We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous 30th Birthday Surprise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ballsbridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ballsbridge Hotel
Ranked #88 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Fabulous 30th Birthday Surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed in this hotel for two nights 4th-6th July. It was booked as a surprise trip to Dublin for my 30th birthday and there were 15 of us in total various age ranges but no children. The hotel was really nice, rooms were clean and spacious, the hotel gave us all rooms near to each other was fab! There was a problem with one room but they gave us an executive suite at no extra cost.
The bar staff were lovely and no one complained when we took the luggage trolley for a ride round the bar.. lol! Breakfast was included and it was nice the only thing they didnt have baked beans you had to ask for them and then they bought them out, dont know why they just dont have them on the breakfast side along with the other food?!?! Bit bizarre! I have no complaints all the staff were nice enough the only thing that the fire alarm went off at 7am our first morning about 5 times, no members of staff came and there was no fire but it was annoying especially as wed only been asleep a few hours. Overall the hotel was fab for what we needed.

Room Tip: We all stayed on the first floor rooms, room 137 I had that was fine. The executive room was 556 and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank shell c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    489
    710
    489
    227
    190
See reviews for
318
662
98
436
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Located on the Pembroke Road in Dublin 4 almost in front of US Embassy, Ballsbridge Hotel is a luxurious hotel offering excellent facilities. The staff (Stephan Andrea & Yolanta) deserve a special mention, as all were extremely efficient polite friendly & genuinely great people.
Hotel has some historical charm, which means the rooms are very bright spacious and comfortable. I lived here for around 11 weeks from mid April to July'14. Had a great Irish breakfast included with the room.The reception area is massive with lots of sofa's plus an internet station there is also a room where you can leave your luggage if your room isn't ready or you have a late flight.
All in all a very memorable stay in Dublin! Thanks again to the amazing staff!

Room Tip: Gymnasium is not there in Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Arpit D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Wherever i visit, I look for a clean room with well behaved staffs with good food. I believe you can connect customers with nice behaviour. For an example there is a guy in the front desk name stephan whom I liked very much always comes up with smile and would help you in any problems and takes responsibility as well. I really liked the stay. Even the managers are also lovely like brunette and naresh. I came across with then in my 2.5 months stay. All in all lovely experience. My suggestion for them to make a gym in the hotel asap..
@arnab

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Arnb070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

I stayed here one night for a meeting the following morning.

From Dublin Airport it's about 30 Euros..

Had a burger and chips in the Dubliner bar here, food was as expected and service staff were friendly.

The room was okay and bed was comfortable. I was woken several times during the night by passing traffic and various noises (ahem..) from other rooms.

Breakfast was not included in the package, but I opted to buy it. Full Irish was about 13 Euros and served buffet style. Again, like dinner the food was okay, but I'd avoid the Mushrooms as they had no flavour whatsoever.

Check out was easy and they offer a bag holding facility if required, but it's not especially secure and you don't have to offer any receipt to collect your bag. You can just go into the room and grab it.

In summary, this is okay for a short business stop, but generally the hotel felt and looked just a little bit tired. For the price paid it was acceptable, but I wouldn't rush to rebook if I was in the area again.

Room Tip: Choose an interior room if you don't want to be disturbed by traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andipr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night and have to say place is great for the price you pay. Entrance is decorated beautifully and room was lovely, restaurant could do with an upgrade but food was great anyway. Big thanks to Ciara for telling us about places to see around town even got a map was very usefull and we had a great day out!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Jemma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundalk, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

This was our second time staying in the hotel, we had a very positive first experience so decided to return. Reception welcomed us back & dealt with our check in with courtesy & professionalism. The room was spotless & spacious and most importantly very comfortable. The main difference this time was the atmosphere in the hotel was buzzing. They had set up extra TV's to accommodate the World Cup, but also leaving quiet areas for those who did not wish to view. Service at the bar & restaurant was excellent. Food was delicious, I personally especially enjoyed breakfast. The offering was even greater than last time & was all very fresh - staff again where extremely attentive. I would recommend this hotel to singles & families alike as it is close to all city centre amenities & staff are very well trained to ensure your stay is enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ICM1106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Awesome room, Rory (with an Irish spelling) on the front desk looked after us well. The concerige helped me to plan my other 2 days camping. It is a pity that breakfast is not included in the room rate though

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kieran73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.6 mi away
Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge
0.4 mi away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#29 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,984 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pembroke Townhouse
Pembroke Townhouse
#77 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Clayton Hotel Burlington Road
0.4 mi away
Grand Canal Hotel
Grand Canal Hotel
#39 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,589 reviews
0.3 mi away
Herbert Park Hotel
Herbert Park Hotel
#21 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballsbridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballsbridge Hotel

Property: Ballsbridge Hotel
Address: Pembroke Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballsbridge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ballsbridge Hotel is a 4 star property located just minute's from Dublin city centre. With 400 luxury guestrooms (many of which were refurbished in 2013), a traditional Irish pub and the fantastic Raglans Restaurant serving delicious cuisine, Ballsbridge Hotel is the perfect choice for any visit to Dublin. We're located beside Aviva Stadium, home to Ireland's international soccer and rugby teams, and just a short stroll to the 3Arena and Dublin's theatre and shopping districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotelopia, HotelsClick, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Ballsbridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing