We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful stay!”
Review of Pembroke Townhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pembroke Townhouse
Ranked #72 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights at pembroke townhouse to see the opening show of wicked. It was about a 20 walk to the centre which was much needed after the delicious breakfast they provide. The friendly staff, homemade cookies and cakes, pleasant and homely decore downstairs made this trip throughly enjoyable. Would recommend this quaint guesthouse and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonesj75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PembrokeTH, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2015

Hi JOnesj75,
Thank you for your lovely comments, we are delighted you had an enjoyable stay. I hope we get to welcoming you again on another occasion.
Best regards,
Fiona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (799)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

307 - 313 of 799 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2013

I stayed in the Pembroke Townhouse for a work trip. I had stayed there a few years ago and this trip was quite disappointing. The room was quite small and furnishings a bit tired - it was very clean however. The TV was tiny - a small portable - and it was on top of the wardrobe which was really an awkward place for it. Wi-Fi is free and is quick enough. The bed was two twin beds pushed together and I didn't find them comfortable.
Breakfast is nice but the table where the cereals, fruit, breads etc. are stored is small and it can be difficult to serve yourself if someone else is also at the table. Good choice of cooked breakfast and the presentation is very good.
The location on Pembroke Road is very good - it's just a 15 minute walk to city centre and only a 5 min walk to a selection of bars and restaurants on Baggot Street.
Overall the Pembroke Townhouse is an OK place to stay but is definitely not the luxurious guesthouse it advertises - in my mind definitely not 4 star. Staff are friendly and there are some nice touches like tea/coffee etc. but I would prefer a better furnished room and a larger TV for the price.

Room Tip: Higher up away from the road will probably lead to less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ziggy_blue_dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PembrokeTH, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2015

Hi ziggy_blue_dog,
Thank you for your comments.
I hope we get to welcoming you again soon. .. I am not sure when yous tayed last, but you might be glad to hear we have new tvs being installed as we speak and a few more new things in the pipeline...
Best regards,
Fiona and all the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We booked this hotel on a Stena ferry holiday deal because in comparison with the other hotels, we were offered breakfast and free parking. The hotel is located close to all the bars and restaurants in Ballsbridge and, if you are up to a walk, Dublin city centre though there is local public transport available.
Our room we small but well appointed and quiet, without any disturbance from either other guests or local traffic. It had a bath with over shower and a large bed in what I assume is the lowest grade room and free internet access. The breakfast was good, offering both home cooked breads and cakes in the cold section alongside the usual fruits, cereals and yoghurt, there was also a wide range of hot dishes including an excellent smoked salmon on home cooked potato cake, eggs any way you want as well as the usual 'full Irish'.
We prefer small hotels when possible and this fits our preferred profile, efficient staff, excellent cleanliness and a warm welcome. Highly recommended as an antidote to big and faceless.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hewhotravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PembrokeTH, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2015

Hi Hewhotravels,
Thank you for your lovely comments, we are delighted you had an enjoyable stay. I hope we get to welcoming you again on another occasion.
Best regards,
Fiona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I have stayed at the Pembroke Townhouse several times now and chose to stay there this time because on previous stays I have been impressed with the hospitality and comfortable, individual feel of the place. It is in a quiet location only a short, pleasant walk to central Dublin. Our room was spacious, comfy and clean with everything you could want in a hotel room. The staff are friendly and helpful. Since I last visited they have introduced the drink making facilities and home baked biscuits in the downstairs lounge that can be taken to your room, I really liked this. The breakfasts are a real treat;a wide choice of tasty homecooked fresh food. The place is tastefully decorated and furnished and feels both classy and homely. I would stay here again

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank daisyruns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PembrokeTH, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2015

Hi Daisyruns,
Thank you for your lovely comments, we are delighted you had an enjoyable stay and mostly you felt the staff were helpful and breakfast was s treat.
I hope we get to welcoming you again some day>
Best regards,
Fiona and all the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

The hotel is located in a nice part of Dublin, about 30 minutes walk from the town centre. I noticed there's also a bus that passes on the road that the hotel is located, presumably to town. Room itself is a little bit tired, such as worn carpet, but room is clean and bathroom comes with soft towels. My room was on the first floor, which is actually downstairs to the reception, and you can hear the traffic rumbling as the night goes on. Early in the morning I heard someone shouting outside which disturbed my sleep, but at least the bed was comfortable. Free wifi is included, and there is a larder by reception which supplies tea and coffee through the day and night (no kettle in the room).

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cecilia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PembrokeTH, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2015

Dear Cecilia L,
Thank you for writing. We are glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us.
You might be interested to know that we are doing currently working on room upgrades and also we also offer complimentary room service tea and coffee to all our guests (24 hours).
I hope we get to welcoming you againin the future.
Best regards,
Fiona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I had my second taste of the townhouse, my wife's first and what a pleasure it was. My wife rated the breakfast as the best ever in many years of travelling. I just love the laid back, friendly attitude of the staff, and the ability to get a hot drink and a biscuit when you felt like it, or a bottle of decent wine to help us wind down after a late arrival in the cosy residents lounge. Lovely place to stay,10 minutes stroll to Grafton St et al

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TattersLeedsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PembrokeTH, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2015

Hi TattersLeedsUK,
Thank you for your lovely comments, we are delighted you had an enjoyable stay and mostly you felt the staff were lovely and and breakfast so good (we are blushing!!).
I hope we get to welcoming you again soon.
Best regards,
Fiona and all the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We spent a few wonderful days in Dublin at the Pembroke Townhouse. It is in a great location with good transport links and in a lovely part of the city well served with places to eat and drink. The building has real character and the rooms were spacious and comfortable.
The staff were extremely friendly and helpful , and Fiona made us feel at home . The breakfasts were great , with a wide choice of things to eat including homemade items. The downstairs pantry allowed us to make drinks when we wanted to and included homemade cordials and biscuits. These could be taken downstairs or brought to your room if you preferred.
Overall a pleasant stay which I would definitely repeat.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MidlandsEagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PembrokeTH, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2015

Dear MidlandsEagle,
Thank you for writing a review on tripadvisor.
We are really delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and mostly that you felt the staff were extremely friendly and helpful and you flet at home.
We look forward to welcoming you again some day.
Best regards,
Fiona and all the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.2 mi away
Waterloo House
Waterloo House
#32 of 150 in Dublin
607 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lansdowne Hotel Ballsbridge
0.3 mi away
Schoolhouse Hotel
Schoolhouse Hotel
#27 of 150 in Dublin
1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mespil Hotel
Mespil Hotel
#31 of 150 in Dublin
585 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#12 of 150 in Dublin
1,401 reviews
0.5 mi away
Herbert Park Hotel
Herbert Park Hotel
#14 of 150 in Dublin
2,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pembroke Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pembroke Townhouse

Address: 90 Pembroke Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#57 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £93 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pembroke Townhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Pembroke Townhouse! ...homelier than most hotels in Dublin! Situated in the heart of Georgian Dublin in Ballsbridge and just a 10/15 minute stroll from Grafton Street and St. Stephens Green. Pembroke Townhouse is a 4 star guesthouse with 48 bedrooms equipped with the modern conveniences of a hotel.... Pembroke Townhouse has the personal touch of a guesthouse....Make yourself at home and raid the larder in the middle of the night for home baked cookies or browse the restaurant reviews in the comfortable drawing room over a glass of wine or a coffee. Breakfast gets many compliments! As we are passionate about our food!!... from the Full Irish Breakfast which is freshly cooked to order or treat yourself to the continental buffet which includes Pembroke's home home baking. Secure Parking is complimentary to residents (subject to availability) and free wi-fi is available throughout. Pembroke Townhouse is included within the list of hotels of the Bridgestone "100 Best Places to Stay in Ireland Guides; Fodors Guides "Best"; Michelin Guide; Georgina Campbells' Guide.... "Our aim is to provide you with the highest standard of accommodation and hospitality." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pembroke Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pembroke Townhouse Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing