We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pembroke Townhouse
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Dylan Hotel(Dublin)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ariel House(Dublin)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mespil Hotel(Dublin)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (827)
Filter reviews
828 results
Traveller rating
346
273
136
51
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
346
273
136
51
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmezzanine roomcity centreaviva stadiumlounge areafree tea and coffeebreakfast roomsecure parkingfull irish breakfastsmall hotelminute walkguest houseexcellent breakfasthome from homeroom was clean and comfortablelovely hotelstayed here for two nightspubs and restaurants
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
474 - 479 of 828 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Although it is a long walk to the city center, we had a wonderful stay here. The breakfast service is first-class, with some great menu items. The rooms were smaller than we expected, but this was our first stop in Ireland. Also, it was a good reminder that we should be outside enjoying the city, and not in our room.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Josh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FionaTeehan, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2012

Dear Josh H,
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay, the service and breakfast. Thank you so much for writing and I hope we get to meet you again.
Warm regards from Fiona and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

We arrived early and were pleased that they allowed early check-in, and were surprised when they "upgraded" our room. Well, the room was weird... large bathroom, small room that was taken up completely by a king-size bed, and a narrow staircase to an upstairs loft with a couch. The upstairs was useless to us! The mattress was very uncomfortable, hard pillows and did not care for the fact that there wasn't a light blanket on the bed... just a heavy quilt which was too hot for the room. A big problem was that the toilet would NOT flush every time. We called the front desk to have someone come to fix it while we went out. Although we were told that it would be taken care of, no one did so we fought with the toilet the entire stay. On the bright side, the location was fine (we walked all over Dublin and didn't have any problems) and the breakfast was excellent. The breakfast/service deserves 5 stars but the accommodations barely rate 3 stars. Also, the fees for WiFi were ridiculous especially since every single B&B we stayed at throughout our next two weeks was free (even in remote areas like Dingle, Clifden, etc.). This was the most expensive B&B we stayed at and our least favorite.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a one story bedroom (not the stupid 2 story that we had).
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank doneill241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FionaTeehan, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2012

Dear doneill241,
Thank you for reviewing. We are sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay or the room upgrade, but glad to hear you enjoyed our breakfast and the service.
Our matresses are orthopaedic ones, which I guess does not suit everyone, so sorry if this was not comfortable for you. Also, that you preferred a blanket on the bed - we do have a spare one in each wardrobe and more are available on request, maybe if you come to stay again if you could let us know your preference and we can organise that for you.
I am sorry if you feel we did not address the problem you had with the toilet in your room... I do recall an issue recently whereby our plumber could not find a fault with a toilet when he came to fix on request of our guests...toilets in the US have quite different designs (and much stronger flushes) to that in Ireland, so sometimes we find our US visitors have trouble with these and feel they are not working properly. Sorry if we did not make this clear as to why it seemed the same to you on your return, after we had got the toilet checked.
I hope we get to welcoming you back on another occassion.
Warmest regards from Fiona and all the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

We spent 2 nights at Pembroke during our trip around Ireland. The rooms were spacious, the bed was comfortable, and the bathroom was nice and clean. The staff was very friendly, helpful, and accommodating. The modern dining room was very nice, and the food was great. The waiters provided excellent service. We walked all over Dublin from our base at Pembroke. If you don't enjoy walking, there is a bus stop just around the corner. It is located in the residential section of the city, so it was plenty quiet. It it probably a 2 mile walk to the center of the city from the townhouse.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sullivmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FionaTeehan, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2012

Dear sullivmd,
So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, thank you for writing
All our best from Fiona and all the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

The Pembroke is a very nice Georgian House style large B&B a short walk from the centre of Dublin. Its in the Ballsbridge area which is a lovely part of Dublin with big Georgian mansions, not too much traffic and a few handy placed shops nearby.
The rooms were spacious, quiet, comfortable, the service was great and i also got a very good deal so if i can find a similar one i will go back soon. I dont like having to pay for wifi, but if you dont mind that it was a strong enough signal to download my e-mails quickly so i only had to pay for 1 hr.

The free biscuits were very nice too, i'd heard about "free coffee, tea and homemade biscuits" in the drawing room so i was a little disappointed when all i found was kettle and some instant coffee - but overall this is a great, very well run B&B and i hope to return again soon.

Room Tip: the lower floor rooms looked a little dark so ask for 3rd/4th floor
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sikim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FionaTeehan, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2012

Dear sikim,
Thank you for your review and so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
Ah! - we can also bring you coffee from our coffee machine in the kitchen, unfortunately we can't fit one in the larder so have only space for the kettle option, but we can bring one to you at any time.. .
Hope we get to welcoming you to stay again
Best regards from Fiona and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

I stayed one night on business and this is absolutely how a hotel should be run. The place is beautiful but accessible. The breakfast is wonderful and the staff polite and friendly. Come to Dublin and stay here. Really, really good. They know who they are, not pretending to be your new best friends, just a really good and value experience.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bridget L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FionaTeehan, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2012

Dear Bridget L,
Thank you for writing a review.
We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you felt breakfast was wonderful and the staff friendly - I will sure pass that on. I hope we get to meeting you here again some day.
Best regards,
Fiona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews