We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Less that 5 minutes from the steeple right down the street”
Review of Durban Residence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Durban Residence
Ranked #80 of 150 Dublin B&B and Inns
Monaghan, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Less that 5 minutes from the steeple right down the street”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Our room(family,en-site) was facing the courtyard, so quiet enough and very warm. The building itself as well as all in the center of Dublin is quite old and with small rooms, parking for car was a block away (about 3 min to walk , plus extra charge). Bed linen and towels - impeccably white. Standard continental breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Ana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    34
    37
    24
    26
See reviews for
25
60
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

I enjoyed my stay here. the b & b is located in a good area and don't carry the bad attitudes of the hostels located nearby it. breakfast is nice and the staff were good! the rooms were always clean and the showers were good! It's near all the main attractions and you can get a really good nights sleep here. I would come again. Thank you staff for your hospitality! I owe it to you! You are really good!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank geofferinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

On arrival our reservetion made one week before didn't showed up on their reservation book. I booked an en suit room and they gave me a room on the basement with shairing toilet. The smell of urine all around the basement was awful. There were two toilets both incredibly dirty,in one of that the light wasn't working,in the other the toilet flush was broken. No lock available in both toilets doors. The door of my room looked forced and in bad condition. Squalid atmosphere. I payed for this room the same price of the en suit room. I asked a receipt and the watchman gave me a normal pice of paper.....he told me that the regular receipt wasn't available.
I do not recomment this "b and b",better go to sleep in a jail.

Room Tip: just change b and b
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
23 Thank Lisandro D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Valencia, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Dirty, noisy, too much drunk guests, people screamed in corridor at the night, no works flush in toilet, tap sink broke, strong smell to humidity and waste pipe in bathroom.

Brekfast is ok.

Place to avoid

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank A55v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

The beds were clean and the price was reasonable but we would not stay there again, Toilet was down a flight of stairs and in a dodgy area of the house, Breakfast was fine but nothing cooked. The entire place gave the impression of needing a really good cleaning. Noisy location but then its close to the city center and the bus depot. The shower in our room really needed a good cleaning.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naas, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

I stayed here recently and the whole house smelt of smoke. The staff smoke in reception and the smoke alarms in our room had been tampered with so not to detect it.. Terrible smell. We were told that the reception is open 24 hours but we arrived at Durham from a nite out and had to shout/ring to get the man to answer the door.The staff where very friendly though. Not recommend this B&B to anyone. Big hole beside toilet, tidy and seemed clean.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank Nuala H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

When arriving was asked to pay for the room straight away, got to the room and it was just basic and for €109 was expecting a bit more it was very cold and very noisy. The breakfast room was grim and my sister refused to eat breakfast. Very creepy place.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
29 Thank Nichola J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
North City Centre
Anchor House Dublin
Anchor House Dublin
#28 of 150 in Dublin
649 reviews
The Glen Guesthouse
#108 of 150 in Dublin
352 reviews
Egans House
#25 of 150 in Dublin
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hazelbrook House B&B
#121 of 150 in Dublin
481 reviews
Hazelbrook Lodge
#117 of 150 in Dublin
9 reviews
Parkway Guesthouse
#19 of 150 in Dublin
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durban Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durban Residence

Property: Durban Residence
Address: 69 Lower Gardner Street, Dublin Dublin 1, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Durban Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
!!!UNDER NEW MANAGEMENT!!! Durban Residence is a fully refurbished, listed building, which boasts impressive Georgian architecture and interiors. We are located in the heart of Dublin city centre; with O’ Connell Street; Dublin’s main street, only a 3 minute walk away. It is also just 5 minutes from Temple Bar the main party zone of Dublin. Room facilities include tea/coffee station, TV, central heating and fresh towels every day. Free Wi-Fi internet connection. Cots available on request. Free city maps & guides at reception. Reception is open 24hours. 48 hrs cancellation policy. Check out 12 noon. Credit cards accepted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Durban Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing