We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, free and interesting”

Science Gallery Dublin
Ranked #114 of 540 things to do in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: In 2008, a car park in a forgotten corner of Dublin was transformed into a living experiment that would bridge art and science, unleashing their combined creative potential. A groundbreaking initiative pioneered by Trinity College Dublin, Science Gallery is a new kind of space where art and science collide – a porous membrane between the university and the city. Since opening in 2008, over 1 million visitors to Science Gallery have experienced 26 unique exhibitions – ranging from living art experiments to materials science and from the future of the human race to the future of play.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Small, free and interesting”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We went to see this after reading The reviews on here. It was small but I found it very interesting. It also got us out of the rain and into the warm.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Aledfantastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    52
    23
    13
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Free but bad”
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

Very boring exhibitions there. One point the nice building and one for the coffee bar. No visit worth - sorry. Maybe I just visited in. Moment of bad exhibitions...you should check out the program before you go there.

Helpful?
Thank Karsten L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlow, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Definately not failing to impress”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Cool, fun and accessible are words I'd use to describe Science Gallery. It makes learning and interacting with science fun. A bit smaller than I'd expected and not much for those who love to read more about it but a good taste of science for those non-scientists among us!
Great stock in the shop including lots of cool art books and a smart cafe.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank E D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Should be on everyone's to do list”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

This is one of my favourite places to visit on the weekend. The exhibitions are always so different and thought provoking. We usually end up going to see the same one two or three times.
The current exhibition about failure is particularly good.
You can tell the staff are all really happy to be there, and enthusiastic about telling you all about the different pieces.
All in all a must-see for all locals and tourists alike.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank katie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great for kids and it is FREE”
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

Not many activities are free these days but the Science Gallery in Dublin is.

Learning through exploring and doing experiments.

My 9yo loved it.

Helpful?
1 Thank YoYoGabba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Science Gallery Dublin also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Science Gallery Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing