We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“3 night stay for two women under 30”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ballsbridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ballsbridge Hotel
Ranked #90 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“3 night stay for two women under 30”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel! Excellent facilities and very friendly and helpful staff!
Breakfast was delicious! The only downside is having to pay extra for wifi.
Was about a 20minute walk in to the Centre, but the walk was very picturesque and relaxing :) The room was very clean and the complementary hot drinks and soaps were a lovely touch!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank Holly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    496
    727
    495
    231
    192
See reviews for
327
672
100
444
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
County Mayo, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

I've stayed in many hotels in different parts of the world and I have honestly never come cross staff that are so rude! We travelled in a group and booked 4 rooms. One part of our group arrived earlier than I, and had warned us in advance of one male staff member on check in. He attempted to slyly overcharge and when caught out, only said 'oh yes' no apology! The overall check in process was a disaster, confused rooms and staff not mentioning breakfast times or check out time to anyone! Then we got locked out of our room for over half an hour due to technical fault with the key card! We had to go to reception twice to try as get it resolved! Food in the hotel was not enjoyable and it was overpriced! Bar staff forgot one of our orders aswell! I just feel like any dealings we ha with staff in this place was not good! I hate to say it, but it really did put a downside to our trip to Dublin on a whole. The hotel has fabulous room and a very glam feel, it's a huge shame the staff don't match! I have taken all names of he staff we dealt with and plan on contacting the hotel as I mentioned to one receptionist on check out! I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone looking to have an enjoyable hotel experience!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laubeirne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

The location was a little bit farther from all the attractions or any sightseeing bus stop The nearest one being stop 5/6 which took about 15-20 mins walking. The rooms are good sized but there is little to no ventilation! Just a window you can crack open a smidge. The heating/cooling rack didn't work either. They provided us with a small table fan when asked about it which helped but just barely. Also this might only have been our case but one morning the fire alarm went off suddenly and didn't stop for about an hour!!!! What made it worse is they didn't pick up our phone calls etc. made to Reception and we all were out in the lobby in our pajamas waiting for someone. It was not good. The alarms were very loud and we were not assured even that it was nothing to panic about. It would have been nice if they atleast sent a staff member to our floor to say it was ok. All in all, average experience with this bad bit in the end. Probably would pick another hotel if I come again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank RegularTravellerGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
100 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Stayed here on weekend trip to Dublin. Easy access from Dublin Ireland Town Center. In pretty residential section of town, good area for running/walking. Beds very very comfortable with fresh white linens.

Room Tip: In tower pavilion away from street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank lisboa09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

We were staying for 6 nights with a group of children attending a local tennis tournament. The staff were extremely helpful and nothing was too much bother. From Ela in reservations to Raoiri in reception, they looked after everyone. The chef even made a special healthy evening meal for the party after they had finished on court. The children varied in ages and all felt very safe in the hotel. Hotel is in a great location for all the main tennis venues in D4 and surrounding area. Many thanks to Ela and team and we look forward to staying again and recommending to other tennis teams playing and staying in Dublin. Eleanor H

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Eleanor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Very good location, we got the bus to Dublin town centre from just outside the hotel.
We thought our room was in need of upgrading, and I didn't like the shower curtain but that's just my opinion! It was very clean and the staff were helpful. Large buffet style breakfast. Nice place.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

This hotel is conveniently situation on two main bus routes into the city centre. It has car parking - at a price.

As a hotel it is adequate but my experience was disappointing in a number of respects. We had requested a quiet room and were given one next to the noisiest lift shaft in Dublin! We asked for a non slip bath mat. The brought a towel - they seemed not to have heard of a non-slip mats - a bit of an irony as another hotel we stayed at in Dublin later provided and 'insisted' on its use on safety grounds. The Ballsbridge bath had no non-slip features at all - only a grab rail.

The shower head was damaged and difficult to get a sensible spray.

The plug in the wash basin was on a chain only 8cm long - too short to reach the plug hole.

For me not a very comfortable bed.

The TV picture was very poor.

That said the reception staff and the concierge were helpful.

Room Tip: Stay away from the lift shafts!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.6 mi away
Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge
0.7 mi away
Clayton Hotel Burlington Road
0.4 mi away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#31 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Canal Hotel
Grand Canal Hotel
#38 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,611 reviews
0.3 mi away
Herbert Park Hotel
Herbert Park Hotel
#22 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,717 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pembroke Townhouse
Pembroke Townhouse
#76 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballsbridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballsbridge Hotel

Property: Ballsbridge Hotel
Address: Pembroke Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballsbridge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ballsbridge Hotel is a 4 star property located just minute's from Dublin city centre. With 400 luxury guestrooms (many of which were refurbished in 2013), a traditional Irish pub and the fantastic Raglans Restaurant serving delicious cuisine, Ballsbridge Hotel is the perfect choice for any visit to Dublin. We're located beside Aviva Stadium, home to Ireland's international soccer and rugby teams, and just a short stroll to the 3Arena and Dublin's theatre and shopping districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ballsbridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing