We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rugby Weekend”
Review of Ballsbridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ballsbridge Hotel
Ranked #89 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Orsett, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rugby Weekend”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

I went away with friends for a long weekend to see the Ireland vs Wales rugby match. The hotel was very comfortable, the room I stayed was spacious, clean and well equipped. The staff were friendly, helpful and were always happy to help us. The location is great because it is close to the stadium and it isn't too far away from town. The restaurant offers a good choice of food and it is a great meeting place for friends after a day out. I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Dublin.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    516
    753
    520
    243
    199
See reviews for
344
697
101
465
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Great hotel, the staff really are superb; they really do know how to look after their clients making the stay delightful. The food is also excellent and the rooms are great
Highly recommend this hotel. Look forward to staying there again very soon.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Blackheath04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BallsbridgeGRM, Guest Relations Manager at Ballsbridge Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear Blackheath04,

Thank you for choosing The Ballsbridge Hotel and also for your very positive feedback and wonderful comments on your recent stay.
I am delighted to hear you had such an enjoyable stay with us and look forward to hopefully welcoming you to The Ballsbridge Hotel again very soon.

Kind regards,
Conor O Sullivan
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orsett, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

warm welcome at reception, rooms on arrival...excellent. The choice of breakfast was very good along with the waiters service. The hotel its self is very clean and smart and I would always recommend this hotel to friends, family or anyone I know of wishing to stay in Dublin. the only comment i have is that the tomatoes could be cut in half (very large!)

Room Tip: all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BallsbridgeGRM, Guest Relations Manager at Ballsbridge Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear Kevin L,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of The Ballsbridge Hotel.
I am delighted to see positive comments about our hotel as we try to welcome all our guests with a warm welcome and ensure your stay is as relaxing as possible. I have also noted your suggestion about the tomato portions.

I look forward to seeing you at The Ballsbridge Hotel again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Conor O Sullivan
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

SInce I last stayed new management have taken over hotel there have been noticeable signs of improvement particularly to the decor of the hotel. Staff friendliness still remains one of their strong points from Reservation enquiries (I dealt with Naresh) to Floor Managers, Reception and bar staff. The food has also improved in the past year.

Room Tip: The Towers rooms are the best but I can see the Inn rooms are being upgraded at the moment. Second...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Patrick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BallsbridgeGRM, Guest Relations Manager at Ballsbridge Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear Patrick L,

Thank you for choosing The Ballsbridge Hotel again and also for your very positive feedback and wonderful comments on your recent stay. I am absolutely delighted to hear it was so enjoyable.
We are refurbishing the last remaining block of our classic rooms at the moment with over 220 completed to date and our new Executive Head Chef has redesigned all of our menus which promises that every guests culinary experience will be a memorable one.

I look forward to personally welcoming you back to The Ballsbridge Hotel when you are next in Dublin.

Kind regards,
Conor O Sullivan
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

I was looking at a few reviews regarding this hotel. Alot were complaining about workmen and the noise. I encountered this but i did realise that if the hotel is to improve it needs work to be done. Simple. The only complaint i have was the heat in the room was too hot and i was unable to adjust it. But thats nothing to worry about. Overall i feel i got more than what i paid for.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Aisling S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I recently organised my hockey ball for 200 people in the Ballsbridge Hotel. I was very satisfied with the night. The event team in the hotel were very efficient and were there on their emails or on their phones all day to answer any questions I had. They were extremely nice and easy to deal with. The security on the night were brilliant which meant there was no trouble on the night. The waiting staff were brilliant and were well experienced serving big crowds of students. The food was exactly what you wanted too, with a special shout out to the apple pie which was truly delicious. The bar offer good prices and the bedrooms are very clean too.
I would recommend anyone to organize any event there. Very good location too so can go to town easily afterwards.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emzymc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballina, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We stayed at the Ballsbridge Hotel for the Ireland vs Wales rugby international and found it to be an enjoyable and comfortable stay. A special word of praise must go to Gemma on reception who dealt with us promptly and with a smile. The other staff were both friendly and helpful for the duration of our stay. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is staying for a game/concert in the Aviva in the future. The only disappointing aspect of our stay was the charging of 10 euro for parking for guests.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BallsbridgeGRM, Guest Relations Manager at Ballsbridge Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear Patrick B,

Thank you for leaving your comments regarding your recent stay with us, It is the hotel’s aim to ensure our guests fully enjoy their stay with us no matter how long or short their stay.

I hope you choose to stay at The Ballsbridge Hotel again when in Dublin.

Kind regards,
Conor O Sullivan
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.6 mi away
Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge
0.3 mi away
Herbert Park Hotel
Herbert Park Hotel
#20 of 151 in Dublin
1,985 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#26 of 151 in Dublin
2,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Canal Hotel
Grand Canal Hotel
#39 of 151 in Dublin
1,672 reviews
0.7 mi away
Clayton Hotel Burlington Road
0.5 mi away
Mespil Hotel
Mespil Hotel
#31 of 151 in Dublin
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballsbridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballsbridge Hotel

Property: Ballsbridge Hotel
Address: Pembroke Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballsbridge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ballsbridge Hotel is a 4 star property located just minute's from Dublin city centre. With 400 luxury guestrooms (many of which were refurbished in 2013), a traditional Irish pub and the fantastic Raglans Restaurant serving delicious cuisine, Ballsbridge Hotel is the perfect choice for any visit to Dublin. We're located beside Aviva Stadium, home to Ireland's international soccer and rugby teams, and just a short stroll to the 3Arena and Dublin's theatre and shopping districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Nozio Netplan srl, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Ballsbridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing