We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B ever!!”
Review of Tinode House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dublin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tinode House
Ranked #8 of 149 Dublin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rapid City
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best B&B ever!!”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed 5 days and had nothing less than exceptional service and accommodations. Maureen and P.J. were outstanding hosts. They go out of their way to help you in any way possible. Access to buses, town center and airport were excellent with bus stops right outside the B&B. We will definitely be back. Jerry and Sandy

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jerry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    32
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
69
119
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Mississippi
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Now, this may seem like an easy statement to make but with all of the competition in the area we do not take it lightly. PJ and Maureen put their heart and soul into their B & B baby. It is evident by their genuine kindness, the toothbrush-on-the-knees cleanliness, the very filling breakfast complete with French pressed coffee and local meats and bread (try the muesli too), the fresh air-dried sheets, and the one on one conversations with an Irishman who loves people. We won't go anywhere else. The location is right next to the bus stop which will get you anywhere practically but within walking distance (about 1/4 mile) is a fantastic pub called Fagans which serves the best beef I have had, sports lots of tables and has an unfiltered Irish ambience with wonderful beers. My husband and I, by the way, were offered the room in the B&B downstairs in the back which was quiet and overlooked a very well-pruned and loved backyard which offered lovely sitting areas and solitude surrounded by very old trees and vines. Lovely time, PJ and Maureen! Thank you!!

Room Tip: Downstairs in the back was very quiet with a huge bed and breathtaking bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zanni H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I stayed at the Tinode House for three nights: two on my arrival in Dublin and one on my way back to the States 11 days later. PJ was a super host to the point of turning my care around for me when I was getting ready to tackle the Irish roads, telling me stories of his travels, and mailing a postcard. They also have a lovely common room and surprisingly secluded back yard. Thanks, PJ!

Room Tip: As I was a single traveler, I had the single bed room on the front of the house near Drumcondra Road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

This place was perfect for our first nights in Ireland. The directions to Tinode House were clear and easy to follow. Access to the city center was so easy and it was nice not to stay in the busy city center. PJ was a great host. He was kind and helpful. I would definitely stay here again. Only downside - hard pillows.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank abbyeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lennik
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2014

It was a great pleasure to stay @ Tinode House. Maureen and PJ are great people. They make you feel @ home from the first moment you arrive. I had a great time there and the cherry on the cake : The breakfast was superbe!

Thanks Maureen and PJ!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J0Mas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinodehouseDublin, Owner at Tinode House, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Jo thank you for your review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We find Trip Advisor very helpful and it has very positive results for us. Hope to see you in the future along with your friends. Best regards Maureen and PJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livonia, Michigan, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Tinode House is an excellent choice when staying in Dublin. The #16 bus in from the airport drops you right at the door practically, and is also convenient for getting in and out of Dublin proper. PJ is wonderful and can assist with bus passes as well as things to do and see. The rooms are clean and the food is fresh. We would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs are a little bigger but you have to trudge the stairs with suitcases, etc. Downstair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shereen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Tinode house was a very comfortable place to stay. PJ was a very helpful & friendly host who made wonderful breakfasts. Rooms were very clean. 10 min bus ride to city centre with bus stop right outside the door. Small shops & pubs close by. Convenient to airport as we'll either by taxi or bus.

Room Tip: The rooms in front were a little noisy but not enough to disturb your sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susanhorses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.0 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 151 in Dublin
4,549 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#39 of 151 in Dublin
1,921 reviews
1.9 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
3,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#4 of 151 in Dublin
1,603 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
3,291 reviews
0.9 mi away
Almanii Bed & Breakfast
Almanii Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 149 in Dublin
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tinode House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tinode House

Property: Tinode House
Address: 170 Upper Drumcondra Road, Dublin 9, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing