Little Museum of Dublin, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Good reviews like yours make our job a pleasure to do! We're happy to hear that you found Adam's tour engaging - history should never be boring! We owe a lot of our success to the dedication of our volunteers. We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Little Museum of Dublin also viewed

 

Been to The Little Museum of Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing