We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B & B.”
Review of Applewood B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dublin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Applewood B&B
Ranked #45 of 149 Dublin B&B and Inns
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
118 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent B & B.”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Got a last minute cancellation at this little gem of a B & B for Friday night last. I was taking my 10 yr old to a concert in Croke Park and didnt want to have to drive home again afterwards. This location was ideal, a short walk away from the venue with loads of restaurants, bars and fast food outlets closeby. Heating was on in the bedroom when we got back which was most welcome. Breakfast was superb, cooked to order and Ann was very helpful with info on buses etc She very kindly let us leave our car until 1 o clock the following day so we could take the bus into town and avoid the parking nightmare. Thanks for your hospitality.

Room Tip: Our room was at the back of the house on the 2nd floor and we had no problems sleeping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    13
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
11
22
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 December 2013

As first time visitor to Dublin I was very impressed with the warm,friendly and helpful response from my host Ann. She has a great knowledge of the city and goes out of her way to ensure your trip is unforgettable. Location is great! Easy bus ride to anywhere in city. Great local pubs and food vendors within walking. distancen

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Found Applewood Online by checking B and B in Drumcondra in Dublin as I wanted to be in Swords in Dublin the following morning which is only about a 10 minute drive. Glad I chose Applewood as it is only a short drive from Dublin City Centre and Ann the owner was very welcoming and helpful. Had a tasty Full Irish for Breakfast and it kept me going all day. A wide selection of Bars, Restaurants, and convenience Stores within a short walk. Airport is also nearby and a number of Bus Routes pass right by the front door with a regular service. Bedroom was comfortable a spacious. Paid €40 for a single room and found this reasonable considering the convenience of it's location. Next time I stay in Dublin it would be top of my list.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kieran O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 November 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at this wonderful B&B. As first time visitors to Dublin we followed the reviews and this place kept popping up, so we booked for a 3 night stay. We were not disappointed either. On arrival Ann our host made us feel totally at ease straight away, she was very helpful, and as we were celebrating our Silver Wedding Anniversary, she even booked us a place to visit for our special night.

The Applewood is ideally situated with a good selection of pubs/restaurants/shops in the immediate area. Plenty of buses to Dublin City centre about 5-10mins away, and 15 or so minutes from the airport. Our room was clean and comfortable and a good size. Good selection to choose from for breakfast too.

We will definitely stay here again when we visit Dublin . Ann is a lovely lady who cares about what she does, her B&B is like a 'Home away from Home' well worth a stay, excellent value for money.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Found a great B and B in a perfect location...easy trip from airport and lots of buses to downtown Dublin, about 5 min ride. Can walk to a good selection of pubs and restaurants, nice little neighborhood where I felt completely safe.
Room on main floor was tiny, and a bit noisy as other clients came and went. Would have preferred a room on the second floor to avoid that.
Proprietress was welcoming and helpful, with lots of info to help me decide how to plan my short stay in Dublin. Good breakfast, cooked to order, coffee was fresh and plentiful.

Room Tip: Ask for room upstairs, probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank halisue61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We booked 2 rooms for a 3 night stay in August.
Ann was a very informative host who gave us lots of tips about Dublin and the local Drumcondra area.
Our rooms were clean, comfortable and a good size. The bathroom was also a good size in each of our rooms.
Breakfast had a good selection to choose from and we had a nice sunny view to the backyard from the breakfast room.
The bus to the city is just outside the front door but we chose to drive and park in the city.
Drumcondra shops are a few minutes from Applewood with plenty of convenience stores, pubs & restaurants.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back or side have less road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Ann runs an excellent B&B. I felt very comfortable. The rooms are clean, well appointed and very comfortable. The home is as stated by others is on the Dublin city/Dublin airport route. the train station also is not far away. Two or three blocks away is the tesco supermarket, coffee shops, chemist, spars, pubs etc. it is an excellent location.

Room Tip: There is of course no swimming pool or fitness centre. I can't take the highlight off!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nenaghtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
Ashling House
Ashling House
#117 of 149 in Dublin
189 reviews
0.0 mi away
ABC House
ABC House
#25 of 149 in Dublin
484 reviews
0.4 mi away
Auburn Bed & Breakfast
Auburn Bed & Breakfast
#58 of 149 in Dublin
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Flyover Bed and Breakfast
Flyover Bed and Breakfast
#16 of 149 in Dublin
189 reviews
0.9 mi away
Botanic View B & B
Botanic View B & B
#2 of 149 in Dublin
747 reviews
0.8 mi away
Abberley House B&B
Abberley House B&B
#44 of 149 in Dublin
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Applewood B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Applewood B&B

Property: Applewood B&B
Address: 144 Upper Drumcondra Rd, Dublin 9, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing