We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home Away From Home!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Applewood B&B

Applewood B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dublin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Applewood B&B
Ranked #52 of 161 Dublin B&B and Inns
Crete, Greece
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home Away From Home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

Ann was an absolute DELIGHT! In the morning, she'll cook anything from a WONDERFUL traditional Irish Breakfast to your choice of what a guest will choose on the menu. The rooms are very well decorated, cozy, comfortable and inviting! They also have a great on-suite bathroom with a nice HOT shower! Ann was like staying with a grandmother because she made us feel right at home during our 4 night stay. She is very knowledgeable about Dublin's attractions and its surrounding areas. The location of the B&B is a short bus ride to Dublin's City Center along with the bus stop being 50m to the left as you exit the door. Anyone that is traveling to Dublin will not be disappointed with this establishment should they make this there stay!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carli A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    11
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
10
19
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lourdes, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Applewood B&B is ideally situated : close to the center but not too close and a 15 minutes’ drive away from the airport. Whether you are just in transit or staying a longer in Dublin, it is perfect. But what makes it really worth the visit is Annie (?) who will immediately make you welcome and comfortable. She was particularly kind and helpful and assisted us in solving a minor incident.
Her typical redbrick Victorian house was an appreciated change after all the nice but new and a little impersonal B&B’s we had stayed at before. All the more so as the level of comfort was excellent and the food very varied and good. And all that for a very moderate price. We recommend Applewood B&B and will definitely come back and enjoy a few days in Dublin with Annie.

Room Tip: Room nb 5 overlooks the back garden and is therefore very quiet. It's a huge family room, but we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daddycake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayling Island
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

Stayed here 22/23rd Sep 2011. A lovely warm welcome, lovely room and good breakfast. Good night's sleep and great facilities. Great to have off-road parking although you don't really need a car as it's a short bus ride into the heart of Dublin and easy access to the airport by bus too. We'll definitely go back...

Room Tip: Had two different rooms and both excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wendymouse1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
116 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

We stayed one night at this B&B. About 4km from the centre of town so access is by car or bus. On site parking is handy as it is on a busy road. A short walk to a number of dining options. Our room was comfortable although small with a tiny shower. Breakfast OK. Tariff very reasonable for Dublin. Fine for a night or two but I wouldn't recommend if you want to spend time in your room during the day.

Room Tip: Ask for the largest room they have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NZGrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.4 mi away
Annandale Bed & Breakfast
0.8 mi away
Abberley House B&B
Abberley House B&B
#42 of 161 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ashling House
Ashling House
#126 of 161 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
ABC House
ABC House
#28 of 161 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
0.7 mi away
Acara House B&B
Acara House B&B
#45 of 161 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cashel Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Applewood B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Applewood B&B

Property: Applewood B&B
Address: 144 Upper Drumcondra Rd, Dublin 9, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 161 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing