We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Makeshop by science gallery”

Science Gallery Dublin
Ranked #113 of 532 things to do in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: In 2008, a car park in a forgotten corner of Dublin was transformed into a living experiment that would bridge art and science, unleashing their combined creative potential. A groundbreaking initiative pioneered by Trinity College Dublin, Science Gallery is a new kind of space where art and science collide – a porous membrane between the university and the city. Since opening in 2008, over 1 million visitors to Science Gallery have experienced 26 unique exhibitions – ranging from living art experiments to materials science and from the future of the human race to the future of play.
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Makeshop by science gallery”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This is part of the science gallery but located at the other side of Trinity College.
https://dublin.sciencegallery.com/makeshop
I went here with a 5 year old after reading about it. You pay 10euro per child. The staff show them how to make something. He made a little robot that draws the funniest pictures with markers as legs. It was well worth the money. The staff member was excellent at explaining how to make it & he was delighted with his creation.
He brought it in to school & his teacher got him to go to the other classes to show them what he made at the weekend.
A really great experience.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    52
    21
    12
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bodmin, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fat made interesting!”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Enjoyed the interactive display and had fun aging our 17 year old granddaughter to a 72 year old fat smoker!! Really enjoyed our lunch in the coffee shop too - excellent value food.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank elliebob297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Inspirational!”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Really worth visiting. The current exhibition was about various attempts, mostly in science but also in other fields such as sport, that failed, and the importance in not being afraid to fail. One learns a lot without being bored for a second! Definitely recommend it to others!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CassiopeiaBlack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Quirky and free!”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

I went to see the fail better exhibition, and would highly recommend. The concept was really interesting and got me thinking about embracing the failures in life and learning from them. Some of the examples, I didn't really see as failures but some were really inspiring. As an Irish person, looking at Sonia O'Sullivan describe her race at the Atlanta Olympics, when the entire country was expecting a gold medal and it didn't go to plan, it was inspiring to see how she moved on.

We got through the exhibition in an hour, and had plenty of discussion about it afterwards!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank dubview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fail Better”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Recently visited the "Fail Better" exhibit. Interesting facts & well laid out. I like the Science Gallery as they vary the exhibitions frequently enough. I went late on a Thursday night & although the place was not set to close for another 45 mins or so I was disappointed that the lovely on-site cafe had stopped serving.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Squareroots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Science Gallery Dublin also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Science Gallery Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing