We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“UNSAFE;Smoking in the reception and smoke alarms not working”
Review of Durban Residence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Durban Residence
Ranked #73 of 149 Dublin B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 July 2013

I stayed here recently and the whole house smelt of smoke. The staff smoke in reception and the smoke alarms in our room had been tampered with so not to detect it.. Terrible smell. We were told that the reception is open 24 hours but we arrived at Durham from a nite out and had to shout/ring to get the man to answer the door.The staff where very friendly though. Not recommend this B&B to anyone. Big hole beside toilet, tidy and seemed clean.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank Nuala H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
There are newer reviews for Durban Residence
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2013

When arriving was asked to pay for the room straight away, got to the room and it was just basic and for €109 was expecting a bit more it was very cold and very noisy. The breakfast room was grim and my sister refused to eat breakfast. Very creepy place.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
29  Thank Nichola J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

We had clearly stated in the booking form that we had an infant with us but were put in the 3rd floor. Anyone with an infant know you have to have everything but the kitchen sink with you. the mattress had fag burns in it and weird looking stains no bed sheets on the bed and the bed hadn't been dressed fag butts in the cups provided and mould in the bathroom....WILL NOT BE STAYING AGAIN!!!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
33  Thank booboosmom2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

This hotel is much more than I expected for the great value price. It's plain, simple (but you get what you pay for!) but most importantly it's clean, the showers are hot and the staff are great. We were upgraded to an en suite room when we arrived (we had booked a shared bathroom), they were more than happy to let us have breakfast after the cut off time, they let us keep our bags in the hotel for a few hours after we checked out and were just all round helpful and attentive people. Special thanks to Jimmy who gave us some great tips on where to go in Dublin. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone who is on a budget but would like a decent place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank rutheliza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

When we arrvived we were early but the lady who greeted us was fine with this and let us put our bags in the office while we had a walk round...when we came back a man called jimmy greeted us ...he was lovely down to earth and so helpful he rang us a taxi very early in the morning and was again so sweet and kind to us...room was very clean and great location...overall excellent room and service...will deffo book again :)

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
37  Thank jenny8361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Good, central location, not the most quiet place in town, but comfortable, definitely clean, freshly renovated and is worth the price! Polite management, immaculate towels, simple, but enough breakfast, clean dining room.

Obviously - having read the previous notes - things have changed recently. What hasn't though, is the terrific location: the place is really 10 minutes from all major attractions and about 25 minutes away from the airport by bus which can either pick you up right in front of the building, if so arranged, or can be reached in two minutes, just around the corner.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gabor188644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We stayed here two nights and the best part of the place is definitely the staff who were so friendly, hardworking and helpful. Unfortunately the place is dirty and in need of an update and repair. It was okay for budget accommodation but I would never stay there with our children because it just wasn't clean. We're not hugely picky but the room was simply mucky.

Breakfast was very simple but the bread for toast was thick and nice and there were a few cereals. Basically you get tea and toast for breakfast which is fine for us as we eat light on a morning anyway. The breakfast room was clean. We were given WiFi access immediately and kindly allowed to use the computer on the landing.

LOCATION: This was most important for us and it is within easy walking distance (10mins) of most attractions. We did several museums (they're all FREE!) and went out in Temple Bar on the night.

It is noisy at night. Single glazing and beside a main road, also some late night revellers shouting in the street.

Transfer to Dublin airport is easy and the air port bus stops just down from the hotel. The staff kindly kept our bags for us after checkout as our flight was late evening.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank BeccaP1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
North City Centre
Anchor House Dublin
Anchor House Dublin
#24 of 149 in Dublin
661 reviews
The Glen Guesthouse
#114 of 149 in Dublin
359 reviews
Hazelbrook House B&B
#118 of 149 in Dublin
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parkway Guesthouse
#19 of 149 in Dublin
339 reviews
Egans House
#26 of 149 in Dublin
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durban Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durban Residence

Address: 69 Lower Gardner Street, Dublin Dublin 1, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range: £45 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Durban Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
!!!UNDER NEW MANAGEMENT!!! Durban Residence is a fully refurbished, listed building, which boasts impressive Georgian architecture and interiors. We are located in the heart of Dublin city centre; with O’ Connell Street; Dublin’s main street, only a 3 minute walk away. It is also just 5 minutes from Temple Bar the main party zone of Dublin. Room facilities include tea/coffee station, TV, central heating and fresh towels every day. Free Wi-Fi internet connection. Cots available on request. Free city maps & guides at reception. Reception is open 24hours. 48 hrs cancellation policy. Check out 12 noon. Credit cards accepted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Durban Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing