We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room for improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Belvedere Hotel
Ranked #59 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Cognac
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Room for improvement”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Phoned in advance for two rooms ,very good telephone service from the receptionist price was quoted was better than booking sites. 10/10 However, I was not asked if I wanted to book .
Arrived at reception price quoted again was the same as on the phone 10/10 . Asked if I wanted to pre book breakfast at a lower price than not booking ,excellent. Payment requested at check in no problem with that (as both of us hospitality professionals I agree). Double room very small ,Okay as so was price for central Dublin. However, smell in bathroom ,wastes could have done with cleaner being poured down, my solution was to run taps and flush toilet ,there was an improvement. Room very hot but that's contributory to the weather. Evening meal in the bar very good. Breakfast satisfactory and good value for €8.00. Self service everything including a good coffee machine.
The negatives ,for a professional company such as Dalata there is enormous room for improvement. While we are not in the business of free consultancy the following issues existed.
Those on reception after the initial receptionist whom checked us in could do with a smile and a hello when passing by within a couple of feet ,or a good morning its not a business to be shy in.
Housekeeping needs to go to spec savers , use of cleaning products to sanitary ware , clean scuffs of the wall , area outside the lift on the third floor has not seen cleaning products for a long time, the vending machine near reception needs cleaning. The bar /restaurant great décor and ambient feeling. Two bar men on duty very few customers, both nice lads but absolutely no idea what is on the small menu ,no idea how to serve , had to go to the bar for drinks ,failed to clear excess cutlery ,cleared glasses off unused tables incorrectly, no Pinot Grigio by the glass, the current best selling white wine . A manager ? wandering around with a mug of tea looking at the TV who failed to acknowledge or attempt to inter act with the very few guests in the bar circa ten people. Why two people guarding the breakfast entrance ? Very pleasant two marking off their sheet and collecting breakfast tickets but failed to give any information how the self service breakfast operated. We would stay again at the price charged, parking is not a problem at Clery's it is city location so it is expected. A smoking area would be good also as would a gun to shoot the infamous seagulls but that's out of the hotel control.

Room Tip: View rooms before checking in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frog16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    387
    576
    247
    69
    47
See reviews for
237
507
63
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I couldn't expect a better stay in Dublin.
The staff is very friendly. Thank you to the reception who works so fast. Thank you to the Food and Beverage staff who are funny and smiling. The room was clean and the girls from the accommodation were very helpful. Thank you to the kitchen who offered to us very good plates with fresh local products.

This hotel is... perfect!
I which we could have the same in Reunion Island ;)

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Very good hotel for the price they ask. We got a good offer via internet the night before and were very pleased to discover a wide room, with clean and large bathroom. Room available upon our arrival at noon. Friendly service at reception.
Good location: at Parneel Square, 15min walk from Temple Bar.
Airport shuttle stop at 7min walk.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Falumen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This hotel is nothing compared to the pictures that it shows. First there is NO PARKING on the grounds or in the street by the building. If you have a car you have to park it in a parking garage which is several blocks away. You will have to pay to park there, all though at a reduced rate I thought it was a little ridiculous not to mention the walk to the garage was not JUST DOWN THE BLOCK as the receptionist told us. Next the room was half the size shown in the pictures, all though the bathroom was nice the room was a disappointment . As for the customer service it was poor to average nothing outstanding, We would not stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angie0226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathal O, General Manager at The Belvedere Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Angie

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I was very disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Please accept my sincere apologies for the lack of customer service you experienced, customer service is an area we pride ourselves on and I am sorry that you did not think that it was very good. With regards to the parking unfortunately being a city center property we do not have a car park. However there is paid parking on the street in front of the hotel.

Regards

Cathal O'Donoghue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We were in a group of 35 and stayed two nights in this hotel. The room was typically smaller than expected but was very well appointed and comfortable. The bathroom had a large tub/shower combo. The staff was very kind and helpful. We ate dinner there the first evening and two breakfasts. All of the food was very tasty. Although the staff were all more formally dressed than we were, we didn't feel uncomfortable or unwelcomed at all. We went to the show in the main bar and were very pleased. They had a three man band that played Irish music and dancers who encouraged us all to participate. This hotel was perfect for our need. We felt like we were staying at a 4 star hotel for a much better price!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I booked a midweek break for my partner and me last week. We booked it online and the Hotel looked amazing. But alas it was completely different. On arrival the male receptionist gave us a daring look and then places us in a tiny room under the stairs! The room was dreadful. The musky smell was gut wrenching, the carpet had only been giving the once over with areas of dust in the corners, we had barely any room to manoeuvre around the bed the room was so small, the window wouldn’t stay open on what was an extremely hot day, the furniture was completely outdated with paint chipping, the skirting boards were scuffed, there was large stains on the wall beside the bed, the shower railing was rusted and a small bit of mould was caught under the lining of the shower curtain. I was heartbroken to say the least so much so I was ready to go home. My partner then suggested that we ask to move rooms (at which point I was afraid encase that was the best we got!). We went down to reception and were meet with a warming smile by a new lady behind the desk. When we stated what was wrong, she apologised and offered us to a new room.
The new room was quite large with two wonderful large sash windows. More importantly it was CLEAN! It was still very out dated but compared to what we had been previously put it in, it was like a palace. The service of the staff was professional and you can tell they are great at their jobs. We stayed here the two nights and fell in love with Dublin.
This hotel has so much more potential. I think a new cleaning company should be hired. The chemicals that they are using are only adding to the effect of the musky smell. And from reading previous comment, cleanliness is obviously an issue. New furniture should also be considered. I know this is costly but the rewards will be worth it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sinead G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathal O, General Manager at The Belvedere Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Sinead

Thank you for your review and for bringing the issues that you experienced to my attention. We are addressing the issues you highlighted in the first room got. I am sorry that the room did not live up to our usually high standards of cleanliness. Please accept my apologies for that. That room is in the Georgian part of the hotel so the rooms do vary in size. I was very pleased to read that we were able to move you to another room, which you were happy with.
Once again please accept my apologies.

Regards

Cathal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

If you like good customer service, this is the place for you! Less than a block off the "main drag" of downtown Dublin, this hotel is centrally located and offers a homey experience. The staff all excel at customer service, but the dining room manager (Louise) is the poster child for hospitality!! She speaks to everyone and makes you feel so welcome whenever she sees you. She moves quickly and efficiently but never gives the impression she is too busy to stop for a chat. When we complimented her, she just laughed and said she had only come second in a competition... Not sure what someone would do to outshine her!! Front desk was very friendly and helpful - they offered assistance. When we arrived, they were overbooked but they had already arranged for us to go to the Gresham (nice upgrade!), then called a taxi and even sent an employee with us to facilitate the transfer!! They have trad Irish music in the evening on some nights. We were exhausted after touring but were not bothered by any noise from this.

Room Tip: Our room was at the end of the hall so no noise from the hotel. We faced the front and there were f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.2 mi away
Academy Plaza Hotel
Academy Plaza Hotel
#43 of 151 in Dublin
4,437 reviews
0.1 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#58 of 151 in Dublin
1,908 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maldron Hotel Parnell Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. George
Hotel St. George
#82 of 151 in Dublin
662 reviews
1.3 mi away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#35 of 151 in Dublin
1,859 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cassidys Hotel
Cassidys Hotel
#48 of 151 in Dublin
2,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Belvedere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belvedere Hotel

Property: The Belvedere Hotel
Address: The Belvedere Hotel Denmark Street Great | Off Parnell Square, Dublin D01W1C0, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Family Hotel in Dublin
#65 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Belvedere Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Belvedere Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Hotel Dublin
Comfort Inn Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing