We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value to service”
Review of Ballsbridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ballsbridge Hotel
Ranked #89 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Very good staff. Very nice and always on top of any of the issues you might have. The rooms are really clean. Only minus is the bathroom witch is a bit out of date. Very good experience with the staff at the restaurant, especially Catalin who made me the only decent coffee while in Dublin.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Andrei B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertMcG88, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Ballsbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Firstly I would like to thank you for choosing to stay at Ballsbridge Hotel. At Ballsbridge Hotel we pride ourselves on offering the very best customer experience so it was a delight to hear you had an enjoyable and relaxing stay. I look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again in the future.

Best regards,
Robert McGuinness
Sales & Marketing Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,371)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,228 - 1,234 of 2,371 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2014

Upon arrival we could not check in so we dropped off our bags and toured the city.Upon return to the hotel the front desk staff were not overly friendly, the maintenance man was probably the friendliest and most helpful of the bunch.

The pros of this hotel: Clean rooms although a bit outdated; air-conditioning; close to Dun Laogaharie and Aviva Stadium; really quiet and peaceful area

The cons of this hotel: Too far from the heart of Dublin (tour buses didn't come down to the area); had to pay for WIFI (37 euro for 7 days and for one device at a time only) even though they offered free WIFI in the lobby for 20 minute intervals; had to pay 2 euro to use the hotel computer to check in for our departure flight and print boarding passes (took all of three minutes); no ice machines on either floor (we were on the seventh floor and had to go to the bar on the first floor to get ice); housekeeping barged into our room a couple of mornings without knocking and on the mornings that they did knock they woke us up because it was before 9am every day; housekeeping removed the key card that provided our room with heat every day so we would come back to a chilly room in the evenings after 7 or 8 hours of walking in cool/rainy weather; I had to go to the front desk four times because our room key card didn't work and they had to be re-cut; did not provide us with facecloths after the first day so we had to call the front desk to request them.

We stayed at this hotel for 7 nights but I would not return and I wouldn't recommend it to a friend. We never ate at the restaurant or the pub that were in the hotel because the selection was not great and the prices were a bit extreme. The TV channel selection was very poor.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Gina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertMcG88, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Ballsbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for submitting your review and thank you for choosing to stay with the Ballsbridge Hotel recently. Let me assure you that we take all the feedback provided very seriously as it affords us the opportunity to improve our standards in the future. I am disappointed to hear that your stay was not entirely satisfactory. We constantly strive to provide our guests with the very best in customer experience and hospitality. Please have confidence that these issues will address and will not be repeated.

Best regards,
Robert McGuinness
Sales & Marketing Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We recently did a tour or Ireland and the start hotel was Ballsbridge in Dublin. First point of contact reception - not very welcoming at all, seemed to be more interested in serving other arrivals than us, too many foreign workers with poor English speaking/comprehension, only one extremely helpful young Irish lass who gave us info not in the room compendium, which was way out of date. The Dubliner was reportedly open from 10.00 a.m., still closed at 11.30 a.m. Bathroom: door wouldn't shut mould in grout, not easily visible until you were seated on the toilet itself, reflected from mirrors. Empty disposable coffee cups left over 6 hours in reception on tables, in full view of staff, glass of milk left on window sill by restaurant/opposite toilets, cleaner picked up wiped underneath and then replaced, guess it was for the Leprechauns. Poorly trained bar staff, Bloody Mary served in warm coffee latte glass, complained and given complimentary drinks, made by same barperson, but took 25-30 minutes to make. Ingredients should be altogether, he had to go to table to get pepper pot. Returned after tour to same hotel, placed in room directly above the one we started at and not much better. Décor very "tired". If management want the tour companies to utilise them, they will need to upgrade their services and staff attitude. One great person was Lamine at the Coffee kiosk, absolutely brilliant, very warming welcome with a brilliant smile and attitude, couldn't do enough for you. Thank you Martin Okane for trying to assist two Kiwi travellers, good luck.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank yzfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertMcG88, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Ballsbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for submitting your review and thank you for choosing to stay with the Ballsbridge Hotel recently. Let me assure you that we take all the feedback provided very seriously as it affords us the opportunity to improve our standards in the future. I am disappointed to hear that your stay was not entirely satisfactory. We constantly strive to provide our guests with the very best in customer experience and hospitality. Please have confidence that these issues will address and will not be repeated.

Best regards,
Robert McGuinness
Sales & Marketing Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I stayed at this hotel with my partner for a few nights for a city break. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful at all times, in Raglans and particularly on reception, the first room we were given had a shower which wasn't working properly, the young lady on reception Elaine O'Riordan got this resolved quickly and efficiently and we were moved to an alternative room with no hesitancy despite the hotel and reception being busy. The hotel rooms whilst clean and functional could do with upgrading. Food was good as were the drinks we had !! I would definitely come back and stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank KevinT1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Arrived before check in time but we're able to put bags into a store room so we could start exploring Dublin. Had trouble with first room we were given as the door would not lock properly so was given another no questions asked. (Complimentary drinks for inconvenience) second room very comfortable and clean, although the bathroom does need upgrading to be anywhere near a 4star.
Staff very friendly on reception and always happy to help the same with staff in the Raglans. The Dubliner bar was very expensive and the bar staff were not helpful or happy but the waiting staff here we're bending over backwards to help you in anyway (so they had the tips)
This hotel is marked as 4star it is not! Should be marked as 3star it's no better than any Premier Inn etc
They are doing on going upgrades so if this continues hopefully it could improve.
Fine place to stay if your just visiting the city to see the sights with the kids but as a couple I'd look for more luxury accommodation.
If you want somewhere good to eat and drink there's a bar "oil can Harry's" just along the road:)

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
5  Thank Whitewitch666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with another couple for a long weekend. The staff were very helpful and attentive, breakfast had good variety (if a little expensive) and the lobby and bar areas were nice. The rooms were spacious however the decor was very dated and could probably do with a basic refurb, just a little bit tatty. If you're taller than about 5ft 10" then you might struggle to fit in the shower!!
There's a couple of nice small Irish pubs just a short walk from the hotel (turn left out of main entrance) which have a good atmosphere and serve a nice breakfast and pub grub dinner at a more reasonable price than the hotel.
Would stay at this hotel again.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Ange2156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I stayed in this hotel for 1 night as part of a business trip. The check in process with the individual who carried out my check in was frustrating. They insisted on answering the phone every 2 seconds whilst trying to deal with me and only succeeded in doing neither effectively. At the start of check in there was a queue of several people behind me and when it finished they had all gone to their rooms!!
Thankfully the rest of the stay was better. The room was at the other end of the hotel which takes several minutes to get there! The room was large if a little faded and had good facilities. The best part of the stay was eating in the restaurant where the food was excellent and the waiter attentive after they recognised we were tired and in need of sustenance.
Thankfully the check out was handled efficiently by a different member of staff!
Room hint - avoid room near the lift as it is rather old and creaky and can be clearly heard in the room every time it is called into action.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
4  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.4 mi away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#25 of 151 in Dublin
2,517 reviews
0.6 mi away
Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge
0.3 mi away
Lansdowne Hotel Ballsbridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#33 of 151 in Dublin
2,025 reviews
0.7 mi away
Clayton Hotel Burlington Road
0.3 mi away
Herbert Park Hotel
Herbert Park Hotel
#14 of 151 in Dublin
2,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballsbridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballsbridge Hotel

Address: Pembroke Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: £74 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballsbridge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ballsbridge Hotel is a 4 star property located just minute's from Dublin city centre. With 400 luxury guestrooms (many of which were refurbished in 2013), a traditional Irish pub and the fantastic Raglans Restaurant serving delicious cuisine, Ballsbridge Hotel is the perfect choice for any visit to Dublin. We're located beside Aviva Stadium, home to Ireland's international soccer and rugby teams, and just a short stroll to the 3Arena and Dublin's theatre and shopping districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Splitty, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ballsbridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing