We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely pannini”
Review of il Valentino

il Valentino
Ranked #6 of 26 Bakeries in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Artisan bakery & cafe'- open 7 days a week. Coffee specialties, 25 types of artisan breads, hand made viennoiserie, pastries and cakes. Sourdough, spelt bread, stoneground flour, pain brioche, 3 types of croissants, cannoli siciliani, signature biscuits. Hand made sandwiches, hand made soups. No enzymes, preservatives, vegetable oils,hydrogenated oils or calcium propionate in our flours. Thank you for choosing quality and care !
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely pannini”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Popped in here for a quick bite for lunch as we were based at the Marker hotel. Surprised that others rate the staff as unfriendly - we found them lovely. It was late afternoon on Valentines Day and the waitress was giving everyone free heart shaped cakes and shortbreads and was charming. We had really delicious focaccia and pannini and a great experience. Give it a try!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline2811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owen d, Owner at il Valentino, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
hello Caroline,

thank you for your lovely review. We share all reviews with the staff, and nothing motivates everyone more that a good pat on the back !
We strive for quality and care and it is so reassuring when customers let us know we did well :-)
Hope you will be back for more.
All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    67
    13
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The perfect coffee house!”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Living nearby, I am very lucky to have such a great coffee shop so close! If you're looking for great coffee in the area and perhaps something baked to accompany, look no further. You're welcome.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Castlelulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owen d, Owner at il Valentino, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Hello CastleLulu,
we are proud to be the "corner bakery" of the local community. That was our intention since the very beginning.
All our local, fresh, preservative free ingredients, organic wherever we can. Salads from the Penny & Udo farm, real vanilla pods, slit by hands. Not one artificial aroma or enhancer comes near our bakery, which, i am sure, you know is right under the shop.
We will share your review with the staff. They will be delighted.
Thank you !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderfull coffee”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Such a pity as the cafe itself is quite atmospheric and the staff are prompt and reasonably pleasant, even if they could be a little friendlier or more welcoming.... cakes and bread tasty but unfortunately everything overpriced

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joanna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owen d, Owner at il Valentino, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Hello thunder-feet,
thank you for your review. Il valentino is an artisan bakery, and the laboratory sits right underneath the shop. There, everything is done by hand, including the croissants, using the best, and I mean the best, ingredients available. No preservatives, only calcium propionate free flours, real vanilla pods, slit by hands. Not one "aroma" or enhancer goes into our product. We hope you will be back to try more.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Disappointed when back there”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

OK, I won't talk about food or drinks since you can really find good brioches and cakes (but not exceptional coffee). I mean, a normal cafe from that point of view.
What I really dislike is the way they do not care about customers (or at least this is what it feels like to me).
It is by now many months that their cakes are shown in a freezer full of ice which is dropping water right on the cakes and desserts. I would never buy that stuff. It has never been cleaned (at least since March 2013).
I do understand it is a busy place, but tables are always dirty with pieces of food waiting for somebody to be thrown away.
Once, a waiter has even drunk what a girl left in her cup, definetly he did not impress her since she looked at me shocked.
Last, but probably this is exactly their fault, a lot of flies inside the cafe (this happens often also in other places in Dublin).
It is a pity, I would like to come back there again, but it is impossible now.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vincenzo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owen d, Owner at il Valentino, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear customer,

We are sorry to read your disappointed review.
We are always open to feedback, and we gather that you may have experienced a visit at times of particular pressure on our shop.
However, I wish to point out that the description of a " freezer full of ice, dripping on the cakes (!) and never cleaned since March 2013 (!)" is plainly false.
If the ice was dripping water “on the cakes” they would be immediately “unsellable”. The freezer is cleaned every week and fully defrosted and cleaned every month. We had an incident about a month ago when a child playing around switched it off by mistake and, yes, all the cakes were ruined on that day. Maybe you happened to visit in that circumstance.
You may assess our coffee “unimpressive” but this is actually the blend chosen to represent the best of Italian taste at the Fenice theatre, and the historic caffe’ Quadri in Venice. And our baristas are second to none offering Latte Art any time they can.
We look over the Canal basin, and unfortunately there is little more than a fly electric device that we can do. In September and October we do have some flies visiting, as well as all the other establishments in the area.
I feel compelled to reject the assertion that our staff do not care about the customers. Quite the opposite. They are warm and caring persons and they nurture a customer centric attitude.
We have opened an investigation on the episode that you mention. Were we to find evidence of the incident that you report there will be immediate disciplinary action taken on the staff responsible.
I am sorry you were disappointed enough to write this review. We are only satisfied with 5 stars reviews and we strive to deliver a 5 stars experience. Your review is now stuck on our blackboard and a staff meeting held this afternoon.
We genuinely hope to have you soon back in our bakery.
The next week end to come are dedicated to chocolate.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Baking like my grandma!”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Absolutely delicious cakes, bread, coffee!! The staff is wonderful and the small and well located setting is ideal for your morning treat or mid afternoon cake :) - I love it...

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cristina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owen d, Owner at il Valentino, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Hello Cristina,
"baking like your Grandma", you say, well, we couldn't aspire to better compliments. So much so that we still use the same ingredients you would find in the press of a well conscientious "nonna".
Not a drop of "chemical aromas" in our bakery.
Thank you for your good review, Cristina, and keep coming back !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed il Valentino also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to il Valentino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing