We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bridge House Dublin
Ranked #134 of 150 Dublin B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Was very dubious about our stay after reading other reviews!! Location was absolutely perfect being right on the doorstep of Template Bar.
The room was small but was clean and we had clean towels every morning.
The hotel itself is in need of cosmetic attention and the mattresses were not the comfiest but all in all it was great value for money.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank rhial30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (417)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 417 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

When we arrived to Bridge House we were greeted by a lady on reception who was rude and didn't crack a smile once whilst she checked us in. When we were given our keys we were set up a wonky set of stairs which then led onto a corridor where both of are rooms were, the rooms were very basic, no additional items in the room such as hairdryers/ iron/ soap (make sure you take your own). The TV did NOT work and the wifi was a dead spot in our rooms unless you wanted to sit in the catering area! The shower had to be run for more than 10 minutes in order to get hot water which was a pain, bathroom was overall very clean and we were given fresh towels each day. Be careful of the shower doors as I managed to pull it off whilst we stayed and had to push it back on. Our beds were also changed daily and bins emptied. This hotel is in such a good prime location, there is a restaurant below, which had good quality food and was also cheap!! The hotel is located in the temple bar area which was absolutely fantastic it was less than a 5 minute walk to get to both shops and pubs!! The breakfast was very mediocre there wasn't a big selection, nor a lot of space to sit considering there was a party of 6 of us. The beds were probably the most comfiest ones I have had the pleasure of sleeping in on a holiday away, and the hotel is very quiet. Overall our stay at bridge house was top notch despite the facilities as we spent most of our time away from the hotel, I wouldn't suggest staying here if you have children or spend a lot of time in the hotel as there are no proper facilities for you to use. I would recommend this hotel for groups of people who are out to explore Dublin and drink in the local bars. You have to check out at 11 meaning if your flights in the evening you have to struggle carrying your bags around during the day, luckily the hotel provided us with a spot to leave our bags unfortunately for us it was in the middle of a corridor next to a sign saying they aren't responsible for loss of luggage or stolen items! Be wary of leaving your bags unattended.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank enya-lily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

the shower door was broken as in one part of three was not there at all so every time either of us had a shower the water was going out on the floor.this meant we had to keep drying the floor with the towels to stop the water going through the floor down into a Resteraunt below us.we asked about it been fixed after the first night.supposed to be fixed by day three never touched by the time we left on the eight day.other than that the room was what it was a double room.ok for the price i suppose

Room Tip: fix the shower door
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank Con C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We stayed over a night and it was a horrible experience. The staff was rude, They chased us out because we arrived too early, and although we had a long journey, also denied us the use of the toilet before the specific check in time. The toilets have probably not been serviced in a decade it is really stinky. I think the building itself has potential , and wasting a prime spot like this seems like a crime.

Room Tip: There is probably no good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

I stayed here three nights over Near Years, and it was ok. Nothing really to write home about. There are circular stairs that take you to the top (where my room was) which are a bit narrow, so it might be a point of concern for those who may have a lot of luggage. The beds were comfortable and it was clean, but bring your own shampoo and soap. If you are looking for an inexpensive place to stay that is near the excitement of Temple Bar, this isn't a bad choice. It was awesome hearing the bells from Christ Church in my room, especially at midnight on New Years Day. Front desk staff are friendly. You need to leave your key with them every time you go out, but someone is always sitting at the desk no matter what time of day so it isn't an issue. Overall noise level was good from the top floor where we were. Besides the bells, I didn't hear any street noise.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a lower floor. Trudging luggage up and down those narrow stairs is no picnic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mindyjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Right, reading the reviews for this hotel it seems some people are fairly happy because of the value for money and some people are disappointed. I guess it depends on which room you get....I cannot believe some people would be happy to sleep in rooms 4 or 10 (the two rooms that I have seen). True the hotel is very well located, fairly clean and (surprisingly) does offer free WIFI (I would not expect that form this kind of hotel) but for the rest is absolutely terrible.
The rooms I was give faced the backyard and are right above some restaurants extractor fan, the rooms smell terrible (especially room 4 which is on the first floor).
If that was not enough the window is single glazed and does not close properly, meaning that you get a constant draft of cold air from outside....on the top of that in MY ROOM THE RADIATOR NEVER SWITCHED ON although I have asked it several times and for several times I have been told they would have switched on the heating "later on" (the last time I asked was one o'clock at night and the outside temperature was about 1C).

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 4 and 10 (single rooms)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nnico0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

I paid 34 euro to stay one night in this hotel, which is a fantastic deal for Dublin. It's located at the heart of Temple Bar, which is a prime location for seeing the city or for going out at night. The room was clean and average size. The bathroom was large. It's a pretty basic room, and the floors were slightly slanted, but it was a great room for the price. Would highly recommend to students or others traveling on a budget. It's not high scale, but it was cozy enough and got the job done.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kryptonitek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Temple Bar
The Norseman
The Norseman
#10 of 150 in Dublin
307 reviews
The Croke Park
#6 of 151 in Dublin
4,656 reviews
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#71 of 151 in Dublin
1,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#34 of 151 in Dublin
2,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridge House Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridge House Dublin

Address: 24-25 Parliament Street | Temple Bar, Dublin D2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Temple Bar
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range: £414 - £622 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bridge House Dublin 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bridgehouse Guest house boasts a prime location in Central Dublin... ...adjacent to the popular Temple Bar District. Our accommodation offers comfortable ensuite rooms perfectly located for those visiting the O2, Dublins Tourist Attractions, Museums, Theatres, Shopping Districts and of course Temple Bar. Whether you wish to explore the city by day or night The Bridgehouse offers a friendly welcome at an unbeatable location. Each of our rooms have been comfortably furnished to a high standard... ...All rooms include newly fitted bath / shower rooms, remote control televisions, direct dial telephones, and fluffy towels. Irons and ironing boards are available for guests use on request. It is important to note that as the Bridge House is a listed building, no lift has been fitted, and elderly guests / guests with disabilities may find the stairs steep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bridge House Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing