We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Dublin accommodation”
Review of Ballsbridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ballsbridge Hotel
Ranked #89 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Derry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Dublin accommodation”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Ballsbridge Hotel is an excellent place to stay, it is in central Dublin conveniently located to city centre and local attractions such as Aviva stadium and RDS.
Rooms are spacious and all en-suite , hotel facilities are very good and breakfast is always to look forward to with friendly staff and plenty of coffee.
Hotel lounge is good as is the hotel bar and lounge
All in all a great place to stay in Dublin

Room Tip: all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    529
    765
    535
    247
    203
See reviews for
357
713
103
472
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

stayed in the hotel on the 28th of March for my wife's brithday. booked a suite and could not of been happier with the room and service. Bottle of wine waiting in the room for us on arrival to mark the occassion. Staff were really nice and made us feel very welcome throughout the hotel. Special thanks to Tania for sorting out the booking and helping to make it a special weekend

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I recently attended a 3 day conference in Dublin city and stayed in the Ballsbridge Hotel - I had stayed here years before and I was satisfied with it so returned to be met with a wonderful surprise. The entire hotel has been renovated beautifully, with furnishings of the highest quality. The staff were incredible - polite,courteous and helpful; from the first member of staff I met Reception, to the manager whose name escapes me but I believe it to be Conor Sullivan, there was always a smile and an impeccable air of professionalism that would rival any 5 star hotel I have stayed in. The room was beautifully decorated, immaculate (as was the rest of the hotel) and I slept like a baby both nights. I feel compelled to mention, also, that the food in the hotel was incredible, and I found myself eating in the hotel more often than exploring the various restaurants within walking distance of the hotel, which is a true testament to the quality of the food. Overall, I could not recommend a better hotel in which to stay, and will be returning at every available opportunity!

Room Tip: The higher floors have beautiful views over the city of Dublin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BallsbridgeGRM, Guest Relations Manager at Ballsbridge Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Kevin H,

Many thanks for reviewing your stay at our hotel. I must say I am delighted to read that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and I'm also delighted that we had a chance to meet. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to all of the departments.
I look forward to welcoming you back to The Ballsbridge Hotel again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Conor O Sullivan
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

My friend and I checked in on a Saturday afternoon. The receptionist wasn't very nice in fact borderline rude, the receptionist also seemed to have an attitude because we had used lastminute.com for our booking. The hotel does not provide free wifi and charge €7.50 per day per device. Not really good enough. When we went to our room it was grubby looking and very hot and stuffy. I rang reception to see if there was air con and told not in our room. I asked to be moved and instead a fan was sent to our room which nearly made the situation worse. We had to sleep with the windows open and still the room was to hot. The walls were dirty, the bed wasn't made up properly, there were stains on the dressing table and dead insects on the window sill. We had food and drinks in the hotel bar which were just ok. All in all not a great experience and the hotel definitely does not deserve the 4 star rating, I'd say 2 at a push.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank CRoss85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BallsbridgeGRM, Guest Relations Manager at Ballsbridge Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear CRoss85,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Ballsbridge Hotel. I was disappointed to hear about the problems you encountered while staying with us recently. We take pride in delivering a high quality product and I am truly sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. Let me assure you your comments are noted and will be used to improve on the areas you have mentioned. I hope you would consider returning to us sometime in the future so we can provide you with the true quality service we strive to achieve daily.

Kind regards,
Conor O Sullivan
Guest Relations Manager
cosullivan@ballsbridgehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Navan, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Stayed in the Ballsbridge Hotel on company time during the week. The refurbishments have transformed the hotel and I loved my brief stay there. Despite a very busy conference taking place in the main ballroom the staff were fantastic and very helpful.
Would recommend it to anyone visiting Dublin on business or pleasure.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DaveMurdiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We arrived early at the Ballsbridge Hotel and were greeted very warmly by the staff, who promptly gave us a parking validation ticket so that was a wonderful surprise as we thought we would need to pay for parking. Luckily, they had a room available even though we got there before normal check in time. The general feel of the hotel lobby is very old-world, elegant and warming. There was a notice at the front desk that said they would not have power the next day from 12-5. We were on the 8th floor and we had a nice view of the Ballsbridge neighborhood. We unloaded in the room and headed out to Trinity College and the Guinness Storehouse. We walked so much that day and we were so thankful to have a bathtub to soak our swollen feet. Right in the middle of that time, somewhere around 7-8PM, the fire alarm went off. We called down to the front desk and they said it was a glitch and that there was no emergency. We didn't think much of it and went to sleep but were woken up the next morning by the alarm going off again. I understand that it was not their fault per se, but it was just unfortunate to be woken up that way. So, we headed out again to see the sights of Dublin. We came back to the hotel a little before 11AM and were able to make it in time for the breakfast buffet. This was our favorite breakfast of the trip, they had so much to offer and it was all delicious. After breakfast, we went back up to the room for a break in the day. I started to watch some tv while my husband took a nap and then the power went off. I thought the notice about the power outage meant midnight to 5AM but it was noon to 5PM. I'm sure that I missed this clarification in the notice and, again, this is most likely out of their control but it was inconvenient at the time. It was a fine place to stay but I would probably pick somewhere closer to St. Stephen's Green if we return to Dublin.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hillary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

We arrived in Dublin and were horrified to discover that our tour had been cancelled several months earlier without our knowledge. Thank goodness that the hotel we went to was the Ballsbridge and that we were able to deal with such wonderful staff, who provided us with a sympathetic ear over a welcome complementary cup of tea, and later a room and breakfast for the two nights it took for us to sort out our dilemma. We must make a special mention of Fiona from Reservations, who went far beyond the line of duty and tried to relieve our stress and worry as much as she could. We cannot recommend this hotel highly enough and Fiona definitely deserves a special reward from her employer! Clare and Paul.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.6 mi away
Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge
0.4 mi away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#27 of 151 in Dublin
2,295 reviews
0.4 mi away
Herbert Park Hotel
Herbert Park Hotel
#18 of 151 in Dublin
2,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Canal Hotel
Grand Canal Hotel
#37 of 151 in Dublin
1,689 reviews
0.7 mi away
Clayton Hotel Burlington Road
0.5 mi away
Mespil Hotel
Mespil Hotel
#32 of 151 in Dublin
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballsbridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballsbridge Hotel

Property: Ballsbridge Hotel
Address: Pembroke Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballsbridge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ballsbridge Hotel is a 4 star property located just minute's from Dublin city centre. With 400 luxury guestrooms (many of which were refurbished in 2013), a traditional Irish pub and the fantastic Raglans Restaurant serving delicious cuisine, Ballsbridge Hotel is the perfect choice for any visit to Dublin. We're located beside Aviva Stadium, home to Ireland's international soccer and rugby teams, and just a short stroll to the 3Arena and Dublin's theatre and shopping districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Nozio Netplan srl, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ballsbridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing