We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic rooms; luxurious lounge; sumptuous breakfast”
Review of Pembroke Townhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pembroke Townhouse
Ranked #76 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Basic rooms; luxurious lounge; sumptuous breakfast”
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

The only drawback is that the bedrooms are quite small and very basic, with portable TV and shower-in-bath. But they are clean and warm.

The big positives make up for this:
Luxurious lounge with leather sofas, free Nespresso coffee and homemade biscuits, newspapers, board games.
Excellent breakfast buffet with mostly homemade items.
Free and secure parking.
Friendly staff.
Good restaurants nearby; safe area.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ballinora4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PembrokeTH, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this review, 15 February 2015
Hi ballinora4,
Thank you for your lovely comments, we are glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay. I hope we get to welcoming you again soon (we will have our new tvs by then I hope!).
Best regards,
Fiona and all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    258
    127
    48
    19
See reviews for
118
328
41
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 December 2013

I stayed for 2 nights. The breakfast was excellent. Home made cookies and cakes delicious. The lounge welcoming n cosy. All staff very friendly and helpful, could not do enough for you. I cannot understand some of the negative comments on previous reviews. I could not fault it. Room a little small but that's what made it cute and cosy. Would definitely stay here again. The ambience was lovely. Would recommend staying here!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TazTammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PembrokeTH, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this review, 15 February 2015
Hi TazTammy,
Thank you for your lovely comments, we are delighted you had an enjoyable stay. I hope we get to welcoming you again on another occasion.
Best regards,
Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights at pembroke townhouse to see the opening show of wicked. It was about a 20 walk to the centre which was much needed after the delicious breakfast they provide. The friendly staff, homemade cookies and cakes, pleasant and homely decore downstairs made this trip throughly enjoyable. Would recommend this quaint guesthouse and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonesj75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PembrokeTH, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this review, 15 February 2015
Hi JOnesj75,
Thank you for your lovely comments, we are delighted you had an enjoyable stay. I hope we get to welcoming you again on another occasion.
Best regards,
Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I stayed in the Pembroke Townhouse for a work trip. I had stayed there a few years ago and this trip was quite disappointing. The room was quite small and furnishings a bit tired - it was very clean however. The TV was tiny - a small portable - and it was on top of the wardrobe which was really an awkward place for it. Wi-Fi is free and is quick enough. The bed was two twin beds pushed together and I didn't find them comfortable.
Breakfast is nice but the table where the cereals, fruit, breads etc. are stored is small and it can be difficult to serve yourself if someone else is also at the table. Good choice of cooked breakfast and the presentation is very good.
The location on Pembroke Road is very good - it's just a 15 minute walk to city centre and only a 5 min walk to a selection of bars and restaurants on Baggot Street.
Overall the Pembroke Townhouse is an OK place to stay but is definitely not the luxurious guesthouse it advertises - in my mind definitely not 4 star. Staff are friendly and there are some nice touches like tea/coffee etc. but I would prefer a better furnished room and a larger TV for the price.

Room Tip: Higher up away from the road will probably lead to less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ziggy_blue_dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PembrokeTH, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this review, 15 February 2015
Hi ziggy_blue_dog,
Thank you for your comments.
I hope we get to welcoming you again soon. .. I am not sure when yous tayed last, but you might be glad to hear we have new tvs being installed as we speak and a few more new things in the pipeline...
Best regards,
Fiona and all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We booked this hotel on a Stena ferry holiday deal because in comparison with the other hotels, we were offered breakfast and free parking. The hotel is located close to all the bars and restaurants in Ballsbridge and, if you are up to a walk, Dublin city centre though there is local public transport available.
Our room we small but well appointed and quiet, without any disturbance from either other guests or local traffic. It had a bath with over shower and a large bed in what I assume is the lowest grade room and free internet access. The breakfast was good, offering both home cooked breads and cakes in the cold section alongside the usual fruits, cereals and yoghurt, there was also a wide range of hot dishes including an excellent smoked salmon on home cooked potato cake, eggs any way you want as well as the usual 'full Irish'.
We prefer small hotels when possible and this fits our preferred profile, efficient staff, excellent cleanliness and a warm welcome. Highly recommended as an antidote to big and faceless.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hewhotravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PembrokeTH, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this review, 15 February 2015
Hi Hewhotravels,
Thank you for your lovely comments, we are delighted you had an enjoyable stay. I hope we get to welcoming you again on another occasion.
Best regards,
Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I have stayed at the Pembroke Townhouse several times now and chose to stay there this time because on previous stays I have been impressed with the hospitality and comfortable, individual feel of the place. It is in a quiet location only a short, pleasant walk to central Dublin. Our room was spacious, comfy and clean with everything you could want in a hotel room. The staff are friendly and helpful. Since I last visited they have introduced the drink making facilities and home baked biscuits in the downstairs lounge that can be taken to your room, I really liked this. The breakfasts are a real treat;a wide choice of tasty homecooked fresh food. The place is tastefully decorated and furnished and feels both classy and homely. I would stay here again

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank daisyruns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PembrokeTH, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this review, 15 February 2015
Hi Daisyruns,
Thank you for your lovely comments, we are delighted you had an enjoyable stay and mostly you felt the staff were helpful and breakfast was s treat.
I hope we get to welcoming you again some day>
Best regards,
Fiona and all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

The hotel is located in a nice part of Dublin, about 30 minutes walk from the town centre. I noticed there's also a bus that passes on the road that the hotel is located, presumably to town. Room itself is a little bit tired, such as worn carpet, but room is clean and bathroom comes with soft towels. My room was on the first floor, which is actually downstairs to the reception, and you can hear the traffic rumbling as the night goes on. Early in the morning I heard someone shouting outside which disturbed my sleep, but at least the bed was comfortable. Free wifi is included, and there is a larder by reception which supplies tea and coffee through the day and night (no kettle in the room).

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cecilia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PembrokeTH, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this review, 15 February 2015
Dear Cecilia L,
Thank you for writing. We are glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us.
You might be interested to know that we are doing currently working on room upgrades and also we also offer complimentary room service tea and coffee to all our guests (24 hours).
I hope we get to welcoming you againin the future.
Best regards,
Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
Lansdowne Hotel Ballsbridge
0.2 mi away
Waterloo House
Waterloo House
#32 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#11 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mespil Hotel
Mespil Hotel
#31 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.3 mi away
Schoolhouse Hotel
Schoolhouse Hotel
#30 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Canal Hotel
Grand Canal Hotel
#39 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pembroke Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pembroke Townhouse

Property: Pembroke Townhouse
Address: 90 Pembroke Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#57 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Pembroke Townhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Pembroke Townhouse! ...homelier than most hotels in Dublin! Situated in the heart of Georgian Dublin in Ballsbridge and just a 10/15 minute stroll from Grafton Street and St. Stephens Green. Pembroke Townhouse is a 4 star guesthouse with 48 bedrooms equipped with the modern conveniences of a hotel.... Pembroke Townhouse has the personal touch of a guesthouse....Make yourself at home and raid the larder in the middle of the night for home baked cookies or browse the restaurant reviews in the comfortable drawing room over a glass of wine or a coffee. Breakfast gets many compliments! As we are passionate about our food!!... from the Full Irish Breakfast which is freshly cooked to order or treat yourself to the continental buffet which includes Pembroke's home home baking. Secure Parking is complimentary to residents (subject to availability) and free wi-fi is available throughout. Pembroke Townhouse is included within the list of hotels of the Bridgestone "100 Best Places to Stay in Ireland Guides; Fodors Guides "Best"; Michelin Guide; Georgina Campbells' Guide.... "Our aim is to provide you with the highest standard of accommodation and hospitality." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Pembroke Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pembroke Townhouse Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing