We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok if you are looking for a very no-frills experience” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bridge House Dublin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bridge House Dublin
Ranked #145 of 161 Dublin B&B and Inns
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Ok if you are looking for a very no-frills experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

I stayed here three nights over Near Years, and it was ok. Nothing really to write home about. There are circular stairs that take you to the top (where my room was) which are a bit narrow, so it might be a point of concern for those who may have a lot of luggage. The beds were comfortable and it was clean, but bring your own shampoo and soap. If you are looking for an inexpensive place to stay that is near the excitement of Temple Bar, this isn't a bad choice. It was awesome hearing the bells from Christ Church in my room, especially at midnight on New Years Day. Front desk staff are friendly. You need to leave your key with them every time you go out, but someone is always sitting at the desk no matter what time of day so it isn't an issue. Overall noise level was good from the top floor where we were. Besides the bells, I didn't hear any street noise.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a lower floor. Trudging luggage up and down those narrow stairs is no picnic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mindyjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    46
    98
    100
    164
See reviews for
38
126
49
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

Right, reading the reviews for this hotel it seems some people are fairly happy because of the value for money and some people are disappointed. I guess it depends on which room you get....I cannot believe some people would be happy to sleep in rooms 4 or 10 (the two rooms that I have seen). True the hotel is very well located, fairly clean and (surprisingly) does offer free WIFI (I would not expect that form this kind of hotel) but for the rest is absolutely terrible.
The rooms I was give faced the backyard and are right above some restaurants extractor fan, the rooms smell terrible (especially room 4 which is on the first floor).
If that was not enough the window is single glazed and does not close properly, meaning that you get a constant draft of cold air from outside....on the top of that in MY ROOM THE RADIATOR NEVER SWITCHED ON although I have asked it several times and for several times I have been told they would have switched on the heating "later on" (the last time I asked was one o'clock at night and the outside temperature was about 1C).

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 4 and 10 (single rooms)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nnico0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dublin hotels

San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

I paid 34 euro to stay one night in this hotel, which is a fantastic deal for Dublin. It's located at the heart of Temple Bar, which is a prime location for seeing the city or for going out at night. The room was clean and average size. The bathroom was large. It's a pretty basic room, and the floors were slightly slanted, but it was a great room for the price. Would highly recommend to students or others traveling on a budget. It's not high scale, but it was cozy enough and got the job done.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kryptonitek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

Stayed here for one night in December as a last-minute decision and rented a triple room for the incredible price of €37. Genuinely could not believe my eyes when I saw the price. Booked on the hotel's website (about 2 hours in advance of arriving!) and rang to confirm the payment had gone through, which it had, and the receptionist was very helpful and polite.


The location couldn't be better if you want to be right in the centre of town, you really are, and Parliament Street is great from the point of view that it's beside Temple Bar but you're unlikely to slip up on vomit on a Sunday morning because it's just off the main cobbled streets and rows of pubs, but there are a bunch of great restaurants beside you (including the super cheap Ciao Bella Roma which has a midweek earlybird menu of 2 courses plus a glass of wine for something like €9???!!). A 10 second walk from the liffey and about a 10 minute walk from the DART so tourists if you're not renting a car and you want to stay central there's no better place.


The hotel is dark, sort of dingy, very higgeldy piggeldy, and I'd agree with another review I read which described it more as a house that someone had decided to turn into a hotel. Honestly though if you're not looking for anything fancy it's perfect. On arrival I was given a key, told it was a 24hr reception and that they keep the keys when you go out, there's a buzzer on the main door which is a decent idea given that the street is full of revellers at night so you won't have any strangers walking in! Free tea and coffee in the lounge if you want it as well. My triple room (no. 6) was pretty big, very very comfy beds, clean sheets, clean towels, clean floor, clean bathroom and decent shower as well. That room faces out onto the street which is quite loud but I'm a deep sleeper so didn't bother me at all, might be something to consider if you're not, though.

The 2 star rating is very harsh, while it might be a 2 star hotel, it really deserves 4 stars on tripadvisor for what it is. I will definitely stay here again, much better than spending roughly the same amount on a taxi home and if you don't plan on spending much time in the hotel other than for sleeping you cannot ask for better value, just hope they stay in business!

Room Tip: No. 6 looks out onto the main street, try to avoid if you're a light sleeper, go for it if you l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NikkiEva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

Very basic! Small rooms! Little out dated! but not to bad for the price! in a great location! I would go back! And friendly staff... Overall I enjoyed this over nights stay... The rooms where clean... The shower was powerful... but you may bring your own shampoo n shower gel as it's is not provided... they do provide towels tho

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank xoxmalibu89xox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Good value, very cleaned, great position.
Situated right in the middle of Temple Bar, the heart of Dublin nightlife, the B&B is ideal for friends or young people looking for a low-cost and easy going trip. 5 minutes walk from the city center, well connected with airport transport, 2 minutes walk from every kind of restaurants, pubs and supermarkets. Basic continental breakfast, not bad. I stayed here in September for 5 nights with my brother and I can say to have come back home completely satisfied. Considering the central location, It's quite obvious that during the night there was music and noise 'till late (the B&B is located in Temple Bar) so if you are looking for a quite and peacefull place where you can relaxing and go to bed at 10am that's not the right place. But if you are looking for a short low-cost stay in a central position, ideal for young people with no "particular" demands who loves staying in contact with people from all over the world and tastes the real flavor of Dublin nightlife, that's perfect.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisaboscaro90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

my husband stayed here for one night with his daughter. great location but that is all that can be said positively. less than basic room: 20 year old 14 inch TV with very poor reception. towels but no shower gel. if the noise outside doesn't keep you awake the very noisy creaky floorboards in adjacent rooms will. continental breakfast consists of apple juice, cereal, white sliced bread for toast and tea/coffee.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
South City Centre
Paramount Hotel Temple Bar
The Clarence
#44 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,516 reviews
Mercantile Hotel
#114 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South City Centre
Fitzsimons Hotel
Fitzsimons Hotel
#135 of 153 in Dublin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Dublin Citi Hotel
#74 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
Temple Bar
The Norseman
The Norseman
#13 of 161 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridge House Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridge House Dublin

Property: Bridge House Dublin
Address: 24-25 Parliament Street | Temple Bar, Dublin D2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Temple Bar
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #145 of 161 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Bridge House Dublin 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bridgehouse Guest house boasts a prime location in Central Dublin... ...adjacent to the popular Temple Bar District. Our accommodation offers comfortable ensuite rooms perfectly located for those visiting the O2, Dublins Tourist Attractions, Museums, Theatres, Shopping Districts and of course Temple Bar. Whether you wish to explore the city by day or night The Bridgehouse offers a friendly welcome at an unbeatable location. Each of our rooms have been comfortably furnished to a high standard... ...All rooms include newly fitted bath / shower rooms, remote control televisions, direct dial telephones, and fluffy towels. Irons and ironing boards are available for guests use on request. It is important to note that as the Bridge House is a listed building, no lift has been fitted, and elderly guests / guests with disabilities may find the stairs steep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Bridge House Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing