We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't stay anywhere else”
Review of Applewood B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dublin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Applewood B&B
Ranked #44 of 149 Dublin B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 May 2013

I've stayed in 4 other B&B's on the road and I honestly wouldn't stay anywhere else apart from Applewood now. Not only is it warm and welcoming but quite often I have to stay on a weekly basis and it really is a home away from home. It's clean and homely and Ann is always there to make you feel so welcome and looked after.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerryl34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
There are newer reviews for Applewood B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2013

I first stayed at the Applewood B&B back in 2000, and while it has changed owners it still has all the charm and comfort I remember. We stayed here in April before a tour- and Anne was a wonderful hostess. I wish we had waited to pre-purchase tickets to the bus as we could have saved with her. She took time to orient us well to the house, neighborhood and town. We took some of her food recommendations and were very happy with the local taverns. She also catered to my gluten free diet and we enjoyed having use of the sitting room and patio. The house is older so the rooms and bathrooms are small, but we wanted the comfort of being in a local neighborhood close to transportation and this met all our wishes. When we return to Dublin we'll surely be staying at the Applewood!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wyoming_traveler_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Stayed at Applewood House for some six weeks and it was a great experience. Very comfortable,clean,house and wonderful breakfasts choice of menu. Anne is a hostess with the mostess she takes a personal interest in her guests to ensure they have all the information locally and in the city, bus routes,attractions-both times and reservations she can make. Her breakfasts are superb in fact she "insists" that you have more of everything a lovely lady who will forever be a friend. Thi is a fantastic place to stay near the city and convenient to Airport, stadiums, and all of Dublin,s main attractions. Do,nt miss it !!!!!! Bill, Bunratty, Co Clare

Room Tip: Rooms at rear are quiete
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 53Bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

We couldn't have been more pleased with the welcome and accommodation we got this weekend at the Applewood. Drumcondra is a great spot just out of town, buses every 2/3 minutes just outside the the B&B into the centre, great pubs (The Ivy House and Fagins) in a short stroll from the front door and if you want to Tolka Park on your doorstep.

The place itself is clean, high quality and the three bedded family room is er big. There's free wifi and cable TV, the traditional Irish breakfast is good value and an optional add-on, five of us stopped there and the price was excellent value.

Finally the places best feature is your genial host Ann, a lovely friendly woman who made us feel right at home.

I dont often write reviews but felt compelled to on this occasion. Won't look anywhere else for future trips home. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank skaman64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Ann was an absolute DELIGHT! In the morning, she'll cook anything from a WONDERFUL traditional Irish Breakfast to your choice of what a guest will choose on the menu. The rooms are very well decorated, cozy, comfortable and inviting! They also have a great on-suite bathroom with a nice HOT shower! Ann was like staying with a grandmother because she made us feel right at home during our 4 night stay. She is very knowledgeable about Dublin's attractions and its surrounding areas. The location of the B&B is a short bus ride to Dublin's City Center along with the bus stop being 50m to the left as you exit the door. Anyone that is traveling to Dublin will not be disappointed with this establishment should they make this there stay!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carli A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Applewood B&B is ideally situated : close to the center but not too close and a 15 minutes’ drive away from the airport. Whether you are just in transit or staying a longer in Dublin, it is perfect. But what makes it really worth the visit is Annie (?) who will immediately make you welcome and comfortable. She was particularly kind and helpful and assisted us in solving a minor incident.
Her typical redbrick Victorian house was an appreciated change after all the nice but new and a little impersonal B&B’s we had stayed at before. All the more so as the level of comfort was excellent and the food very varied and good. And all that for a very moderate price. We recommend Applewood B&B and will definitely come back and enjoy a few days in Dublin with Annie.

Room Tip: Room nb 5 overlooks the back garden and is therefore very quiet. It's a huge family room, but we...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daddycake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Stayed here 22/23rd Sep 2011. A lovely warm welcome, lovely room and good breakfast. Good night's sleep and great facilities. Great to have off-road parking although you don't really need a car as it's a short bus ride into the heart of Dublin and easy access to the airport by bus too. We'll definitely go back...

Room Tip: Had two different rooms and both excellent.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendymouse1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.0 mi away
ABC House
ABC House
#30 of 149 in Dublin
490 reviews
0.4 mi away
Auburn Bed & Breakfast
Auburn Bed & Breakfast
#51 of 149 in Dublin
25 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Abberley House B&B
Abberley House B&B
#45 of 149 in Dublin
84 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ashling House
Ashling House
#117 of 149 in Dublin
192 reviews
1.0 mi away
Almanii Bed & Breakfast
Almanii Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 149 in Dublin
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Applewood B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Applewood B&B

Address: 144 Upper Drumcondra Rd, Dublin 9, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing