We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ballsbridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ballsbridge Hotel
Ranked #90 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel as I was going to game in aviVa.very good location for match. rooms were very clean as was rest of hotel. Bar was good fun but band playing could have entertained more. They left too long between songs. The bedroom and bathroom I stayed in were spotless. The check in was efficient and friendly. This hotel bedrooms are dated however this hotel still has loads to offer. Can't fault much about this hotel. We got good value for our money and will stay there again for future games or concerts

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tipp6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    495
    725
    494
    231
    192
See reviews for
326
670
100
443
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

I was in this hotel for 3 days from 31 July-3rd Aug.Rooms was clean and size was average.Rates was very overpriced at sat and Sunday quality was good.room services was ok. Internet was missing at internet.You have pay for internet its should be free as this happen everywhere in world.

overall good hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AshishKmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

My teenage son and I stayed here during the first week of April this year (2013). It was our very first impression of Ireland. Unfortunately, the first room we had was horrific! We were led to a wing of the hotel that must be extremely old. As soon as we headed entered the elevator there was a strong smell of mold. That was nothing compared to the overpowering stench that met us when the door opened to our floor (sorry can't remember which floor). I couldn't make it down the hall to our room without retching from the mold/mildew odor, it was simply OVERPOWERING! I hoped it would be better in our room but it wasn't. I tried to open our room window but it was nailed shut! Plus the room was soooo old and uninviting my heart just sank. When I told the front desk that I needed a room with a window that opens they said that most of the hotel room windows were broken and nailed shut like that. So we were given another room on a different floor. The entire floor was odor free as was our room thank goodness. And the decor was beautiful! The buffet breakfast was wonderful as was the Dubliner Pub. The burger on the Pub menu was my son's favorite. We were booked to stay here on our last night in Dublin a week later and thankfully our room was in a non-smelly wing. Again we enjoyed dining at the Dubliner Pub off the lobby. Unfortunately, there seemed to be only one wait person on staff at the time and we waited 30 minutes to get a menu and another 30 for our food to be served. Come to think of it the first time we dined there they had only one waiter for the entire pub. Apparently she was more efficient. There's plenty of parking and they will take care of the fee at the front desk. This hotel is within walking distance of a few restaurants and shops. The rates are reasonable so I would cautiously recommend this hotel to someone with the warning about the stinky areas (maybe that's been remedied) and the long wait at the Pub.

Room Tip: The rooms in the newer part of the hotel are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelinmama1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherokee, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
59 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

This hotel is improving as it has undergone some renovations. Lobby is nice. We were in rooms that were fine but not all rooms are complete, to my understanding. Staff was friendly and food good. However, security wasn't the best as the doors to the elevators/rooms was never locked at night that we knew. Some problems here with walk-ins. If you are in a group and expect to be in a central location, this does not offer it. It is not within walking distance to anything close for restaurants, pubs, shopping.

Room Tip: Ask to be in rooms that have undergone renovations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bzylady71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Hotel seemed nice from the outside, was slightly further out of the city than the website said but luckily it was a nice day for the walk.

Entered our room to find a very bland room and bed! The bed had no valence sheet with the bare divan showing,which is not the standard you pay for when in a hotel! If the one night stay had of been €50 cheaper I would accept this standard. This room was something you would expect in a cheap foreign hotel.

Not only was the room bare and bland, the carpet had stains beside the bed which just made the room look even worse than it already was!

The bathroom was old, rundown and in serious need of refurbishment. The taps at the sink leaked, and the taps for the showers were old,fiddly and loose. On the wall of the bathroom was a very old phone and hair dryer. These had definitely been in place for a very long time.

On a more positive note, the breakfast was good, with a very good selection of cereals,breads, fruit and a cooked breakfast. No complaints with the food!

Overall, the room was very disappointing and I would say I wouldn't stay here again, unless the rooms had improved a great deal!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikd87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stayed here about two weeks ago, was a beautiful hotel on arrival in a busy area. Had a high expectations for the room quality after seeing the bar and lobby area. When entering the room furniture seemed very dated, bedside lamps were chipped, old style tv, desk was chipped and scraped underneath the glass protector. I had higher expectations for here but was not suited for myself it seems to be more for the business client. Staff were average girl upon check-in was nice, went to bar and it was almost ten pm and was told we cannot order (last order is at ten) and if we want to go somewhere there is a chipper down the road. Would only return if wasn't spending too much time in the room.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
345 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Although this is a fancy hotel in a high rent district, it is not a convenient location for tourists. Conversely, it is probably a good place for business travel. Located near the U.S. embassy in the D4 district, travel to any tourist locations will require a taxi. The hotel is very busy with business travelers and tour groups, but food was marginal, bar service very slow, and long waits at the front dest, restrooms, etc. because of the activity. Rooms were okay, but not fabulous given the rates charged and the fancy neighborhood. Probably would not stay here again as a tourist, just to inconvenient.

Room Tip: If you are a business traveler, you probably would rate this slightly higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlesodonnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.6 mi away
Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge
0.7 mi away
Clayton Hotel Burlington Road
0.4 mi away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#31 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Canal Hotel
Grand Canal Hotel
#38 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,608 reviews
0.3 mi away
Herbert Park Hotel
Herbert Park Hotel
#22 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,710 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pembroke Townhouse
Pembroke Townhouse
#76 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballsbridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballsbridge Hotel

Property: Ballsbridge Hotel
Address: Pembroke Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballsbridge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ballsbridge Hotel is a 4 star property located just minute's from Dublin city centre. With 400 luxury guestrooms (many of which were refurbished in 2013), a traditional Irish pub and the fantastic Raglans Restaurant serving delicious cuisine, Ballsbridge Hotel is the perfect choice for any visit to Dublin. We're located beside Aviva Stadium, home to Ireland's international soccer and rugby teams, and just a short stroll to the 3Arena and Dublin's theatre and shopping districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ballsbridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing