We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good experience, nice decor, good sleep and service so 4 stars”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ballsbridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ballsbridge Hotel
Ranked #90 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Good experience, nice decor, good sleep and service so 4 stars”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Short stay close to the city, walking distance, a pleasant experience, nice traditional decoration and furnishing, good sleep and customer service so 4 stars. I would definitely return. Breakfast was nice.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    495
    724
    494
    231
    192
See reviews for
326
670
100
443
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
97 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

I booked via lastminute.ie and got a very good rate, unknown to me at that point was that there was a €10.50 overnight parking fee. The room was functional, clean and comfortable. I requested a quiet room located on a high floor - and it's exactly what I got. I was very impressed at check in, Stephan is an asset to the hotel with his warm, friendly and professional welcome.

There's a coffee dock located directly opposite the hotel that opens at 7am, local supermarkets are also open at that time, there's plenty of places to eat nearby. It's a very safe area.

A few additional points:
I didn't have food in the hotel.
It appears to be popular with tour groups.
No dental kits available ( I forgot my toothepaste)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank daubyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

I stayed at this hotel last March I was really surprised to see such big improvements when I returned this week. I stayed on the 4th floor and the room was beautifully decorated and very comfortable. The hotel is perfectly located, within walking distance of St.Stephens green.
I found all the staff very helpful and informative.
My only complaint would be that the bar food is below average and over priced.

Room Tip: The rooms have no air con. It is rare that you should need it in Dublin but the weather happens to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dreaming98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

For an older hotel and although not accustomed to not having air conditioning in the rooms, the staff more than made up for the few things the hotel lacked. The front desk assistants in particular Ruairi and Miss Fiona were very friendly, personable and most accommodating when requested help with the rooms and also with the Business Centre services. The location was great and the restaurant had excellent porridge!

Room Tip: No A/C so need to request a fan -- of course depending on time of year it is a fan may not even be n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank DorothyJean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile


I'm very glad to once again check in the hotel, employees are very enthusiastic, hotel room is very clean and comfortable. In the evening at the restaurant, the environment is very elegant, the prices are quite reasonable, and the food is delicious! Thank you very much for your service!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
8 Thank Wei S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limavady, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Booked to take my mum and dad as a treat for their anniversary. The price per room seemed expensive and no breakfast included so I rang the hotel and they did add breakfast for the price.

I have stayed in a few 4* hotels and this one really did not rate. The rooms were dirty and run down, tiles missing in bath room, stains and holes in the walls. There was also a really bad smell of damp in the hallway. The air conditioning worked in my room, but not in my parents.

Dinner in the Dubliner was cold! But seriously, no free parking or wifi at those prices!!!!???

Could barley communicate with any staff as their English was poor....

Can't say I will be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lainesy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

the hotel is nice and room is good size and clean with nice extra towels.
i stayed at 7 hotels in ireland and they all have similar characteristics: work desk, table and chairs, iron, no in room safe, no coffee maker but good instant coffee, no air condition, but with window open you don't usually need one even in July but that somewhat depends on location of your room. i was lucky in all other hotels but few others had trouble with noise and warmth. at this hotel room was slightly warm with window open but was not noisy. i did manage to sleep well, but you may need to ask for a fan in warm weather.

location is good in that there are plenty of restaurants and bars nearby within 5 minutes walk, but it's at least 30 minute walk to city center and the river and temple bar area. bring umbrella or poncho if you plan to walk because it can rain at any time.

staff were friendly as they are in all hotels in ireland, but the front desk seems understaffed. in my 2 days there there was often long lines. i understand if they can't hire more people just to handle certain hours of the day, but they should hire a student or someone to answer simple questions like can i have a map or a new wifi password, or my key doesn't work anymore (like mine) without having to stand in line for a long time

i am a big wifi user and i had great free unlimited wifi at all other 6 hotels in ireland. here it's a bit painful. you get a voucher which is good for 10 continuous hours. then it times out next morning and you get a few chances to use 20 minutes at a time and then it asks you to pay about 13 euros, but you can go back to front desk and stand in line to get a new password. why not just make it unlimited like all other places ?

my room was with tour which included breakfast. breakfast all ireland hotels i stayed at are almost identical with minor variations. they are all mediocre. scrambled eggs. sausage. bacon. some places have fried eggs pre made. none have omelet station. all have couple of juices and coffee and small amount of fruits. some have yogurt and potatoes but this place didn't

i think there is a gym with pool but i did not use or see

overall room is good size and comfortable. location is good if you don't want to be in the city center, otherwise it is a bit too far if you don't like walking far. wifi is a bit inconvenient but usable. breakfast is mediocre, but so is every other hotel i stayed at.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shawnsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.6 mi away
Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge
0.7 mi away
Clayton Hotel Burlington Road
0.4 mi away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#31 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Canal Hotel
Grand Canal Hotel
#38 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,607 reviews
0.3 mi away
Herbert Park Hotel
Herbert Park Hotel
#22 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,708 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pembroke Townhouse
Pembroke Townhouse
#77 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballsbridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballsbridge Hotel

Property: Ballsbridge Hotel
Address: Pembroke Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballsbridge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ballsbridge Hotel is a 4 star property located just minute's from Dublin city centre. With 400 luxury guestrooms (many of which were refurbished in 2013), a traditional Irish pub and the fantastic Raglans Restaurant serving delicious cuisine, Ballsbridge Hotel is the perfect choice for any visit to Dublin. We're located beside Aviva Stadium, home to Ireland's international soccer and rugby teams, and just a short stroll to the 3Arena and Dublin's theatre and shopping districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Hotelopia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ballsbridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing