We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Belvedere Hotel
Ranked #62 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An enjoyable stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2010

Good location close to the city centre, excellent value and best of all, the friendly and efficient staff, I look forward to staying here again on my next visit to Dublin.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwcostello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelvedereManager, Manager at The Belvedere Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2010
Dear JWCostello,

Thank you for choosing to stay in The Belvedere Hotel and for taking the time to fill in our online guest survey. Our guest feedback is really important to us here, as it helps us to constantly review at our standards and procedures.

I have passed on your comments to our team here,

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Should you require any assistance please do not hesitate to contact us direct,

Kind Regards,

Niamh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    375
    560
    244
    68
    46
See reviews for
231
493
62
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2010

At the beginning of this month my husband and I went to see Lady Gaga in the O2 which was fantastic and as it was our anivesary. We booked into a lovely room on the 4th floor with a bedroom, sitting room and huge bathroom, the bath was so big you could have gone sailing in it! We had a lovely time relaxing.

Although this hotel is in the heart of the city and is very busy at times, it does not lose its warmth and welcome. The staff make the hotel, from the booking manager and her team, the reception staff and the resaurant staff, also behind the scenes the houskeeping staff, they make your stay a great one (the rooms are spotless), with a warm welcome and a cheery goodbye. They make you want to return and I am looking forward to when we stay again (I am sure we will find an excuse). The management should be proud of the work and care that the staff put into running of the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank csweeney25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2010

My partner and I booked this hotel for four nights during our stay in Dublin but only ended up staying one night. When we arrived I was surprised at how run down the common areas were, especially considering how nice the website is. I did not have a problem, however, because I suppose it doesn't matter if the hallway wallpaper is peeling off, as long as the room is okay.

When we got to our room it was not okay. Other than being run down and mismatched - which is pretty common in Europe and not a problem for me - it was very dirty.

There was mold on the shower curtain and hairs in the bathtub. Not that it mattered because the shower faucet handle had rusted off and was missing. The bathroom floor looked like it had never been cleaned. The toilet had urine stains on it and leaked out from the base whenever it was flushed. Water came out of the taps only at full blast and the taps didn't stay on, meaning to wash my hands, my partner had to hold the water on. There was old gum stuck to the table and a brown substance all over the curtains.

Old I can handle, but this level of dirty was unacceptable.

Breakfast was stale and unappetizing. The internet was expensive and then did not even work. Also, it is right on the street so we could hear people shouting all night and, despite the cold temperature outside, the heat never went on.

If the hotel had been run down, noisy, cold and had a bad breakfast, we probably would have stayed the extra three nights. However, it was too dirty to be worth staying any longer.

We ended up staying at the Best Western two blocks away for an extra 10 euro a night and it was clean and the staff extremely helpful.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kris032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelvedereManager, Manager at The Belvedere Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2010
Dear Kris 032,

Thank you for choosing to stay in the Belvedere and for taking the time to review our property on Trip Advisor.
Our guest feedback is hugely important to us as it enables us to constantly look at our standards and procedures and make improvments where necessary.

I am disappointed to see we failed to meet expectations on this occasion, and that as a result your stay with us was cut short. Please accept our sincere apologies for this shortfall in service.

Shortly after your stay I responded to the comment card you left with an email, outlining what action had been taken, perhaps this did not reach you.
Let me assure you all items have been addressed, and action taken to ensure another guest does not have a similar experience.

As stated The Belvedere is an older property, however we endeavour to match the standards of other 3 star properties in our location.

We would be most grateful of the chance to welcome you back to the Belvedere in the future, to afford us the opportunity to restore your faith in our product.
If you would like to discuss further please do not hesitate to contact me direct,

Kind Regards,
Niamh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2010

I stayed here at the weekend as I was in Dublin for a friend's 30th birthday. A group of us stayed here and none of us could find fault with this hotel.

It is very central - jsut a few minutes walk from Henry Street which is great for shopping, very close to great bars and restaurants, walking distance from the Luas which takes you to the train station and walking distance from the bus station.

Our room was very quiet even though there's a busy bar downstairs. We ate in the bar and the food was gorgeous.

Throughout our stay staff were very friendly and helpful.

I would highly recommend staying here - everything about our stay was perfect.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SC78Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelvedereManager, Manager at The Belvedere Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2010
Dear SC78,

Thank you for choosing to stay in the Belvedere and for taking the time to review your stay on Trip Advisor.

Our guest feedback is really important to us as it enables us to constantly review our standards and procedures and make improvements where necessary.

I have passed on your kind comments to the team here. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future,

Kind Regards,

Niamh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2010

We recently stayed in the Belvedere Hotel for the third time and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The Belvedere is extremely good value, especially considering the very central location. We particularly enjoyed the live music in the bar during our visit. The bedroom was clean and well laid-out and the breakfast buffet was very good with a great selection of breakfast foods available - much better than I have seen in many 4* hotels in Ireland! Service was great as before and the staff really make this hotel a great place to stay - so friendly and helpful. We are already looking forward to our next visit to Dublin and the Belvedere.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kitty010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelvedereManager, Manager at The Belvedere Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2010
Dear Kitty010,

Thank your for returning to the Belvedere and for taking the time to review your stay on Trip Advisor.

I have passed on your kind comments to the team here and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future,

Kind Regards,

Niamh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2010

This hotel is opposite a casino, and the noise every night into the early hours was horrendous. Hoards of people in the street shouting, arguing, and swearing every night until at least 4 am.
On the first day, when we went down to breakfast the eggs and beans had run out. We had to wait a good ten minutes until they arrived and when they did, the beans were cold. The rest of the food was overcooked and greasy.
In our hotel room, when the toilet was flushed, the tank emitted an earsplitting noise that went on for a good minute. We reported this to reception on Saturday, and when we left on the following Tuesday, it had still not been repaired, and suspect it never will be. We had no apology for this.
Also, the leaflet in our room boasted of free bottles of mineral water and sweets in the room. These did not materialise.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heatherjmyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelvedereManager, Manager at The Belvedere Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2010
Dear Heatherjmyers,

Thank you for choosing to stay in The Belvedere Hotel, and for taking the time to review your experience on Trip Advisor.
Our guest feedback is really important to us here, as it enables us to constantly review our standards and procedures and make improvements where necessary.

I am sorry to see your stay on this occasion did not meet expectation, please accept our sincere apologies for this.

I have shared your feedback with all of our team here, and where possible we have taken corrective action to ensure another guest does not have the same experience.

If you would like to discuss your experience in more detail please do not hesitate to contact me direct.
Thank you again for taking the time to tell us about your stay and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Belvedere in the future.

Kind Regards,
Niamh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2010

A family event necessitated an overnight stay in Dublin. Other family members were already staying at the Belvedere and reccommended it. We were not disapointed. Our room was spacious quiet and comfortable (ground floor, No.44) Our evening meal was pleasantly and efficiently served and the food was very good.. The buffet breakfast was excellent and included in the rate. We would have no hesitation in staying at the Belvedere again

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aok17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelvedereManager, Manager at The Belvedere Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2010
Dear AOK17,

Thank you for choosing to stay in The Belvedere Hotel, and for taking the time to review your stay on Trip Advisor.
Our guest feedback is hugely important to us, as it enables us to constantly review our standards and procedures and make improvements where necessary.

I am glad to see you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back to The Belvedere in the future,

Kind Regards,

Niamh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.2 mi away
Maldron Hotel Parnell Square
0.2 mi away
Academy Plaza Hotel
Academy Plaza Hotel
#47 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,363 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. George
Hotel St. George
#82 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#33 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,786 reviews
0.1 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#59 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,855 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cassidys Hotel
Cassidys Hotel
#49 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Belvedere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belvedere Hotel

Property: The Belvedere Hotel
Address: The Belvedere Hotel Denmark Street Great | Off Parnell Square, Dublin D01W1C0, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Family Hotel in Dublin
#65 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Belvedere Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Belvedere Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Hotel Dublin
Comfort Inn Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing