We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to stay for first time in Dublin”
Review of Ballsbridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ballsbridge Hotel
Ranked #90 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
TEMPLE CITY
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good place to stay for first time in Dublin”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Stayed here Sept 1st & 7th.Part of a tour package.hotel has A/C . tower rooms are very good.
was clean . All of staff was friendly. Reception staff was professional. Dubliner Pub needs better
management. Good location, 30 minute walk to center of town.

Room Tip: 6th floor rooms are best ,called Executive rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robkat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    502
    731
    503
    234
    192
See reviews for
329
676
100
453
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

Room was a bit dated but adequate, service was good, BUT the food? Not good. The Dubliner Gastro Pub was just ... Rank. The slow cooked lamb shank had to be hacked off with a firm hand, anything but slow cooked and flavourless. The Cajun pizza was as dry as a bone with chicken pieces incinerated on top with Cajun flavouring haphazardly thrown on top of it. When asked for some garlic sauce to make it edible I was told the kitchen did not have any. I would prefer to buy a €2 Supervalu pizza, fact!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank everdeen87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TulaneManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Ballsbridge Hotel, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear Guest

Thanks for your review. I'm disappointed that you didn't enjoy your meal in The Dubliner Pub. We typically get great feedback on our cuisine. I will pass on your feedback to the restaurant manager immediately.

Kind regards
Donal Meehan
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

I stayed here on business on 11th September for one night. Normally I stay in the Burlington round the block, but it was full. Reception is lovely and spacious. I arrived at 6.00pm having driven from Cork and there was confusion as to whether a room was ready?, which I though odd at that time of day. Car Parking is Euro 10.50 overnight, which is pretty standard in Dublin, I think the Burlington is Euro 9, but you have to walk miles from an empty office car park to the Hotel.
My room was in the annexe known as the Tower which is quite a walk from Reception and no concierge service was offered. The room was huge, with two chairs, writing desk, sideboard etc. Seperate walk in wardrobe with ironing board on wall, trouser press, kettle and masses of hanging space and shelving for your clothes. There would be easily enough room for my wifes clothes as well for a weeks stay!!!
Bathroom is again spacious with an over bath shower, as powerful as any hotel ive stayed in and i stay in lots of hotels. The Dubliner Bar is large and lively and reasonably priced for Dublin. I didnt eat but did have a drink. The main restaurant is again very spacious. I had a Full breakfast which was buffet style, hot, plentifill and reasonable at Euro 9.95.
Great night sleep as well. Shame about the tiny TV in such a large room. Overall a good hotel and I will stay again when i return to Dublin on business.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neil s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We only stayed in this hotel because we had to attend a conference in the RDS. Service is good. Rooms were kept clean. I could not comment on the price as we got ours on discounted rates.

It's a few minutes away from the city centre but you can take a bus or taxi from the hotel.

Buffet breakfast was superb!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel as I was going to game in aviVa.very good location for match. rooms were very clean as was rest of hotel. Bar was good fun but band playing could have entertained more. They left too long between songs. The bedroom and bathroom I stayed in were spotless. The check in was efficient and friendly. This hotel bedrooms are dated however this hotel still has loads to offer. Can't fault much about this hotel. We got good value for our money and will stay there again for future games or concerts

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tipp6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I was in this hotel for 3 days from 31 July-3rd Aug.Rooms was clean and size was average.Rates was very overpriced at sat and Sunday quality was good.room services was ok. Internet was missing at internet.You have pay for internet its should be free as this happen everywhere in world.

overall good hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AshishKmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.6 mi away
Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge
0.7 mi away
Clayton Hotel Burlington Road
0.4 mi away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#30 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Canal Hotel
Grand Canal Hotel
#41 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,629 reviews
0.3 mi away
Herbert Park Hotel
Herbert Park Hotel
#21 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,791 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pembroke Townhouse
Pembroke Townhouse
#76 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballsbridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballsbridge Hotel

Property: Ballsbridge Hotel
Address: Pembroke Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballsbridge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ballsbridge Hotel is a 4 star property located just minute's from Dublin city centre. With 400 luxury guestrooms (many of which were refurbished in 2013), a traditional Irish pub and the fantastic Raglans Restaurant serving delicious cuisine, Ballsbridge Hotel is the perfect choice for any visit to Dublin. We're located beside Aviva Stadium, home to Ireland's international soccer and rugby teams, and just a short stroll to the 3Arena and Dublin's theatre and shopping districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotelopia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ballsbridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing