We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy Rooms!”
Review of Pembroke Townhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pembroke Townhouse
Ranked #77 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Delft, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Noisy Rooms!”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Though the rooms are nice and the staff is mostly very welcoming, we did not enjoy our stay at this hotel. Our rooms - 203 and 205 - were wedged between the 24 hour reception area and the breakfast room. We were constantly awoken by the noise of fellow travelers and the receptionist who did not keep their voice down at any point during the night. Requests to change rooms were ignored without explanation until at checkout we were told it was because we had paid a lower rate and that we should not complain. When booking the rate, there was no information given about the location of the rooms or that we would get the hostel experience at a four star hotel, as we would have chosen to stay elsewhere.

If you are going to stay there, make sure to avoid room 203 and 205 as you will most likely not have a good night's rest!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank KrnGrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FionaTeehan, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear KrnGrs,
Thank you for your comments and we are so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay.
I am so sorry that the rooms you stayed in were noisy and we could not move you as requested. I think we were fully booked on the night you stayed and any new arrivals were in rooms with special requests like triple beds, etc. so we were restriced in choice for any movement. The room rate would be unrelated to that - I am sorry if you were told otherwise.
Again, so sorry and please give me a shout if you are staying again and I will personally look after you and make sure you are allocated a room that is further away from more active places.
Best regards from Fiona and all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    316
    260
    127
    48
    21
See reviews for
119
331
41
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I went to Dublin for four days with my son as he was doing exams the hotel we were to stay in sold our room because there was a football match on one of the nights we were to stay because they could up the price. So i had to walk around dublin looking for accomodation while my son did his exams. We ended up staying in thisTownhouse for one night the staff
were splendid nothing was to much trouble for them they did everything they could to make us feel good. The reception staff the night staff could not have been more helpful i would recomend this town house to anyone. The accomodation is spotless the service is excelent one of the best places i have stayed in. no noise keep up the good work your welcome is very much appricated.

Room Tip: all rooms are excelent food execlent good choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marie q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FionaTeehan, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this review, 23 January 2015
Dear marie q - so glad you enjoyed and mostley that you felt teh staff were helpful - I hope we get to see you again some day. Thanks for writing. Best regards, Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Location was the main reason for choosing pembroke. Far enough away from center city Dublin to be in a quieter area but close enough to easily get to the city. Great breakfast and common areas were very nice. Room furniture and beds were very basic and carpet was in severe need of replacement.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dldjr22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FionaTeehan, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this review, 23 January 2015
Dear Dldjr22 - glad to hear had an enjoyable stay. I hope we get to see you again some day. Thanks for writing. Best regards, Fiona and all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Mayo
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

The Townhouse offers good-value accommodation in spotless rooms in a pair of elegant Dublin townhouses not far from the city centre. It's easy to walk or get the bus into town. Staff are extremely friendly and helpful and there's a lovely homely atmosphere. The Townhouse's high standards are maintained from year to year and new ideas are making the levels of service and comfort better and better.

Room Tip: The rooms on the front have a pleasant view but the rooms on the back are the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tibor2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FionaTeehan, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this review, 23 January 2015
Dear tibor09 - so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and mostly that you felt the staff were extremely friendly and we were a homely place to stay - I hope we get to see you again some day. Thanks for writing. Best regards, Fiona and all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiel, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

Very friendly reception with fruit juice for welcome and a home made cake at the desk. Nice rooms with good bathroom and the best breakfast ever! Location is perfect, a 4 minutes walk and you find the first pub, a walk of 15 minutes and you are at the centre of town.








Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank MSchalkwijk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FionaTeehan, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this review, 23 January 2015
Dear MSchalkwijk - so glad you enjoyed and that you felt we were cosy & friendly - I hope we get to see you again some day. Thanks for writing. Best regards, Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfanaghy, Ireland
Level Contributor
139 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

A great place to stay if you are in central Dublin. The 'townhouse' is comfortable and has a touch of elegance. The service was friendly and very personable. Rooms were clean and well furnished - everything worked. There is a very useful carpark at the back of the hotel which enables you to leave the car and walk into the centre of the city.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trevcole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FionaTeehan, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this review, 23 January 2015
Hi Trevcole,
Thanks for writing - so glad you enjoyed your stay.
Hope to see you again some day.
Best regards,
Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Great location - 10 minutes to the city centre by foot. Bicycles for rent nearby. Free and secured parking at the back of the hotel, free Wi-Fi. Nice and clean, nice and helpful stuff. Coffee/tee + homemade biscuits, delicious cake for welcome.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vfp2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FionaTeehan, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this review, 23 January 2015
Dear vfp2013 - so glad you enjoyed - I hope we get to see you again some day. Thanks for writing. Best regards, Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
Lansdowne Hotel Ballsbridge
0.2 mi away
Waterloo House
Waterloo House
#27 of 151 in Dublin
574 reviews
0.3 mi away
Schoolhouse Hotel
Schoolhouse Hotel
#30 of 151 in Dublin
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#11 of 151 in Dublin
1,290 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mespil Hotel
Mespil Hotel
#32 of 151 in Dublin
467 reviews
0.4 mi away
Herbert Park Hotel
Herbert Park Hotel
#20 of 151 in Dublin
1,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pembroke Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pembroke Townhouse

Property: Pembroke Townhouse
Address: 90 Pembroke Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#57 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Pembroke Townhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Pembroke Townhouse! ...homelier than most hotels in Dublin! Situated in the heart of Georgian Dublin in Ballsbridge and just a 10/15 minute stroll from Grafton Street and St. Stephens Green. Pembroke Townhouse is a 4 star guesthouse with 48 bedrooms equipped with the modern conveniences of a hotel.... Pembroke Townhouse has the personal touch of a guesthouse....Make yourself at home and raid the larder in the middle of the night for home baked cookies or browse the restaurant reviews in the comfortable drawing room over a glass of wine or a coffee. Breakfast gets many compliments! As we are passionate about our food!!... from the Full Irish Breakfast which is freshly cooked to order or treat yourself to the continental buffet which includes Pembroke's home home baking. Secure Parking is complimentary to residents (subject to availability) and free wi-fi is available throughout. Pembroke Townhouse is included within the list of hotels of the Bridgestone "100 Best Places to Stay in Ireland Guides; Fodors Guides "Best"; Michelin Guide; Georgina Campbells' Guide.... "Our aim is to provide you with the highest standard of accommodation and hospitality." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pembroke Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pembroke Townhouse Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing