We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for a quiet getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Marilyn Mansion
Ranked #53 of 162 Dublin B&B and Inns
Newcastle-upon-Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Perfect for a quiet getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

I booked for 7 nights in a double room for just myself. I found the staff to be very accommodating, friendly and ready to help with any request or questions I had. They supplied easy to follow directions and maps. The rooms are bright, pleasant and comfortable. Although the Mansion is a fair distance from the city centre it is very easily accessible by bus or even walking. The shared bathrooms are clean and warm. Breakfast was decent with enough selection to set you up for the morning. A Kettle and Microwave are available to use at all times. An enjoyable week spent at Marilyn Mansion of which I hope to repeat again in the future. Thanks once again to all the staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda197708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    53
    27
    23
    7
See reviews for
18
63
26
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

It was exactly what we expected, a very good price/value ratio. It's very simple, but very clean, friendly place with extremly helpful stuff.
The breakfast was nice, and if you book your room on their website then it's f

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hronnie_aron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

cant believe that for 13 pounds a night per person that it would be so good, lovely staff, great atmosphere and easy location. OK the toilet was outside the room, but it was clean and nice with a separate shower room and hot water. free wifi was also included, we were very happy

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haffeniceday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BG
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

This is a hotel with shared bathrooms which is very budget friendly and in good location. The buses to the city center and the airport are just around the corner. Very quiet and pretty neighborhood, there is a nice restaurant near it. Sinks in the rooms, bathrooms could be cleaner.But the guests could as well left them cleaner after they used them. It was a complete mess after some guests.
I`d stay there again.

Room Tip: Room 4 is a single room, spacious enough, wardrobe and tv and sink inside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iv_iv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Rooms were big, with high ceilings. Clean room, daily towels etc.

Lori (the manager) was extremely helpful.
There was plenty to eat for breakfast.
Bus stop is close by and there are a few buses that all take you to the city centre.
Had a nice stay.
Would recommend this guest house.

Ahmed

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank x_Joyce_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Landau In Der Pfalz, Germany
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Room-No. 11
Journey period: 05.02.2014-09.02.2014

Our accommodation “Marilyn Mansion” in Dublin, Ireland, was a big disappointment for us. The twin room we booked had only had one wardrobe with just 3 coat-hangers. So you could only hang up our coats. Furthermore, the wardrobe was not divided by any shelves. There was only one bed-side table for one double bed in the room, and we did not even have a chair or a table. In the de-scription of the room it was said to be equipped with a hairdryer, but this was also missing. So good luck that we brought one ourselves.

One of the main negative aspects was the noisy water heater in the wall next to the bed. The first night, restorative sleep was impossible because the boiler heated the water up for thirty minutes every hour. Directly in the morning, we asked the owner of the accommodation whether we could switch it off the night. According to him, other guests have already criticized that it is extremely loud, but he did not seem to have tried to improve the situation. So the following nights, we turned the heater off when we went to bed to get some sleep and early in the morning, we turned it on again.

The next disappointment was unfortunately not long in coming. The breakfast room was more like a living room with only one big table for 7 guests in the middle. If you did not get up early enough, you had to search for another chair and if you did not find one, you had to wait on a couch in the room until you got a seat at the breakfast table. The breakfast consisted of one sort of toast, two different jams, one sort of ham, cheese and salami and some eggs. Then, there was one kind of muesli and cornflakes, one fruit juice and tea or coffee. To be honest, that’s not what we’d call a balanced breakfast.

For us, the worst point was that our towels and bed linen were not changed a single time during our whole stay at the “Marilyn Mansion”. The bed was made only once, but with the used bed lin-en. We do not know how regularly the towels and bed linen will be changed, but within five days, we have expected to get clean ones.

Conclusion:

Compared to the room no. 16 in the “Marilyn Mansion”, our room was like a flophouse. If you do not set great value on clean towels, a balanced breakfast and restorative sleep, then you can spend a night there at low costs. But if you look for relaxation and privacy, then we definitely would not recommend the “Marilyn Mansion” for your vacation in Dublin.




  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
Thank Mia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
3.6 mi away
Egans House
Egans House
#27 of 162 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
1.5 mi away
Paddy's House
Paddy's House
#93 of 162 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
5.2 mi away
Flyover Bed and Breakfast
Flyover Bed and Breakfast
#15 of 162 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Tipperary House
Tipperary House
#11 of 162 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
1.5 mi away
Leesonbridge Guesthouse
Leesonbridge Guesthouse
#7 of 162 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
4.8 mi away
Almara Bed & Breakfast Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marilyn Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marilyn Mansion

Property: The Marilyn Mansion
Address: 37 Garville Avenue, Dublin D6, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 162 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Marilyn Mansion 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marilyn Mansion is located in a beautiful green street in one of the quietest area of Dublin, only 10 min bus away from the city centre. We provide simple but clean rooms, wireless Internet and free parking on site. For business or holidays; you can expect a young, international & always relax atmosphere! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Marilyn Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing